We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
56
61
21
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
61
21
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance enjoyed our stay offer breakfast sea front no air conditioning modern hotel rooms are great breakfast was delicious comfortable room would stay here again excellent location in town aquarium shower jetty wifi guard
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

The hotel was ok. Strange room design with the bathroom in the bedroom. The kettle was broken. The credit card machine didn’t work and a personal dislike, only liquid soap available in the bathroom. i.e. no soap bar available. Otherwise the place was clean breakfast good and fresh, and the place is right near the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeorgeT3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enthusiastictravell, Public Relations Manager at Swakopmund Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear GeorgeT

We are glad you approved of the location and breakfast of the hotel. Thank you for the small issues you noted, we will look into them for sure.

Kind regards The SS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

I did not get the room with a view that I booked. The rooms don’t look like pictures on the internet. They also have brown towels which below hotel standards. They do not have shower caps. When I enquirer the staff including the manager were very rude. I ended up leaving and staying at a better hotel for the same value.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enthusiastictravell, Public Relations Manager at Swakopmund Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear JoS

Your booking came in via an on-line booking platform, and we placed you in the exact room that you specifically selected on the platform. The Sea View rooms are there but it was not the room that you specifically selected.

Also the towels are the best in the industry 770grm of pure cotton, we are sorry you did not approve of the color. The light beige is meant to compliment the color of the room and bed bases and this is the first complaint we have received to date.

Regarding the shower caps. Its true we do not put shower caps in the rooms, its not really something our guests typically require, but we will definitely ask and make sure , if its needed we will loo into putting it in the rooms.

Kind regards
SS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Our stay was perfect for exploring the town and beach areas as well as a walk out to the pier. The room was peaceful, and open windows at night lull the visitor to sleep with the ocean waves! Breakfast was satisfying with plenty of options.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enthusiastictravell, Public Relations Manager at Swakopmund Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Susan A, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you soon.

The Swakopsands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Spent three nights here as a break on our self drive tour of Namibia. Clean and comfortable room, friendly, welcoming staff and breakfasts to satisfy any palate. Walk across the street and you are on the Esplanade. Short walk to the centre of town and first class restaurants. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rose4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

The hotel is very well located, almost on the beach next to the aquarium.

The staff is very kind and helpful!

We had a special room with the bathroom inside the room itself. It was quite unique but also brought some disagreement... The first day we arrived, we decided to take a bath to relax and that was a very big mistake ... Indeed, after that our room smelled like sewer for 2 nights! A Part of that, the room itself was nice ! Some small details like broken items (not visible until you use them) could be checked a bit more often.

The breakfast was delicious as well as the dinner that they cooked for us, really divine !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alistair d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews