We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting - beach and gardens
Our garden bungalows comfortable
Main restaurant big buffet, as to be expected. The two smaller restaurants much nicer
Good facilities (fitness and sports)
Wifi only just adequate
Only complaint is La Pirogue purports to be a separate hotel but it is operated by Sugar Beach next door. That's OK till it comes to the fine print. Example: hotel magazine left in our room advertised free golf at nearby Tamarina. At check out I was charged. Their excuse "that's a Sugar Beach magazine". I think that's very misleading and deceptive conduct

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for your review online. We are glad to read that the Restaurants and the fitness facilities were to your satisfactions.

I was really sorry to read the inconvenience you had with the Tamarina Golf. Be assured, your review was discussed with the Sugar Beach management team for appropriate amendments.

We are again thankful to you for having chosen La Pirogue for your holidays and hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3 217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 3 217 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

We had a very nice weekend at La Pirogue and sugar beach hotel. We had access to sugar beach as la pirogue was on renovation. The location is perfect and very well maintained. The staff was very friendly specially with my little daughter. Honestly i have nothing to complaint except the food at dinner was terrible for such quality of hotel. i was disappointing with the quality of food, they must fix this issue. Breakfast was superb and lots of choice. Overall of my stay was good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank ibrahim-0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Ibrahim-0101,

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your recent holiday in Mauritius. We are glad that you had a fantastic time at the Resort and that you appreciated mostly the attention of the dedicated staffs with your little daughter.

Our guest’s satisfaction is our prime objectives and we are glad that we stood up to your expectations. We shall surely pass on your grateful comments to the entire team for them to be further motivated to perform better.

However, we regret that the dinner buffet was not to your expectations and can assure you to have shared your concerns to the management of Sugar Beach for them to identify possible amendments in their dishes.

Thank you again for your feedback and we patiently await your next visit to the hotel for you to enjoy the new look and facilities of the renovated Resort.

Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Such a wonderful beach just in front of the room. You only need few steps to lay down on the beach. Even thought the hotel says its under construction but I have been notice any nose or noticeable things regarding the construction. We had completely relaxable and lovely holidays in LaPirogue Resort. Definitely recommend to my friends and others. If you are looking for something private stay this is one of your list.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Serena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Serena V,

I would like to thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay and for spending some of your precious time to write a review online. I am glad that your overall stay was very comfortable.

Certainly, the Resort offers various services and facilities to satisfy different tastes and needs and we are glad that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one. At the same time I would like to thank you for mentioning the discretion undertook by the Resort for conducting a soft renovation without disturbing the privacy of our valuable guests.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts put in to keep our guests happy. We shall be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

I'm writing this on day 5 of a 7 day stay.

There are many good points about this hotel:

We are staying in one of the renovated rooms which are quite nice. They are not luxurious / think 3 star standard but they are clean and bright. Housekeeping seem nice and do a decent job.

The wifi is good and fast in most places.

The beach is nice. As are the beach staff.

The gardens are lovely.

The free water / beach activities are good.

We only used the kids club once but my little girl seemed to like it and the staff seemed nice.

The points to consider are:

The pool is average at best

The staff on reception and in the restaurants are quite poor, they certainly need some customer service training.

The worst thing about this hotel is the food, it is poor! We have eaten in citronellas and the buffet and both were as bad as the other.

Also it was our anniversary whilst here and nothing, not even a happy anniversary.

If you are considering between here and sugar beach - sister hotel, go with sugar beach. Nicer pool, nicer staff and the restaurant is much better!

Overall we expected better ......

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank happytraveller1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Happytraveller1408,

Thank you for your online review. We are glad that you appreciated most of the facilities of the resort; including the new look of the renovated room allocated to you.

However, we regret to read your comments on the staff at the reception and restaurant as we have always pride ourselves on excellent service which unfortunately you did not experience. Be informed that with the upcoming final renovation of the Resort we shall emphasize more on training and reinforce the team with additional staff to elevate our service standards.

We also plan to work on the menu provided at the buffet during the renovation to upgrade its quality and variety.

Concerning your wedding anniversary, we were very concerned to read that you did not receive the personal attentions reserved to guests celebrating their special events with us.

Thanks again for your ratings which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope we can fully convince you during your next stay of our close attention to maintaining the highest quality standards.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

For the amount I paid, the hotel was pretty amazing for a hotel bang on the beach.
Very extensive choice of food during breakfast and dinner.
The rooms were large and comfortable and so was the bathroom.
The swimming pool (i should say, swimming poolS) was a great place to just lounge around.
Also, they have free activities for the guests (snorkelling, glass bottom boat, kayaking, sailing, stand up paddle).
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank peripateticously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Peripateticously,

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your holiday experience at our beautiful resort. I am pleased that you made use of all our facilities and enjoyed various activities proposed at the Resort.

Once again thank you for your kind acknowledgement and we very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
18.4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4 959 reviews
1.5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2 222 reviews
35.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
16.0 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: R4 153 - R16 213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing