We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel with the most beautiful gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

La Pirogue is one of our favorite hotels we've stayed in over the past nine years we visited the beautiful country. The standard rooms are very small, but were in the process of being refurbished. The gardens are beautiful and lush and offer guests many places to leisure. The pool is beautiful and has a infinity view of the Western ocean where beautiful sunsets can be viewed from. The restaurants' standards are very high with a wide variety of delicious foods (men, be sure you bring long trousers for dining in the evenings - they are quite strict about it). The beach is long and clean with too little thatched shading and there is no reefs to snorkel, but the other water sports are fairly standard. The staff at 'Beach bar' had a bit of an attitude most of the time and cocktails were served in plastic cups - not what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel...

Room Tip: If you you travel as a family, the standard rooms can become very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SouthAfrican Traveler,

We would like to first of all thank you for constantly choosing to stay with us for the past nine years and look forward to welcome you for many more years to come. It was a pleasure for us to read that we could provide you the known hospitality of the Resort.

Surely as you highlighted we were in a phase of renovation recently and have relooked the public areas, the rooms, introduced new concept as well as reworked on many of our facilities.

Dress code for both ladies and gents is Casual Smart for dinner in our restaurants. We have tried to apply the norms that guests would expect in a resort of this kind. This also agrees with the benchmark taken from similar hotels on the island. On the same note I would like to add, that generally with our warm humid climate light colours, with a preference for linen and cotton fabrics have been found most comfortable by most of our guests.

I am sorry that you felt that some of the staff members at Le Morne Beach Bar had a bit of an attitude. As staff attitude and friendliness is one of the hallmarks of our resort, be assured that I shall use your feedback as a case study with the team members concerned on how to handle guests courteously and professionally even when the hotel and restaurant are running at full capacity. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings.

Thanks again for your comments which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back after the renovation for you to witness the changes we intend to do.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3 158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 3 159 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The new rooms were more than expected, and we had the most wonderful trip! Our little boy had the time of his life and we hope to return .
Special thanks to La Pirogues Vijay (mobile barman and pizza provider) who went above and beyond to make our stay extra special- worth the mention! Thank you.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank TerriHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TerriHampson,

It is such a delight to read your experience at La Pirogue Resort & Spa. We are pleased to know that it has been your most wonderful trip and that your son enjoyed himself to the fullest! Hopefully he could enjoy the various facilities and services of the Sun Kids Club.

Your thankful note was sent to Vijay as well as shared to the entire team members in order to further motivate them to perform even better.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort is on a lovely stretch of beach with a wonderful view of Le Morne down the coast. Various water activities are free (e.g. paddle boarding) and the private boat trip down to Crystal Rock was a perfect way to spend a few hours. Given the cost, this resort is excellent value for money, but the rooms probably need updating. My only complaint would be that the restaurant service can be much improved upon.
Finally, the on-site nurse was very helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear S O,

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius and for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor. It pleases us to read that the overall services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

You will be glad to know that we have recently completed the renovation of the Resort's public areas and the rooms and have at the same time upgraded our facilities.

Though the hotel was running at very high occupancy during your stay, there should be no excuse for a breakdown in service and I shall ensure that appropriate supervision is implemented with our waiting staff to try and achieve perfect service at all times.

We are glad that you found the Resort to be a great value for money and we sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Had coffee there with my family after they went Scuba diving.
Excellent facilities. Great restaurant.
The best was the playground at which my Grand Daughter could be entertained while her parents were having an excellent Scuba div

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi David S,

It is a pleasure to note that your experience at the Resort was memorable and that your grand daughter appreciated the facilities of the resort.

Indeed the Resort caters for all category of guests and provides facilities adapted to all ages.

Thanks again for appreciating our services and facilities and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 4 (kids 10 and 6) and we chose La Pirogue because we were advised west is best in August and because we liked the idea of the individual little cottages. We are so glad we did, because from start to finish the holiday was amazing. The beach is really beautiful, the resort is relaxed and spacious, the little thatched cottages spread out across the resort are delightful, the food is great, and there is a good selection of water sports on offer (and the boathouse guys are really helpful). We often had the pool completely to ourselves, I have read complaints that it was cold, but it was fine. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were always helpful, friendly and attentive (particularly the buffet restaurant and pool bar staff).

We took a brilliant dolphin trip from the beach for about 3 hours and it's also worth booking on the snorkelling trips organized by the hotel each day. One of the biggest positives of this hotel is it's location - south Mauritius is on your doorstep. The Black River Gorge area is stunning, we did an amazing trip to Tamarin waterfalls with Prakash (our guide), spent several hours at Le Vanille, which was a really pleasant surprise (giant tortoises amazing) and climbed to the halfway point of Le Morne.

This was the perfect holiday for us. We arrived home this morning and I would happily get straight back on a plane to go back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Nicola M,

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed various services and facilities provided at the Resort as well as participated in many sea activities and trips.

Surely, the resort offers a variety of activities to help our guests enjoy their well deserved vacations ands we are indeed delighted that our team was of great help in this regards.

We shall surely pass on your thankful note to the entire team who assisted you throughout your stay so as to further motivate them to perform better.

Thanks once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
18.4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4 859 reviews
2.2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
35.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: R3 975 - R15 588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing