We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD TIME FAVOURITES”

Willi Probst Bakery, Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Walvis Bay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Since a young age, my family members would talk about Probst. We would get delicacies in SA and whenever we traveled to Namibia, you had to stop at this old classic. the landscape and vibe are still the same and the food gets better with time.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JillN540
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2020

This is mostly a day cafe, in the centre of town. Known for good coffee and cake, the best they have on offer is the wide variety of brötchens. Toppings from schnitzel with a chilli sauce, chicken liver peri-peri, cheese omlette - you name it, they bring it. I have not even seen such a variety of brötchen toppings in any restaurant in Germany. Very very delicious - must do when in Walvis Bay.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrankNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2019 via mobile

Usually a great option! Love the traditional brotchen and coffee and friendly staff...
Today, service was very slow...first time ever though...

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank jbburger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

My family & I really enjoyed the wonderful cheese cakes. The bakery décor is really vintage, with wood panelling, old photos of Walvis Bay & photos of whales on the walls. The staff is friendly and patient, they know it's difficult to decide on which baked treat to choose, as there is a huge variety! Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

Nice brôtchen and hearty lunches. Typically German fare. The small pastries are very nice. But most of the big cakes are not baked on site and are mass produced somewhere else. But overall a nice place.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Kietsie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Willi Probst Bakery, Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Willi Probst Bakery, Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.