We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic riad”
other travellers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
terrace kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Terrace
terrace kitchen and dining area
second, top-terrace area
View from  top terrace
ground floor lounge, light-well area
ground floor lounge
dining area
Ground floor kitchen
Lightwell - 1st floor
Light well
first floor double bedroom. No.1
Gold room
Gold room bathroom
First floor double bedroom, no.3
Second floor twin/triple bedroom.  No.4
Green room
Green room bathroom
6th bedroom, on terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Marco C
1 review
“Fantastic riad”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a wonderful time in the beautiful Riad and fascinating town Essaouira. The riad was decorated with lovely details, we felt so comfortable and at home instantaneously.
The kind household lady took excellent care of us, fulfilling all of our wishes. She cooked us the most delicious tagine menus.
Our holiday in Essaouira will always remain as a very pleasant memory. We hope to be able to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Najeeb A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad in the heart of the medina”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is excellent close to everything but quiet and private.
We were a family of 8 with 6 children ages from 2-19 years, we have visited Essaouira 3 times before but this was far the best accomadation we've stayed in.
Everything was perfect from the start Allison and the housemaid Halima done everything and more to make us comfortable.
All bedrooms have ensuites a real bonus with kids after an afternoon at the beach which is no more than a 8-10 minute walk.
The riad has been renovated to a excellent standard with lots of attention to detail.
The riad is 3 storeys with plenty of stairs so maybe not suitable for elderly or those people who have difficulty climbing.
We had lovely daily breakfasts on the sunny terrace to start our days, ending with gorgeous traditional cooked meals by Halima in the evenings.

I would recommend riad darma to anyone looking to visit Essaouira.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rupertste...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful Riad in the heart of the Medina yet with the ability to escape the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Riad is spacious, beautifully decorated and has everything you need for a self sufficient stay (or even partly catered if you opt for it).

8 of us stayed there and loved escaping to the roof terrace in the evening before heading to a restaurant, all of which are a walk away as the Riad is centrally located.

Definitely one to consider if you are looking for a convenient, comfortable and relaxing place for your holiday accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly Riad in the Medina”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Chez Dar Ma for the most relaxing 10 days. This riad is charming, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Allison provides an excellent place to recharge your batteries well located in the Medina and near to the beach. She provides an endless source of information about life in Esaaouira and is happy to find good deals on activities.
She also gives you Halima - the wonderful housekeeper, whose breakfasts and tagines should not be missed!!!
Can't wait to return! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful Riad with a charming host”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Allison's Riad in Essaouira - the Riad was in a great location within the Medina, and was a tranquil break from the hustle and bustle of the town. Allison met us and took us to the Riad, which was large and spacious with lovely quirky touches. The terrace in particular was spectacular. Allison gave us the low-down of Essaouira, and recommended some fantastic authentic Moroccan restaurants which we loved. Essaouira was a welcome break from Marrakech, and we would highly recommend both the town and Chez Dar Ma.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing