We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
544
152
49
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
152
49
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool billiard room central courtyard old palace riad style hotel peaceful oasis upgraded to a suite moroccan pancakes bustling medina within the walls medina walls the location is perfect sitting area within easy walking distance bab marrakech spa treatments the hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I think it might be one of the best hotel there,but definitively not a relais chateaux . The hotel is beautiful , colonial design will high ceilings, and a garden in the middle . The rooms need renovation, they are dark and smell. Not very comfortable beds and very very noisy . The body milk bottle have been refilled os many times that the cap had lost it colors, i didn’t even touched it. The towels not soft and weak breakfast ,
We had dinner there and was very disappointing by the chef. Just think of it as an average 4star hotel.
But the staff were extremely nice and friendly .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Molle, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, and your recognation of the value and friendliness of of our staff.

Concerning the noise, I am sorry to read it but unfortunatly the construction outside the medina due to the refurbishement of the parking are not in our hand. It is nearly finished now and plantation of the new garden should start soon. Bab Marrakech and its access should be nice and welcoming shortly now.

Our hotel is now 14 years old and renovation of some bathrooms will start in November during the low season.

Sorry also to read that you did not like the cuisine of our Chef, who is generally rather bliss.

Please accept our apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you the improvement.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely 3 nite break in Essasouria. L’Heure Bleue is a traditional Riad style but with Luxury service. We stayed on the 3rd floor premium suite rooms, and loved all the wood furniture & the space. Bed massive, bathroom huge with a bath you can really soak in. I’m 6’ 3.....
Rain shower also good. Room a little dark but you can open shutters into the central courtyard

Hamman treatment and massage we thoroughly enjoyed. We were fortunate with weather so the rooftop terrace was divine and excellent for lunch too if going back to airport in afternoon. Cool Casablanca beer! Ice cold in Alex moment!

Lovely breakfast arrangement but the orange juice provided is carton and poor compared to rest of offering. Clever use of shot glasses with fruit, I’ll try that idea back home at a Party.

Good provision of ice and lemon / tonic whenever we drank our Duty Frees! Canapés came as well Without prompting!

Manager very visible and wanting to know about your comfort. Always a good sign in my books.

You can also book a trip thru the Hotel to visit the Val d’Argan winery and personal driver also drops u off at a Argan oil co- operative where your Wife then spends a fortune! The lunch following at the vineyard definitely our highlight. Good job we had a 23 kg allowance for some bottles coming back!

We loved our short break and the medina/port/beach. Everything walkable and fun. We love to eat fish so the experience here was fab. Wife also a Game of Thrones fan so Portuguese fort is the panoramic stop required. Good pomegranate juice outside btw.

Anyway go. Not the cheapest of hotels in Morocco but Big Bang value for buck for luxury end scale.

We will return for sure.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stevegetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Molle, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Stevegetit,

We love your description of our ryad, Essaouira and its surrounding, thank you.
We are looking forawrd to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Great location and great restored Riad - we also had the Hammam/massage treatment as a couple which was terrific. Such nice ladies in that area.

We had an issue with water pressure on our first night and Mohamed and Kamal looked after us with a room move that was sensational.

You will see in many of the management responses that they want you to raise any issues at the time, not afterwards so they can rectify the problem for you. They genuinely want you to enjoy your stay in their wonderful Riad and beautiful city.

We spent 3 nights here and is currently our favourite town.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kesbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Molle, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for message, and you are absolutly right, our goal is to make our guest stay as pleasant as possible. We are glad to read that you appriciate the promptness of our staff to solve your problem.

Thank you also for the therapists of our P'tit Spa de l'Heure Bleue, be assured that I will share your compliments with them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further help.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Luxe hotel with large comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Our room had a large deck with lots of comfortable seating overlooking the city. On site bar and trendy restaurant. Very friendly and professional staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Molle, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear George R.

Thnak you for your very kind comment.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We were unfortunate to have pretty horrid weather for our two day stay in Essaouira and inevitably that colours one's view of the place. With the sun streaming into the central courtyard, the roof terrace buzzing with guests enjoying the pool and sunshine, and the louvre doors to the bedrooms thrown open to catch a breeze, this might be a wonderful place. But the terrace was closed to all but the most foolhardy because of the weather - it looked like an English resort on a wet winter's day. The hotel is hard to find so make sure you get directions. The nearest transport can get to the place is 50 metres or so; you have to walk the rest - not much fun in a torrential downpour. Our room on the first floor was small and dark and frankly not what I would expect from a five star establishment. We got upgraded to a suite on the third floor which was fabulous - even had a fireplace which was lit for us when weather forced us to stay in one evening with a DVD and room service (frankly adequate but a bit cursory and poorly presented; eg bread but no butter or oils). Otherwise - service great, welcome great, food in the restaurant very nice (oddly for a member of the Chateaux Relais Group, no French wines available!), breakfast nice. Nice but not perhaps fabulous. Would it have been fabulous in glorious sunny weather? That's the question to which the answer in unknown.

Room Tip: Go for broke and ask for a suite on the third floor.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpshinglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Molle, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thnak you for your message and I confirm our hotel is definitely more appealling with sun !
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to prouve it. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Sunny Essaouira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews