We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Our first visit since the renovations were completed. We had stayed in a refurbed room on our last visit in May, but now the public areas have finished their renovation so a chance to try those out.

Not 100% sure about the new main restaurant Wolmar set up which has now extended to include a couple more seating areas. Love the new furniture but I think I preferred the old open space in front of the restaurant instead of more seating.
But much more choice now where to sit.

Food was OK although because of my allergies and vegetarianism I chose to have something cooked to order on the two nights that the buffet was Mauritian and Indian (allergic to spices) The staff were very accommodating and a big thank you to the restaurant staff.

Great choice at breakfast as usual and good to see the sparkling wine is still on offer.

The previous reviewer stated that they had some hiccoughs at check in. Ours was smooth enough but they forgot to give us the towel card and the welcome drink seemed to be an after thought and appeared last minute after the check in formalities were completed.

Not sure if some of the front of house staff are new?

We were very pleased with our upgraded room (333) - an ocean facing detached bungalow which was airy and spacious with the most fabulous uninterrupted view of the ocean. Totally relaxing.

Comfy bed and pillows, good supply of toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, excellent lighting in both room and bathroom (so many Mauritian hotels are dimly lit) but the bathroom scales like last time still told lies and chopped a few stones off ;)

Couldn't find the BBC or any English channels on the TV though we don't watch it so no problem. The hotel TV info page however didn't work - it jumped around so you couldn't see the info.

House keeping did a great job, both morning and turndown staff.

Wi fi connectivity was fast and efficient.

We were on HB and drinks prices were in line with other 4* resorts - 505 MUR for one Phoenix beer and one palatable white house wine.

La Pirogue now also offers fine wines by the glass and offers a choice of 60 at it's Van der Stel wine bar located in the Wolmar restaurant.

You are given a price list explaining how it works.

There is now a restaurant Concierge who will book your restaurant requests located outside the main restaurant.

We managed to book Citronella for our last night but were sadly disappointed with the experience this time, unlike the previous visits. (see separate review)

Although nearly into high season there was no shortage of sunbeds and parasols on the beach, though people were busy laying towels out before breakfast, a bad practice which seems to be catching on in all Mauritius hotels sadly.

The time went too quickly as usual and we were sad to leave.
It won't be too long before our 8th visit hopefully.

A warm thank you to all the staff who made our stay so pleasant, particularly Fardeen, Kavita and of course Andrew.

See you soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank bronia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Bronia,

Thank you for staying with us for the 7th time and for sharing your experience with us. We were pleased to note your overall rating but regret to know that some of the services offered were not to your full satisfaction.

Concerning the welcome cocktail, I would like to reassure you that we are employing new measures to enhance the service delivery and ensure that our guest receive the best of the services. The F&B team was briefed on the late arrival of your cocktail so as to avoid such occurrence in future.

We are currently working on our new timeless memories experiences and will shortly be rolling out our new beach butler service. This will avoid the need for towel cards altogether as towels will be supplied on the beach from one of our 5 beach butler stations ensuring your comfort at all times.

Indeed, we recently opened the Van Der Stel Bar, which adds a new dimension to wine tasting by offering a choice of 60 wines by the glass served from state of the art dispensers and a membership card control system. I am pleased this was well appreciated.

Your experience at the Citronella’s café was also shared with the Sugar Beach Management team for their actions.

Once again thank you and we look forward to your 8th visit as we would be glad to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 3 251 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Hi there
Myself and my wife had a fabulous time at the la pirogue hotel. The receptionist nafeesa was so helpful and accommodating she helped and assisted us throughout making our journey so easy. We being from South Africa received excellent treatment from the Porter to the waiters to everything. I would recommend the LA Pirogue anytime the hotel is very very clean and the food awesome I would rate the hotel 5 star. I would definately not hesitate to come back there anytime.

Thanking you
Mr and Mrs Gopalsamy

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shakira Diamond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Shakira Diamond F,

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius and for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor.

It pleases us to read that the overall services and facilities were to your utmost satisfaction. We certainly strive to provide excellent service and are so glad that our hospitality was highly appreciated.

Once again thank you for your complimentary feedback and for recommending the Resort to other readers on this review site.

We sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Just returned from stay. Was going to give 4 stars due to a couple of little niggles but decided the really nice stuff made up for it. At check in we were not given any information or welcome drink and just directed to room with luggage to follow much later. This was one of my main niggles. My other main niggle was that it was extremely difficult to get into the a la carte restaurants and the Magenta even although we had upgraded to all inclusive had almost nothing on the menu that was included. Now the good stuff. All staff are so nice and helpful, maid service was super efficient, food was delicious in all the restaurants and the grounds and rooms were really lovely. It was my husbands birthday and they arranged a special dinner for us with a bottle of bubbly in the room. There is so much good things to say and I guess that is why my check in experience should not cloud things. I would really recommend the all inclusive as drinks are expensive but it also allows you to dine in a la carte restaurants and most have a good selection of food. There is even a good selection of wines that you can have by the bottle. Although we were out a few days I still think we saved money and also there was no stress . I will def return to this hotel. Oh and the location is fabulous.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol37wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Carol37wilson,

Thanks for your online comments and for rating us.

We are really sorry to read that you did not receive the warm welcome which all of our guests get upon arrival at the Resort. I would like to reassure you that the concerned team will be briefed and we shall reinforced supervision so as this does not repeat.

We also regret to read that you could not enjoy the other restaurants of the Resort and that of Sugar Beach. Indeed, the restaurant concierge desk has been opened in an effort to resolve issues of restaurant reservations between the two properties and our various outlets.

Nonetheless, I was particularly very happy to read that you mostly appreciated the specialized and professional service of our dedicated team members and found the food to your likings. It will be a pleasure to share your gratifying comments with our team members, which will surely motivate them to perform even better.

Once again, thank you for your precious time in writing the feedback and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at La Pirogue.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

La piroque is a resort with good infrastructure but bad service. The resort is currently being renovated. So the infrastructure looks fine. The beach is beautiful. The bungalow room had all what a hotel room needs, except for a comfortable bed. The choice of tv channels is poor, but we didn't need the tv. The gardens are well kept. They only should collect the coconuts more often, so they don't fall off (we nearly got hit by one). The breakfast buffet was very good. The buffet food is okay. It has a good variety. The meat dishes usually didn't meet our taste. The choice and quality of breads was outstanding.
For the quality category they want to be (4 stars superior) and prices they ask (Central European level) the service really doesn't hold up. The staff generally doesn't make an effort to be friendly and they are definitely not welcoming. The worst are the front desk and the water sports centre. Never seen such an unprofessional and unfriendly front desk. The staff from the water sports centre always give you the feeling of annoying them every time you'd like to benefit of one of the offered activities.

Overall our stay was ok. But we wouldn't recommend la piroque to any of our friends or go again. We just expected more attention to details.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Lea P,

Thank you for your comments posted online.

We are obviously sorry to read that despite the huge investment in the infrastructure and training of our staffs you found the service level at the Front desk and Sports Centre to be unprofessional and unfriendly. Be assured we shall reinforce the supervision and will soon develop staff engagement forums to further enhance their skills.

Concerning the coconut trees at the Resort, indeed we have a professional team who regularly trim the trees in order to avoid the falling of the coconut.

We are sorry you do not agree with our prices in general, I can assure you that they are in line with pricing practiced throughout the industry on the island and reflect the pricing levels of a 4 star resort.

I am sorry to read that you are considering of refraining from coming back to La Pirogue and recommending the resort. We would sincerely like to have the opportunity of regaining your confidence in La Pirogue. Please let me know personally whenever you book as I would be more than happy to assist with any preferences you may have.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Really nice hotel that is is great for families and couple. The whole family went which was 8 of us and I had a friend satying next door and Sugar Beach.

What I liked:
You could walk 200m to the next hotel and use their facilities
More than 10 restaurants and bars to try
Lots of beach space
Great choice of cocktails

Didnt like:
That you needed to go to Tamrin Bay to ski

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Matthew D,

It has been a pleasure for the entire team to have welcomed you recently and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Certainly, our sharing facilities with Sugar Beach is a definite advantage to our valued guests who can enjoy various services of both resorts.

Once again thank you for your appreciative comments posted online and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0,1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
18,4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5 030 reviews
1,5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2 237 reviews
16 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
35,5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: R3 993 - R15 925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing