We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
14
12
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
12
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed heregreat placetaxiairportbeach
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Five of us could only spent one night at Reggio Emilia. We were made welcome and shown our rooms which were clean and comfortable with airconditioning. If you prefer fresh air the window (with good strong fly screens) could be opened both sides of the room for a cool breeze. The room had a large verandah where breakfast was brought to us so we could enjoy the beautiful surroundings before having to continue our journey. Staff were friendly and helpful and the complex has good, though not overpowering, security.

Room Tip: I didn't roam the other rooms so I have no idea which are better!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RREmilia, Owner at Residencial Reggio Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Come back to us and I promise we will have much more in store for you all.

Regards,

Isadora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very good place. Stayed for 3 days to attend a conference. Affordable, friendly and attentive staff. I loved the garden. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RREmilia, Manager at Residencial Reggio Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you so much! We loved having you here too!

Take care and have a great week ahead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights because the lonely planet highlighted it as the place to stay. The room resembled a soulless motel it was clean and had all the mod cons, fridge, television, aircon if that is what you want, however it lacked any sort of atmosphere or authentic charm. We paid a lot of money to travel to Mozambique and wanted to stay in places which embraced the African culture. The lonely planet says the rooms are decorated with locally sourced material. If it was we did not see any of this. This place was like staying in a soul destroying white box, we could have been anywhere in the world. The staff were ok but to be honest we did not have any interaction with them. We saw the owners when we booked in and that was that. No information about the area or what to do was given either.

We were meant to stay 3 nights but left after 2 having found a better place to go, we would have let after one night if we could. We paid $80 per night you had to pay an extra $10 for breakfast which we felt was a bit cheeky.

We found Wimbi Beach to be over priced compared to other places that we stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim_danbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RREmilia, Owner at Residencial Reggio Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

Good morning, I am the Manager at Reggio Emilia and I really don't remember who you are, I am sorry for that. I am sorry if we didn't give you much information but if one doesn't ask how am I supposed to guess it's wanted? You must have sounded or looked like one of those tourists who are so certain of what they want and know exactly what to do that we didn't feel the need to do it.
As for the decoration of our rooms we just try to keep it simple and clean on an international standard. We don't care for luxury and we don't try to be what we are not. Yes we are in Africa but that doesn't mean we are obliged to use an all African decoration for that matter. If you lived here you would realize that using African materials for decoration and construction easily turn into a liability.
We have a Complaint book and Reception doors were open from 7 to 5 at least, you could have come to us with your worries and who knows...maybe your experience would have been better.
Anyway, thank you for letting us know.
Isadora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Great place which was clean comfy and friendly. Excellent value for money. We used this place on our way to the quirimbas archipelago and on the way home. Staff really friendly and helpful. Even get a tv, air conditioning and a lovely hot shower. If I found myself in Pemba again I would definately stay here again. Thank you Isodora and family.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RREmilia, Manager at Residencial Reggio Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2010

Thanks a lot for a great review! Keep it cool and have a happy married life.

Regards to Hannah as well,

Isadora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Stayed here for 2 days and found it a good and reasonably priced place to stay. Rooms are large with TV and air con. There is also option to get breakfast delivered at a time chosen by you, however must say my breakfast was 40 mins late even after asking after twice.

Its located across the road from Wimbi beach and about 10- 15 min walk along the beach to the other cafes like Pemba Dolphin, Nautliius. Reception speak English well and are helpful is organising cabs etc.

Didn't rate Pemba itself as somewhere worth staying too long, but as a stop to the Quirimbas Archipelago it serves it purpose. And Reggio Emilia is a good and reasonably priced place to stay. I stayed in the place next door on the way to Ibo and thought this place was much better.

D

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee_Kiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RREmilia, Manager at Residencial Reggio Emilia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

Hi, I remember you. You came to us via Kaskazine right? Remember you had ordered breakfast for 9 am? What really happened is that you woke much earlier than you had planned and then decided to order for an earlier breakfast...We already had a few breakfast at that same time and of course we needed to honor first the ones that ordered first and then you...and it wasn't 40 minutes at all. But thanks anyway for your review. It helps us keep on track with things.
Hope to count on you some other time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews