We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Having had two trips spoilt earlier in the year through family emergencies we were really looking forward to a trip to Mauritius. Well we weren't disappointed.La Pirogue is beautifully presented with wonderful grounds that are superbly laid out and maintained. Although the hotel was full there was no feeling of crowds except maybe at the buffet in the evening.The staff were all an absolute joy to interact with. All friendly outgoing and hardworking. We attended the managers party which was actually attended by the Senior Management who like all of the other staff were very personable and we discussed the development plans for the resort over the next few months. The GM also explained that over 40% staff had been there over 25 years and the ones that we met were every bit as enthusiastic and hard working as the younger ones. We were all inclusive and booked a number of meals in the a la carte restaurants on site. The food was to a good standard including the buffets with some really memorable dishes. The trick with the buffets was in our opinion to go a little later so that the first surge of people had worked through. The spa and the gym were lovely places to be too.

We are so looking to returning to Mauritius and intend to go back next year.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room as the older ones are not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Alan W,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback about your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the warm hospitality and friendliness of our restaurant associates.

The Management cocktail as highlighted in your comments is indeed a good way for the management team to interact with all our guests and get to know how comfortable you feel at the Resort. We are happy you appreciated this occasion of meeting our Managers and discussing about how you feel at the Resort.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 3 251 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

The location is very good. We loved the beach, the clear water and the palms. The garden and the beach is very tidy. The rooms could be more eccentric.
Talking about the service, we had very good waiters/waitress. Our roomserver Raji is very nice and does a very good job. She's always smiling.
Sunil and Vikash from the beach/ boattrips were also very kind and made us some unforgettable trips.
We've been in many hotels, also luxury ones, but a waiter like Rajesh, we didn't met yet. He's very courteous and very kind. Always smiling and does the best service. Thanks to these people who made us a great vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viktor_Lilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Witja,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Mauritius and for rating us on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that you had an excellent stay and valued mostly the very attentive and helpful staff. Your grateful comments on the team member’s professionalism and friendliness will serve as a great motivator to continue striving for service excellence.

Concerning the rooms, be assured that we will put in more colours and brighten the rooms to make it look more chic.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another fantastic stay at La Pirogue Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Nice beach. The staff is helpful and friendly. I liked how spacious the whole resort is. I don't know whether the cocktail night happens every week but it was wonderful, the atmosphere was very good! They have different kind of buffet every night which is fantastic. Lovely breakfast buffet as well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TanyaL117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear TanyaL117,

Thanks for the online feedback. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay.

Surely, our associates are the main pillar and we do recognize their daily efforts in making your stay a memorable one. I am delighted to know that they were helpful and friendly to you.

The hosted management cocktail is held every week as it is a way for the management team to meet our in-house guests and get to know of how comfortable you are the Resort.

I assure you to pass on your motivating feedback to the entire team so as to maintain our level of service.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we await your next visit to make it an even more delightful experience.

Warm regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Good points are the fabulous beach, and the spacious, attractive grounds. Also highly recommend the catamaran trip offered through the hotel - very good value for a whole day trip of snorkelling and swimming off the boat, a barbecue lunch, and unlimited drinks.
Bad points - our bathroom was ropey - old, low powered shower etc. I gather there are some better ones in refurbished rooms. And mealtimes were a nightmare. The food is mediocre, and the throngs of jostling people at the buffet make it feel like a motorway service station. The experience is a bit better in the a la carte restaurant (your meal allowance will cover two courses for most of the choices) although the food is no better.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank obaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Obaker,

I am delighted to read that our facilities and services were to your conveniences and have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with all my reports as well as the team members.

However, I was sorry for the inconvenience you had with the shower and would like to reassure you that with the upcoming renovation this issue will permanently resolve.

Moreover, your comments on the food at the buffet were passed on to the Executive Chef for his actions. We regret to read your disappointment in this regard.

Thanks again for your comments which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope together with the completion of the renovation, we can fully convince you during your next stay of our close attention to maintaining the highest quality standards.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Set in beautiful lush surroundings with enormous grounds covered by 1800 palm trees, absolute tranquillity, peaceful. Food outstanding as is the staff and service.
All rooms so private and individual with fantastic beach/seaview.
Thanks to the food and beverage staff in particular Prayag and Sevin the sommelier.
Great job guys, thanks.
Uys & Delia

Room Tip: The bungalow rooms are great but the superior rooms are stunning. All Quiet & private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Uys901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Uys901,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for leaving a feedback online.

We really appreciate your positive comments on the atmosphere at the Resort, the service and our fine food. It is true that the entire team work really hard to provide you with their best service ever and your kind acknowledgement of their efforts is a real motivator for them to perform even better.

We hope you will continue to support and recommend us to your family and friends. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Resort after the renovation.

Thanks and regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0,1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
18,4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5 029 reviews
1,5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2 236 reviews
16 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
35,5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: R3 993 - R15 925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing