We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sean J

Amazing Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
There is a reason this hotel has such a high rating on here: the facilities, setting and staff are absolutely amazing.

The rooms are perfect and are impeccably looked after by the lovely housekeeping team. Food was brilliant, with a great variety on offer and cooked to perfection thanks to the fantastic kitchen staff.

The pool and views are stunning. Shout out to the amazing poolside food and beverage guys as well: Shirish, Yan & Yashvin couldn't have looked after us better and are just all round awesome people.

The bar is chilled out with some great entertainment on in the evenings. Even better are the bar staff themselves. Sandy and Arjoon were so friendly and attentive, never failing to look after us - legends both of them.

Jonathan is a ray of sunshine with his sense of humour and the entertainment he organises. Recommend getting involved in any of the activities he has on offer. Also definitely take advantage of all the free water sports on offer through the hotel boathouse (snorkelling, kayaking, water skiing etc.) - this is a huge bonus!

Last but definitely not least, the flawless Concierge, Soudesh, is an expert when it comes to organising excursions and maximising these experiences. His knowledge, connections and clear passion for ensuring guests enjoyment were behind some of the highlights of our trip.

Wish I didn't have such a bad memory for names because I'd like to shout out everyone! Special mentions for the waiting, reception, groundskeeping, spa and all other teams as well. They were also super important in making this such a special place to stay.

Thanks so much to every single member of staff at Sands!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillaume Brillatz, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear
Thank you for your excellent rating and detailed comments. We are delighted to read you appreciate all our services provided to you and are glad that you had an awesome stay among us. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Best Regards,
Guillaume Brillatz
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 662
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 662
4.2 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 398
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 398
4.3 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 583
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 583
2.1 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 9 115
R 7 596
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 596
0.7 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 14 898
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 898
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 964
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 480
1.7 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 024
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 381
10.4 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 675
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 292
3.6 km from Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Flic En Flac
Reviews (4 228)
Filter reviews
4 228 results
Traveller rating
3 454
607
113
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 454
607
113
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dolphin bar pink peppercorn spices restaurant infinity pool dressing area tamarin bay our honeymoon half board water skiing every night boat house special thanks le morne water sports glass bottom boat walk in wardrobe breakfast and dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 4 228 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It’s no wonder the Sands Suites Resort & Spa is currently rated one of the best hotels in Mauritius. We stayed for two weeks in May 2024, and couldn’t recommend it more.

If you’re looking for a smaller boutique vibe, with the facilities of a larger resort, then this is the place for you. The hotel is not too big, nor too small, with excellent facilities all-round.

The relaxed atmosphere resonates within seconds of arriving with the impressive reception revealing a breathtaking view out over the infinity pool, glistening sea and Mauritius’ iconic Le Morne mountain beyond. This, accompanied with freshly-chilled face towels, a warm welcome and breeze of a check-in process, meant we knew we were in for a special stay.

Our first-floor Superior Suite was spacious and well-equipped; with fantastic views out to the beach and turquoise sea between the palms (and indeed all rooms are sea-facing). The room was spotlessly cleaned throughout our stay. A pillow menu and turn-down service (with a chocolate and “quote of the day”) topped off the accommodation. A great nights’ sleep was often had here.

Three restaurants are on offer: two a-la-carte (requires booking), and the main buffet. The food offering has something to cater for every taste through themed buffet nights in the main restaurant. We recommend the a-la-carte “Pink Peppercorn”: a great lunch spot right on the beach with a delicious menu. The culinary experience was exceeded by a surprise dinner on the beach at the “Pink Peppercorn” laid on by the wonderful Ashlay, for our anniversary.

Many days were spent on sun loungers enjoying the picture-postcard beach or large pool with the staff kindly catering for our every need; it was never long before we were offered a drink or snack. Sunglasses getting dirty? No problem - the brilliant Ruddy will be along shortly with his sunglasses cleaning service! Sun loungers were aplenty. Never did the place feel crowded or noisy. Just perfect. To note, sea shoes are recommended, although not essential, if you fancy a dip in the lagoon.

If you can separate yourself from your sun lounger, try your hand at various water sports on offer (we recommend the complimentary group boat trip out to snorkel near the reef, and the private trip out to see the dolphins in Tamarind Bay), beach volleyball, Aqua Gym, and Spa. The concierge desk will also happily organise any bespoke trip to visit the various sites of Mauritius.

An impressive yet relaxed bar area with extensive drinks menu (local rums aplenty) has everything you need for a post-dinner tipple. Entertainment, albeit relatively low-key and not the late-night thumping type, perfectly accompanies the Sands’ chilled evening vibe.

Lastly; and certainly not least: the staff. The biggest asset to this hotel, all of whom go above and beyond to provide a fantastic guest experience. Specifically we noted excellent service (and a consistent smile) from: Rajiv (Bar) Bhavesh and Yashvin (Beach), Nalindee (Chef), Brenda, Hema & Selvin (Waiters) and Jonathan (Aqua Gym).

We’ll certainly be counting down the days until we can return. Don’t hesitate to book. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mkl22_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillaume Brillatz, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time and effort to share your excellent experience at the resort.
Looking forward to welcome you for another stay,
Best Regards,
Guillaume Brillatz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2024

We went to Sands Suites for a family wedding this year. The hotel is of course gorgeous, and the wedding looked like an absolute fairytale, but the thing that makes sands suites really special is the fabulous staff, and the ethos everyone working there proudly follows. Laurent, Karina, Jonathan, just all of the staff were expectional. Everyone went absolutely above and beyond to make the experience magical for the whole duration of our week-long stay, especially the wedding day. I cannot commend this team enough for their talent, creativity, generosity, and flexibility. Laurent, you are truly wonderful! Many thanks again, and hope to see you all again soon someday!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillaume Brillatz, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2024

Dear Nikki,

Greetings from Sands Suites Resort & Spa.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your appreciation. The team at Sands were delighted to host you and your family in our corner of Paradise.

Organising the wedding celebration of Sharlene was a true privilege and we are happy that the celebration went above your expectation.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you again for another signature hospitality.

Thank you again for sharing your Sands Experience and we wish you the very best for the future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2024

Overall, a very nice hotel with amazing staff; we had a great stay for 1 week in May. Would recommend.

The positives:

- Wonderful staff throughout the hotel. Friendly, helpful and attentive (at breakfast, one staff member saw us looking at pics of a natural attraction to visit and gave us great advice - thank you Ashvin!).
- Generous sized room with a separate sofa/ coffee table area, large bathroom with ample clothing storage, french doors with balcony overlooking the pool/ocean.
- A great buffet restaurant with a variety of different daily dinner options/ cuisines e.g. Italian night, BBQ night etc.
- Daily entertainment after dinner in the bar area (DJ, live band, singer etc).
- A large pool, with an amazing view of the beach/ocean.
- Variety of free hotel activities. We played tennis, table tennis, pool, petanque, beach volleyball, gym, even a dart board!. Also used the paddle board, kayak and paddle boat provided by the hotel.
- Used the hotel spa, which includes a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Also offered a variety of massages.
- Gorgeous beach. Many reviews here said it was stony, but didn't find that was the case, unless you head further south down the beach as that's where it ends.

The not so positives:

- The spa was on the small side, and can only be used for 30 mins a day, and needs to be booked in advance.
- Drinks at dinner are not included and were charged, which is fine, but even the water was charged! Was not expecting or happy at that.
- Location may not be great for everyone. The hotel is at the very
south end of Flic en Flac beach and quite a distance from the town, which isn't a short or pleasant walk along the coastal road (approx 3km). So consider that if planning to head into town often.
- May is supposedly off-season, but even then, all the pool side loungers were taken very quickly. Not the hotels fault, but can't imagine getting one during peak season.
- We had some issues with water escaping from the shower room and onto the bathroom floor. This is the one thing that let us down, as even after we informed the staff, it wasn't fixed. Just seemed like a design flaw.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillaume Brillatz, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2024

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your appreciation of the hotel services and friendliness of our team members.
We have taken note of your constructive comments and shared with the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Best Regards,
Guillaume Brillatz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2024 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Sands Suites Resort and Spa. We were exceptionally warmly welcomed by Krishna and his team on our arrival. The view from the reception overlooking the ocean was breathtaking . The personal service we received from the hotel staff during our entire stay was excellent. The room with a veranda had a beautiful view out to sea. We thoroughly enjoyed the themed evening buffets . As an elderly couple we found that everything was easily accessible. We highly recommend this hotel and hope that we will one day return.

Room tip: Nothing- The staff looked after our every need
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deirdre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillaume Brillatz, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

Dear guest,

Thank you for your appreciation of our hotel facilities and services.
See you soon for another memorable stay!
Best Regards,
Guillaume Brillatz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2024

From the moment you arrive to your departure you are cocooned in the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Always smiling, exchanging a few words. Always eager to do anything however small to add to your comfort. 'If you're happy then I'm happy' is a key phrase. A tremendous asset to the hotel. Thank you so much to all we met we loved talking to you.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and so well cleaned each day. If you rang for something it arrived within minutes.
The pool was beautiful and well serviced. Drinks and meals could be served there and usually enough loungers for everyone.
We preferred the beach with its thatched shades and palms and a few steps into the lagoon. Don't remove shells from the beach as it's prohibited with hefty fines. You can go for long walks on the beach and the sunsets are amazing.
Overall, everyone is made to feel so welcome that you don't want to leave this amazing hotel . We hope to be back before too long.
The rest of the island is well worth visiting too, if you can drag yourself away from the embrace of the hotel!

Room tip: The beach on the far side is quieter than the pool area.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillaume Brillatz, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

Dear
Thank you for your excellent rating and detailed feedback following your stay among us. We are indeed very pleased to learn that you were delighted with your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Guillaume Brillatz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews