We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful view ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Such a wonderful beach just in front of the room. You only need few steps to lay down on the beach. Even thought the hotel says its under construction but I have been notice any nose or noticeable things regarding the construction. We had completely relaxable and lovely holidays in LaPirogue Resort. Definitely recommend to my friends and others. If you are looking for something private stay this is one of your list.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Serena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Serena V,

I would like to thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay and for spending some of your precious time to write a review online. I am glad that your overall stay was very comfortable.

Certainly, the Resort offers various services and facilities to satisfy different tastes and needs and we are glad that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one. At the same time I would like to thank you for mentioning the discretion undertook by the Resort for conducting a soft renovation without disturbing the privacy of our valuable guests.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts put in to keep our guests happy. We shall be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3 219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 3 219 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

I'm writing this on day 5 of a 7 day stay.

There are many good points about this hotel:

We are staying in one of the renovated rooms which are quite nice. They are not luxurious / think 3 star standard but they are clean and bright. Housekeeping seem nice and do a decent job.

The wifi is good and fast in most places.

The beach is nice. As are the beach staff.

The gardens are lovely.

The free water / beach activities are good.

We only used the kids club once but my little girl seemed to like it and the staff seemed nice.

The points to consider are:

The pool is average at best

The staff on reception and in the restaurants are quite poor, they certainly need some customer service training.

The worst thing about this hotel is the food, it is poor! We have eaten in citronellas and the buffet and both were as bad as the other.

Also it was our anniversary whilst here and nothing, not even a happy anniversary.

If you are considering between here and sugar beach - sister hotel, go with sugar beach. Nicer pool, nicer staff and the restaurant is much better!

Overall we expected better ......

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank happytraveller1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Happytraveller1408,

Thank you for your online review. We are glad that you appreciated most of the facilities of the resort; including the new look of the renovated room allocated to you.

However, we regret to read your comments on the staff at the reception and restaurant as we have always pride ourselves on excellent service which unfortunately you did not experience. Be informed that with the upcoming final renovation of the Resort we shall emphasize more on training and reinforce the team with additional staff to elevate our service standards.

We also plan to work on the menu provided at the buffet during the renovation to upgrade its quality and variety.

Concerning your wedding anniversary, we were very concerned to read that you did not receive the personal attentions reserved to guests celebrating their special events with us.

Thanks again for your ratings which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope we can fully convince you during your next stay of our close attention to maintaining the highest quality standards.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

For the amount I paid, the hotel was pretty amazing for a hotel bang on the beach.
Very extensive choice of food during breakfast and dinner.
The rooms were large and comfortable and so was the bathroom.
The swimming pool (i should say, swimming poolS) was a great place to just lounge around.
Also, they have free activities for the guests (snorkelling, glass bottom boat, kayaking, sailing, stand up paddle).
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank peripateticously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Peripateticously,

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your holiday experience at our beautiful resort. I am pleased that you made use of all our facilities and enjoyed various activities proposed at the Resort.

Once again thank you for your kind acknowledgement and we very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Having had two trips spoilt earlier in the year through family emergencies we were really looking forward to a trip to Mauritius. Well we weren't disappointed.La Pirogue is beautifully presented with wonderful grounds that are superbly laid out and maintained. Although the hotel was full there was no feeling of crowds except maybe at the buffet in the evening.The staff were all an absolute joy to interact with. All friendly outgoing and hardworking. We attended the managers party which was actually attended by the Senior Management who like all of the other staff were very personable and we discussed the development plans for the resort over the next few months. The GM also explained that over 40% staff had been there over 25 years and the ones that we met were every bit as enthusiastic and hard working as the younger ones. We were all inclusive and booked a number of meals in the a la carte restaurants on site. The food was to a good standard including the buffets with some really memorable dishes. The trick with the buffets was in our opinion to go a little later so that the first surge of people had worked through. The spa and the gym were lovely places to be too.

We are so looking to returning to Mauritius and intend to go back next year.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room as the older ones are not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Alan W,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback about your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the warm hospitality and friendliness of our restaurant associates.

The Management cocktail as highlighted in your comments is indeed a good way for the management team to interact with all our guests and get to know how comfortable you feel at the Resort. We are happy you appreciated this occasion of meeting our Managers and discussing about how you feel at the Resort.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The location is very good. We loved the beach, the clear water and the palms. The garden and the beach is very tidy. The rooms could be more eccentric.
Talking about the service, we had very good waiters/waitress. Our roomserver Raji is very nice and does a very good job. She's always smiling.
Sunil and Vikash from the beach/ boattrips were also very kind and made us some unforgettable trips.
We've been in many hotels, also luxury ones, but a waiter like Rajesh, we didn't met yet. He's very courteous and very kind. Always smiling and does the best service. Thanks to these people who made us a great vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viktor_Lilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Witja,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Mauritius and for rating us on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that you had an excellent stay and valued mostly the very attentive and helpful staff. Your grateful comments on the team member’s professionalism and friendliness will serve as a great motivator to continue striving for service excellence.

Concerning the rooms, be assured that we will put in more colours and brighten the rooms to make it look more chic.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another fantastic stay at La Pirogue Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
18.4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4 958 reviews
1.5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2 222 reviews
35.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
16.0 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: R4 097 - R16 138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing