We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Maroc
Nearby Hotels
Villa Garance(Essaouira)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
US$124
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
US$436
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Les Matins Bleus(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essaouira Lodge(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$157
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Riad Al Zahia(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
563
163
52
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
163
52
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate dining roomsroof terracebeef taginefamily suitehot water bottlessister hotelsea view suiteles jardinsnooks and cranniesberber marketdelicious lunchour honeymoonargan oilcentral courtyardperfect place to relaxsitting areaspent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Villa Maroc is a delightful riad style hotel just inside the Medina in Essaouira. The location is excellent, just off the Place Moulay Hassan, and a couple of minutes walk from the smart new promenade. The hotel is on four floors around an open central atrium, with the bedrooms mainly on floors three and four (be warned, the stairs are narrow, steep and uneven and definitely not suitable for people with mobility problems) We had a superior room with sea view on the top floor which was traditionally decorated, spacious, comfortable and effectively heated (evenings were still pretty chilly while we were there) Breakfast is served on the roof terrace (or in your room) between 8.00 ish and noon (I think that's what they said!) and is substantial: orange juice, yoghurt with fruit or a kind of bircher muesli, assorted Moroccan pastries and breads, and eggs cooked to order, plus a tomato/olive/goat cheese accompaniment. All fresh and delicious and served by charming, helpful staff. The hotel doesn't serve lunch (but has a very pleasant small cafe round the corner - Saha Kfe - where you can get light lunches and snacks - I think it stays open until late afternoon). There is a small bar at the hotel with an open fireplace, which makes it a very cosy place to gather before dinner. There is no dining room as such, just a series of small rooms and alcoves (some with a fireplace) and you choose where you want to sit. Dinner, which has to be ordered before 2pm, is a three course meal of Moroccan specialities at 250 dirhams per head, with a choice of three main dishes, usually including a vegetarian option. You can also pre-order Moroccan specialities if there is something you particularly want to eat. We ate there twice and on both occasions the food was of a very high quality and beautifully presented. NB dinner service is leisurely - this is not a place to come for a quick meal! We didn't take advantage of the hammam or spa services, but they were highly praised by other guests. Villa Maroc offers a number of day tours and activities (cookery workshops etc) and I'm sure they do them all well. We decided to spend one day at Villa Maroc's sister hotel Les Jardins, which is about a 15 minute drive inland. This is a glorious property in the middle of an argan forest with a heated swimming pool (yes, properly heated!). It's a perfect place to spend a leisurely half day (11.00 - 17.00) with an excellent barbecue lunch included (250 dirhams per person including transfers) The team here are delightful and very welcoming. All in all we were delighted with our choice of hotel - Villa Maroc is a very professionally run hotel but at the same time manages to be a warm, welcoming and very relaxing place to stay. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely description of Villa Maroc. We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our Riad Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A beautiful boutique hotel, with a lot of soul, decorated with perfect taste , with an attention to every single little detail, from fine linen sheets to private terraces, amazing view of the harbor and the medina, wonderful individual little dining room with a fireplace and excellent food, and perfectly located in the center of town, yet extreemly quiet. A real heaven

Stayed: April 2017
Thank sylviesabatier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad to hear that you love Villa Maroc. Please tell it to all your friends. We are all looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Villa Maroc is a very pleasant place to stay. It´s in a perfect location, next to the beach, the lively harbor, and the narrow streets and alleyways of the old medina. Villa Maroc is tastefully decorated in beautiful colors and there are plenty atmospheric little corners and rooms to choose from for dining in privacy, or enjoying a cup of coffee. Staff was always friendly and smiling. Our room was small - we heard it was the smallest in the hotel - but we didn´t mind. We found places to put our luggage and really enjoyed the beautiful color palette and tasteful details of our Berber style room. It was fun to have little stairs from the living space to the bedroom chamber. From the bedroom, there was a view towards the sea, which was lovely. It had been raining before our arrival and it rained when we arrived, but there was no dampness or humidity. It was cozy and warm inside the room. There was a fireplace in the room too. It would have been lovely to sit by the fire, but it was already warm enough without and we did not want to heat the room too much for the night. The bathroom had their own range of argan oil based toiletries with a lovely scent of jasmine. Breakfast was the nicest we had during our one week stay in Morocco - on a sunny morning we enjoyed it on the rooftop terrace looking out towards the ocean. Our breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, sweet homemade yogurt, fruits, eggs, coffee, bread and pastries with jam and honey.

To get to the rooms you need to climb some stairs. We thought that the narrow staircases just added to the charm of the place, but it´s good to know this if you have knee problems or other trouble with a lot of stairs.

We did not try their hammam, which looked very tempting - we were too curious about exploring and photographing the town and the harbor. But this is just another good reason to come back one day and take the time to just relax. Also, their other property out of town, Jardins Villa Maroc, would surely have been a real treat on a hot day. Plenty of things to see and do for the next visit!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Kaisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you so much for your detailed description of Villa Maroc, which is a big help for futur travelers.
We hope to seeing you back soon with time for the swimming pool and the hammam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location just inside the medina. Food and bar area are very warm, welcoming and convenient. We enjoyed a late night tagine and bottle of wine late the night we arrived when everything else was closed. Very nice. The room was large and wonderful. Everything was great.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely report. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This was our first visit to Essaouira and we were so glad to get one of the last rooms at Villa Maroc. The hotel is in a superb position on the edge of the Medina and a short walk to the fishing harbour and beach.

We were lucky enough to get a small suite, which gave us more room to spread out in. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. We had heard that the temperature dropped at night and thought we might be cold but fires were lit everyday in the public rooms, and hot water bottles were handed out.

Because the hotel was created from four town houses you may get lost during your first few days. However, this enables you to discover parts of the hotel and rooms you might not find otherwise. Please note there are a lot of stairs!

Breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight and the hotel owner visited each table to chat to the guests. She is a mine of information so you can plan your day over a leisurely breakfast. The evening menu is put up in the morning if you fancy an excellent intimate dinner in house, which we did on two or three delightful.

The staff are all charming, very efficient and attentive. I’d especially thank Hassan for his enduring good humour and care. Fatima must also be mentioned for the delightful arrangement of our nightclothes, and the patterns of rose petals she left on our bed.

When we return to Essaouira, Villa Maroc will definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maroc. My staff and I try to let you feel home away from home in a very typical moroccan way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews