We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
14
30
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
30
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews published rate per night walking distance an extra bed every morning spacious room hot water bathtub exhaust lobby airport promo function internet taxi
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

The location of Grand Menseng Hotel is perfect for travellers who preferred to check the nearby attractions just by walking.

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk to the City Hall and Rizal Park. A 10-minute walk to Aldevinco shopping center where you can buy souvenirs like unique clothing, bags, textile, south sea pearls and a foreign exchange corner in that area.

We tried their lunch buffet and the variety of food is well think of and it is very good. The price is not that expensive and the service is quite good and staff are attentive to your needs.

Check this out for yourself when you happen to drop by Davao.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank CJA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

The kind of food they served is great! And the place and people working in the hotel are great also,so try it and experience your own self!, well my advice is if you are planning roaming around in downtown part of davao city try to book here try! Try! Try!.........

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

The Grand Menseng Hotel is located in the old section of the city and is easily accessible by public transportation. Its good food and spacious rooms make it a favorite event place of government and private organizations.

At a time where new hotels maximize every available space, Grand Menseng's spacious lobby, rooms and dining area are the envy of its contemporary counterparts.

In this hotel, the customer is king. This is what makes it “grand”. All requests I made were acted upon quickly and efficiently. The owner himself can be seen in the dining area personally checking the quality of the food and the set-up of the buffet station.

Although the lobby, dining and hotel rooms are clean, these clearly look and feel dated. There is no wifi and the “cabled” internet access option is slow and complicated to set-up. I didn’t mind these things because I was happy with the excellent old-school service of the hotel staff.

If you want a trendy, modern hotel with all the bells and whistles, this is not the hotel for you. If you want to experience authentic Davanueno hospitality, a buffet that includes good local cuisine and a spacious bed room that can comfortably fit a family of 4 to 6 people, then this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Asian_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

I could not believe my eyes...at first, when the venue was moved from Marco Polo to this hotel, I couldn't help but feel betrayed. I was expecting so much an experience but just got axed on the last minute. But Lo and behold! what I didn't foresee was the fact that Grand Menseng was a nice reserve.Thanks to our host, I'd love to stay here for another week-long business meeting-turn-escapade (we had a nice outdoor fun on top of that!). Anyways, food was great.sumptuous. On 3-5 different cuisines served in one buffet style meal. Yes, including breakfast which is beyond complimentary. Oh, carpeted lobby, and aisles make up for the heat outside the hotel. so comfortable, and mesmerizing you can forget what room or which floor you are at. You can walk all you want and just enjoy the subtlety. regardless of the readily elevator. The rooms were fantastic. Sheets clean, towel really clean more like new, has a bathtub, exhaust, hot/cold shower, draperies classic, LCD flats (channel reception a few not quite), A/C ultra cool matched with good room lighting that could drive you off to a good sleep. The staff too were very, very accommodating and courteous. The location should find you close to local souvenirs, food and shop. As for Malls, you have to take the taxi or thrive the jeeps. Same goes for night outs and airport and bus terminals, but who cares, It's the peaceful situation that brought down the traffic. All liquors and smoke and girls and night parties were all transferred to a nearby adjacent island kind-of, connected by a landmark bridge. Mayor's orders. Durian Overload around town. They follow you everywhere! So, when I'm in Davao again, and I get to not book at their classy hotels, I worry no more... Grand Menseng Hotel and I'm good. Luxury and affordability like you'll never imagine.

Room Tip: Why do they ask deposit fee for the remote? that's just too out-class. Take your breakfast early and you'll never want to leave your seats...It may took some time for you to have your seats because there's just to many guest and they all would want to extend a little more time...^_^
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank StR1F3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

Good location in the heart of the city, friendly staff, very helpful and attending the guest needs immediately. We stay here twice with my whole family and they never fail to impress us. This hotel has a reasonable prices. We look forward to stay here again soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews