We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$118
US$90
View deal
SAVE US$28
Free cancellation until 21/06/25
Booking.comUS$118
CheapTicketsUS$104
eDreamsUS$118
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
312
265
148
60
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
312
265
148
60
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco tent morning tour eggs baby turtles turtle watching main building turtle experience green turtles turtle reserve ras al jinz low season early morning amazing experience egg laying lifetime experience life cycle big turtles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Excellent family get away. We stayed in the Family Eco tent which was a superb experience for the kids.

Watching turtles Nesting and the baby turtles is an experience of a life time and so educational for the kids.

The food was excellent .. we had the king fish steak and was one of the best preparations.

The Museum within the hotel is also a great add on.

Great service and hospitality and a highly recommend place when coming to Sur or to see the turtles.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbert1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Handa, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve!!

Thank you very much for taking time to write detailed review of your experience at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We truly appreciate your feedback.

It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the facilities at the reserve we feel genuinely honored and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the reserve soon to create another memorable experience for you.

Warm Regards,
Nasser Al Ghilani
Reserve Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021

This was our 6th visit and we have never got bored coming here. This place through which all visitors wanting to get a guided tour have to pass through as it is exclusively organised by them. Even if you are staying in any accomodation outside you have come here for the guide tour as the beach is protected and no one can judt walk in there. There are many sccomodations nearby but this is a single building extending between two hillocks a few hundred metres from the beach, the sea can be viewed from here. Because the building is perched here it blocks out any tresspassers...a brilliant idea.
The building is full fledged residential complex with just 2 storeys. There are plenty of rooms which have be booked in advance especially on weekends as it is always full. There is a decent dinning hall serving breakfast for all stayers. Lunch is available on order and buffet dinner. The rooms ar not facing the sea because no light should leak out from the building towards the sea...if the lights reach the beach the turtles will be afraid to come and lay the eggs and the hatvhlings too will get misguided towards land. There is meuseum where a detailed life cycle of the turtles is depicted and very nice for first time visitors and kids. Whenever I have come here I have seen plenty of kids visiting and haven't seen any disappointment on there faces
The rooms are more than adequate with a large double bed, fridge, electric kettle, hair dryer, bathing soap, body lotion and shampoo. A variety of tea bags and coffee. They kept plate full of fruits with knife and fork to welcome us! They have room service too. All provinding service are very helpful and polite.
I have seen some one and rwo stars here but I think they were unfair.
viewing a turtle lay eggs is a matter of chance..100% on one visit during season. 80 to 90% in slightly off season and 60 to 70% in off season. So if you are not visiting in the peak season, then, stay for two days. Visits to beach are in the dark, late evening and early morning and always guided. There is a charge per person per visit if you are residing outside the complex. If you stay here all trips are free. The guides are very knowledgeable and can conduct in several languages. This place is a must visit if you are planning anything for a week or more in Oman. There are also family tents placed outside the building which are also wonderful but I am not reviewing them here.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Companion220179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Handa, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2021

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve!!

Thank you very much for taking time to write detailed review of your experience at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We truly appreciate your feedback.

It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the facilities at the reserve we feel genuinely honored and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the reserve soon to create another memorable experience for you.

Warm Regards,
Nasser Al Ghilani
Reserve Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021 via mobile

We were given the eco tent with best view. It was a perfect place to unwind. Our guide Mr. Saud is very knowledgeable and he answered all our questions with patience. We were taken to the beach in groups and we saw turtles laying eggs and some other baby turtles who were then carried to the sea.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Neha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Handa, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve !!

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your experience at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We truly appreciate your feedback.

It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the guided tour and we feel genuinely honored and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the reserve soon to create another memorable experience for you.

Warm Regards,
Nasser Al Ghilani
Reserve Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

Am amazing place located in an isolated area far from the noise of the city. Near to Sur and 3 and 1/2 hours away from Muscat. This place has normal rooms located at the main building and tents on the upper side which you can reach to by driving your own normal car, hotel electric car or by walk.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The tents are well designed and are equipped with Bathroom, TV, Air Condition. The tent is clean, cozy and comfy. However, they are not sound proof. You can hear everything outside and outside can hear you too.
Wi-Fi is available and is free but does not reach to the tents. It only works at the main building. OmanTel signal was 2G but Ooredoo signal is 4G. The hot water was not fully working. It will slowly get less warmer although water heater was on. Towells, Shampoo and soap were available along with complementary 1.5 bottle of mineral water.
The breakfast waa good and had variety. Dinner on Thursday was la carte and buffet on Friday.
The turtle watch is the most amazing part of the trip and is part of the reservation. You walk for about 900 m on the sand till you reach the area of turtles escorted with a tour guide who explains all details while enjoying the watch that lasts for 20-40 minutes depending on how many groups are waiting and how many turtles are there.
There are plenty of places to walk around and there are many car parkings that are free.
Tents need some maintenance as some zips were not working.

Water and electricity are always available.

Overall, it is a place wort visiting.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank allawatiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Handa, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve !!

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your experience at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve.

I must also thank you for the time taken to share this review with the Trip Advisor community. We truly appreciate your feedback. It is fantastic to read that you have enjoyed your stay and turtle watching tours . We feel genuinely honored and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the reserve soon to create another memorable experience for you.

Warm Regards,
Nasser Al Ghilani
Reserve Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

I was surprised with the place it’s very good for family and couples The tents are clean and the food is excellent overall the place is so neat and clean and I recommended for families
thank you Mr Naresh for the food

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 222qaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay Handa, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear Mr. Qais,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve !!

Thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to review your experience at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We truly appreciate your feedback.

It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the guided tour and the food at our restaurant your words of appreciation have been passed to Naresh with all our staff, they are thrilled to know. We feel genuinely honored and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the reserve soon to create another memorable experience for you.

Warm Regards,
Nasser Al Ghilani
Reserve Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews