We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
0
5
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
5
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stopped over during a camping trip and stayed a night in each a private room and an 8 person dorm room. The private rooms were in the back of the hotel. They are fairly large and it was nice to have you own room and private washroom. Rooms were clean, but a nice line of ants happen to make a parade through. The dorm room was actually located a few doors down the street. Security guard manned the door. The dorm was tight with 4 bunk beds, but there was four of us, so it we could spread out a bit. The guys washroom wasnt all that clean, but functional. No door leading to the washroom, but at least there was curtains on the showers.

Pros
Very popular local club above the hotel.
Lots of restaurants within walking distance
Hotel restaurants that servers breakfast buffet.
Tours and attractions can be booked by on site company.
Laundry service.
Kitchen facilities in the dorm room.

Cons
Can be noise if you are a light sleeper.
No Internet on site

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Our tour guide knew about the loud club, so we got rooms in the courtyard far away from any of the noise. The rooms were very basic - but clean and comfortable. There is no AC, so in the summer it can get quite warm, but nothing unbearable. I noticed that there were also hostel like facilities (bunk beds) which also looked simple and fine. Wifi was free! The breakfast was a little pricey for what they offered. Overall, if you need an inexpensive place to rest your head for a day or two this is fine. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. The location is good considering the entire town takes 15 minutes to walk through...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed here after camping out for about three weeks and it was a pleasant surprise.
The rooms vary in size, some have space and others are just cramped together. However we onlu stayed in dorms, I walked past a twin room once and it looked very nice inside and spacious with en suite facilities so it just depends on what type of room you are looking for. The shared showers and toilets are kept clean at all times

Alter Action run from this building, we did Dune Boarding and a Dolphin Cruise with Beth (the owner).

On our final night we had dinner at the restaurant located in the hostel and the food was top notch. It was a good price and very tasty...you wouldnt have thought it was a hostel.
Breakfast is extra at just under £5 per head per day. This was also very nice, and there is a big variety..you can get cereal, yogurts, full english. Well worth the extra money!

The hostel is set in a central location so that you can access all Swakopmund has to see.

The only downside to this hostel is the upstairs bar, it plays very loud music at night so if you are a light sleeper you will not get to sleep at a decent time depending on where your room is located in the hostel

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at the Swakop Lodge as a break from camping while touring in Namibia. Overal god value, but see comments below for reservations.

The rooms were clean enough - white cotton linen and duvets - if a little basic. (some of the "wardrobes" were made from MDF and had a raw edge showing) . Showers were great, with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was fine - usual buffet items, they would cook eggs to order including omelettes.

Some of the rooms were a bit near the bar and hence a little noisy - if you want peace and quiet, make this clear when you check in.

Good place to get laundry done - Nab$60 (about £5.50) fpr a whole basket load.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

The location is perfect in the centre of Swakopmund, but it stops there! The pubs/nightclub in the building play incredibly loud music, and drunk people wander around everywhere. We even saw people fighting, without security interfering, The breakfast was very poor, small choice, no service. We asked reception two or three times for having a problem in our room solved, they kept saying that they would check om it immediately , but nothing happened.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews