We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An incredible experience staying in the beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Blue Salon
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Bedroom 2
En suite shower room 2
Twin room
Detail
Ground floor Reception
Ground floor Reception
First floor landing
Detail
Blue Salon
Breakfast
Outside the Blue salon
Top Terrace
Top Terrace at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jordan B
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“An incredible experience staying in the beautiful Dar Qawi Riad, Highly Recommend!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

As soon as we arrived in Essaouira I was blown away by the warmth, the colours, and the textures of the old city walls and the shabby chic wooden turquoise doors. It was like a dream!
The Riad was a WOW as soon as we walked in. I stayed with 5 of my close girl friends and we felt very at home and well looked after as soon as we arrived. The Riad was absolutely beautiful, I loved the Moroccan decor especially the lamps and the down stairs bathroom is like something out of Aladdins cave- I loved it.
The bedrooms are a perfect size for people sharing. The beds were really comfortable, and rooms were cleaned and made every day. We had bottled water in our rooms which was really appreciated, we had our own robes, and there was plenty of beach and bath towels.
The house maid Zara was really sweet, she cooked us breakfast every morning and made us a delicious vegetarian tagine (highly recommend). Her son Redoin was very helpful with our stay, he organised our transport and our day trips and helped with anything we needed. He made everything so effort-less which was much appreciated in a new city.

There is a shop just outside the front door so very convenient if you want last minute drinks etc. And there is a great Spa just around the corner where we had a traditional 'hammam' massage, which was an experience in itself and we all came out glowing.

The Riad is situated inside the Medina so the souks, restaurants and markets are all very close and easy to get to. The beach is only a few minutes walk and is famous for it's water sports and activities including; quad biking, camel and horse riding. Or if you wanted a more relaxing holiday there are plenty of sun loungers at the Riad or on the beach.

Dar Qawi is an incredible place to stay, and felt so at ease and comfortable there. There is everything you will need and more. Could not fault it in any way. Highly recommend and would love to come and stay again.
Thank you x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect but I loved the beautiful roof terrace and the breakfast each day was great!!
Liked least: Couldn't fault it at all.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish0912...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming 'Shabby Chic'”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent location and tastefully decorated. Kitchen on top floor so we could cook in if we wanted. Redoin, the housekeeper's son, was absolutely brilliant assisting and advising us with activities and day excursions, a gem!
Bedrooms were a little small and each had an en-suite, the accommodation overall was charming. Really glad we were lucky enough to stay here as it was a true oasis from the hustle and dirt outside. The only concern we had was that although the house catered for 6 there was only comfortable seating in the sitting room for 4 as two of the chairs were too rickety for use and we were afraid we would break them if we sat on them, also the safe and the fountain did not work. That aside would happily recommend to others.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. In August the Essaouira 'council' sometimes cut off general water supply, so when this is the case we switch off the water fountain to prevent the pump from running dry and breaking. The safe does actually work. Perhaps you didn't find the instructions? I am sorry to hear about the arm chairs being rickety and will address that right away so that this will not cause problems in the future! Apologies for that. I hope you were comfortable nonetheless.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deetee68
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved Dar Qawi”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful time at Dar Qawi and Essaouira. We loved everything about this riad, it was beautifully decorated, had comfy beds and pillows, spotlessly clean, we enjoyed chilling in the living room upstairs, having plenty of bathrooms and lots of space so that we weren't always under each other's feet.

Zara's breakfasts and dinners were an absolute treat and Redouin was lovely and very helping showing us the shortcuts through the medina and to the beach.

Kia provided us with extensive notes about the riad and Essaouira and communication with her prior to the trip was excellent. I would definitely return to Dar Qawi for me it's the only place to stay in Essaouira, I don't normally give 5 stars for accommodation but I loved this road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior decor was very cool and calming. Also the Nespresso machine!
Liked least: Perhaps the lack of microwave in the kitchen to reheat Zara's generously proportioned meals!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dar Qawi, a Riad with the WOW factor”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our first visit to Essaouira via Marrakech and we loved it and the icing on the cake was the beautiful riad we stayed in, Dar Qawi has been thoughtfully and tastefully furnished to a high standard and ticks all the boxes for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. Fresh flowers, towels and robes along with bottled water in each bedroom, breakfasts discreetly prepared by Zara the housekeeper every morning, all made for a wonderful experience. The riad is ideally located for exploring Essaouira being just minutes away from the centre of the medina,busy harbour, great restaurants and beach. For a modest cost, Zara will provide an evening meal, we can certainly recommend her tagines! Sandra, the agent for Dar Qawi was welcoming and handled our transfers efficiently, Zara's son Redouin was always available if required to arrange trips and activities etc, The friendliness and help of all made for a truly relaxing stress free holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location of the riad
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food.
Liked least: Climbing stairs.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing