We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 793)
Filter reviews
2 793 results
Traveller rating
1 377
858
350
124
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 377
858
350
124
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ibiza beach club movenpick hotel sails restaurant churrasco the executive lounge bedroom suite mactan island private beach ocean view breakfast buffet nice beach a bit pricey upon check island hopping other resorts chopard lobby
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2 793 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed on one of the top floors so our view was amazing. We looked down on the pool and the beach party area. I found the hotel grounds to be much smaller that I expected. Food was ok there. Service was good but probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max H, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear tractor33,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you had a great stay with us.

We understand that you had a concern on the overall property size and we regret that this wasn't according to your liking. We understand that each and everyone has their own preferences when it comes to various lifestyle and travel experiences. We also wish to share that we have photos and information on our webpage, which provides an overview of the hotel's size, location, design, facilities and services --- all for everyone's reference while booking a stay.

Thank you, once again, for taking time to share a review.
We wish you wonderful days ahead.

Kind regards,
Max Huber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

I booked a twin room for 2 guests and clicked “yes, we’d like breakfast during our stay at no additional cost” (exact wording) but when we got to the Movenpick hotel we had to pay for 1 guests breakfast. I explained the situation to the reception staff but we still had to pay and there’s no way to speak to someone at booking.com so that’s just another hidden cost on top of the 12% (can’t remember what) tax and 10% service charge and local tax which increases the total of the hotel and all the food you eat there and all the services you use there by approximately 25%.
MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE THAN WE COULD HAVE PREDICTED because of all of the hidden extra costs.
It was a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay but we like to know what we’re going to pay and how much it will be. This isn’t an unreasonable expectation.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max H, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Ms. Kat G,

Thank you for choosing Mövenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu and for sharing your concern. We conducted an investigation based on your comments and our records show that the confirmed booking made through the partner booking channel is for a room accommodation and breakfast good for only one adult guest.

We hope you understand, our team only refers to and follows the booking details endorsed to us by our partner booking channels --- details of which are subject to guest's confirmation prior to settlement of payment online through the said channel.

We hope this sheds light on the additional charges to accommodate the extra person in your room,

We wish you wonderful days ahead.

Kind regards,
Max Huber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We stayed in the hotel for a long weekend staying three nights in a junior suite, which has two bedrooms and two bathrooms on the nineteenth floor. The plus points for this hotel are the very pleasant, breezy lobby which is decorated with bright colours and has a very relaxed casual feel. Our check in was very efficient and we were quickly settled into our room. The room was comfortable with all the conveniences one might expect, cable tv, mini bar, efficient a/c, tea and coffee and a comfortable king-sized bed. The room décor is a little hideous and seems to hark back to the 70’s, surprising that the hotel was renovated in 2010. We were upsold to the “executive floor” which was 2000 pesos per person per night, this gave access to a smallish floor where we took breakfast and a complimentary afternoon tea and evening cocktails were offered. The main advantage of this floor was not having to queue for breakfast which always seemed busy, and it was quiet. The staff are definitely a plus point at the hotel, very friendly without being overly familiar and always ready with a smile. The staff were very efficient, and nothing was too much trouble. We were well taken care of on the executive floor as the staff were very keen to ensure we were comfortable. The pool at the hotel is smallish and does not have enough umbrellas for shade and so if you are not quick to put down a towel to reserve you are likely to miss out. There is also a small private beach with a nice little bay which is safe for swimming, the water is clean and there are nets around to keep out some marine life. There are more loungers and umbrellas here, but again probably not enough umbrellas. There was a very nice food and drinks service operating on the beach from which you could order cool drinks and tasty snacks without leaving your lounger. Another plus point is the gym which is large and well set-up with a range of resistance machines, free weights and treadmills. The gym was clean and well maintained by a friendly staff. We also had an excellent massage in the spa which at HKD 500 for 1.5 hours was good value compared to most resort spas I have experienced. In summary we had a very pleasant, relaxing time at the Movenpick at a very reasonable price. I would certainly return to the hotel when visiting Cebu and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max H, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Trevor M,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel.

We are overwhelmed with delight upon reading your long and comprehensive review, which details everything you found commendable in our hotel. Most important of all, we appreciate that you've taken the time to commend our team members who assisted you with your concerns and made you feel welcome and at home. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's so heartwarming to hear such great feedback from our guests.

We also appreciate the insights you shared with us, regarding the room design. Do trust that we have noted this for review and assessment. We value feedback such as yours as these help us assess how we can further enhance guest experience in our hotel.

Thank you, once again, and we look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Warm regards,
Max Huber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff, good food, nice bedroom but a bit out of date. Fantastic beach.
Also go for a massage, the best I ever had. Ask for Loven. She really good.
I recommend the movenpick also for the Ibiza club by the beach..

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank cau j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max H, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear cau j,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you had a great stay with us. Likewise, it is heartwarming to see that you've detailed out what you loved most during your visit.

Thank you, once again, for taking time to share feedback. We look forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Max Huber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel has all the amenities. Has a cozy small beach with lifeguards, who are little over jealous with the life jackets. Lobby is large and light. The check-in process is easy. All the staffs are professional and helpful. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max H, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear Lance C,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you had a great stay with us. Likewise, it is heartwarming to see that you've detailed out what you loved most during your visit.

Thank you, once again, for taking time to share feedback. We look forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Max Huber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews