We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Wonderful experience from start to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Leila

Courtyard and fountain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard and fountain
Detail of fountain Grand Salon lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Courtyard and fountain
Detail of fountain
Grand Salon lounge area
Grand salon library
Dining Salon with Madam Couscous
Meal cooked by Aicha
Ground floor shower room (we now provide linen & cotton hamman-style towels)
Red room - king-size bed
The White Room - king-size bed
The Indian Room - double bed
First floor bathroom
(we now provide linen & cotton hamman-style towels)
First floor shower room
(we now provide linen & cotton hamman-style towels)
The Blue Room - twin beds
Ground floor study / bedroom 5 - double bed
Breakfast on the Terrace
Essaouira Medina - looking towards the horloge
Essaouira port fishing boats
Essaouira beach at sunset
Essaouira port at sunset
Essaouira fish market
Essaouira
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LilyPress
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful experience from start to finish!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The highlight of our trip to morocco was Dar Leila! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished to an exceptionally high standard and is immaculately clean throughout. The service from the housekeeper's is second to none, they are so friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home. If you have children I guarantee that they will love Aisha, the housekeeper. We are in the process of organising a return visit. Highly recommended. 5 Stars *****

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alieyl
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply magical”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Taxi driver met us at the airport with the Dar Leila sign and we were whisked off to this rather magical place. Very comfortable and as far away from a faceless corporate hotel as you can get. Our little boy instantly took to the wonderful housekeeper. Fresh juice, coffee and croissants on the roof terrace. We took it on with friends and it was a great place for being sociable or finding your own little corner to curl up with a book. Essaouira itself is lovely - think I'd rate it as one my favourite places in the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: breakfast/drinks on the roof terrace and the wonderful staff
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EthanS09
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Truley magical retreat right in the heart of the fasinating walled city of Essaouria.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This was our second stay in this lovely Riad and we cannot recommend it highly enough - if fact we are considering a spring break there next year with my wife’s parents.
The Riad is a stunning and quiet oasis right in the heart of the medina which is just a few steps away from the front door.
We particularly loved our breakfast relaxing on the large roof terrace.
The staff will make you very welcome and can babysit, allowing you to sample some of the best restaurants to be found in Morocco, all within a 10 minute walk.
Transfers from Marrakesh were organised by the owners which made the whole experience simple and enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, decor and hospitality of the staff.
Liked least: Nothing, we are considering going next year for a 3rd time says it all.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMe...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifull house,cental in the medina,local shops on the doorstep and service excellent”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by Abdoul as promised and he couldn't do enough to help us.Arranged parking and took us to the house.The house is inside the walled city and equipped to a high standard.Local amenities are very close and the house is an easy walk from numerous restaurants.Aisha made every effort to comply with breakfast requests and we were spoilt rotten.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private warm rooftop area,close to the beach
Liked least: Old city odours emanating from the drains
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacation6...
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Vielen Dank! Wir freuen uns, Sie in Dar Leila begrüßen zu dürfen, wenn Sie nach Essaouira zurückkehren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing