We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$323
US$224
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/13
FindHotelUS$237
Trip.comUS$284
Lol.travelUS$323
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 027)
Filter reviews
6 028 results
Traveller rating
5 049
692
179
61
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5 049
692
179
61
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deer hunter blue penny la citronelle golf courses are villa master links course legend golf indigo restaurant prestige room great golf play golf half board indian chef special thanks prince maurice beach front main bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 6 028 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Having stayed here last year on HB basis (which we reckon was about break even versus AI), we decided to go AI this year as there is now a small charge for golf green fees that didn’t exist last year. Also, we could relax when it came to the G&T’s in the evenings !

The premium beachfront villas have been modernised since last year, and would be our choice of room in future (suites are not significantly bigger and location is at the coralline end of the beach).

All staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. Special mention to Jose at the aqua fit classes (which are the same every time, but good fun and a decent workout, nevertheless).

La Spiaggia was our favourite restaurant, and the salt baked sea bass and crepes suzettes (although surcharge items) were fabulous. All the serving staff and somelliers were very friendly and helpful and led to a very relaxing atmosphere with lovely food.

The staff at both golf courses were fantastic in preparing the buggies in advance, providing towels before and after and driving around the course providing cold drinking water at regular intervals. We also played at Ile aux Cerfs, where the service was nowhere near the level of BMP (no buggies available until 20 mins after our tee time, no towels, rude staff...)

We also ate at Prince Maurice (was very difficult to book in advance, so best to do it before you arrive), and while a beautiful setting and a lovely meal (you get an allowance to use in the restaurants if you are on AI, but need to buy wine separately), we felt that the hotel was far too quiet and soulless for our tastes.

Bertrand, the manager runs a tight ship and works hard to get around and meet the many customers (a lot of whom he remembers from previous years visits). He is also excellent at getting any issues sorted promptly.

All in all, if you like 5 star hotels and golf, this is hard to beat. We will be back, and try to venture outside of the resort more next time to see more of the island.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fivebellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Constance Belle Mare Plage!

Thank you for your wonderfully worded feedback for us on this forum. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that all our services, culinary offerings and resort as a whole appealed to you and you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

On behalf of myself and my mum we would like to give a special thank you to Kailash, Akash, Vimi and Veer (Chef from India) for their friendly and helpful service during our stay. We will be back again at the hotel! We very much appreciate all staff.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 165diyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2019

Dear Diyas,

I am happy to hear that you had a remarkable stay with us at Constance Belle Mare Plage! I will share your kind compliments with the team members mentioned.

We await with pleasure the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2019 via mobile

A beautiful location with a lovely beach and great pools. The restaurants are excellent - we particularly liked La Spiaggia. The staff are very attentive and looked after us very well. While the weather had some variability (can’t blame the hotel for that!) we were out by the beach or pool every day. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank richardaE6530ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2019

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. It is always a treat to receive positive comments from satisfied guests and we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Should your travels bring you back to Mauritius, we would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

Our family of five travelled for the first time to Mauritius to celebrate my 60th birthday. I had hard so much about this tropical island with its rich and diverse culture and we were not disappointed at all . The hotel is a huge 5 star property nestled on the east coast f the Island and the only downside is that it is quite a way out from any big towns . It is a golfers paradise as it has a stunning golf course attached to it . This hotel has all the facilities of a 5 star establishment . We had a private villa with our own butler service and pool and it as very comfortable . Most of the hotel rooms are centred around the pool area and there ae no shortage of restaurants and numerous bars all over the complex . The hotel offers complimentary snorkelling and skiing activities weather permitting . The hotel staff on the whole were polite and accommodating and our very special thanks go to Kailash ,the buggy driver who went out of his way to help us find our way around and helpful advice . A special mention to our driver Antonio who took us to port louis and was very patient with us .

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JATINLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2019

Dear Jatinlondon,

Greetings from Constance Belle Mare Plage!

Your review humbles all of us in the team. We have always believed in ensuring the very best for every guest of ours and the team with their passion, simplicity and friendliness makes sure that a relationship, a bond is developed between us and the guests.

At Constance Belle Mare Plage, we constantly strive to provide our guests with a memorable experience and we are happy to learn that you had blissful holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another stay with us.

Warm regards,

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

This was our second time at CBMP having first stayed in May 2017. I wrote a review at the time and couldn't give a five star rating because of a couple of minor issues.
Having been to the resort before we opted again for the all inclusive package as we found it was great value for money based on our requirements.
I contacted the hotel in advance of our arrival to request an early check in as we were arriving at aprox 07.00am after overnight flight from London.
I was assured that the front desk would be made aware of this request and everything would be done to accommodate our request. Unfortunately after going through the formalities of checking in we were told we could only get access to our room at 14.00pm....the normal check in time so not a great start.
I mentioned my request and after a short wait we were told the room would be ready soon. We got into the room at around 10.30am so the response was good but I'm pretty sure if I hadn't said anything we would have had to wait until 14.00.
The resort is every bit as good as it was in 2017 and there has been large scale refurbishments to a number of rooms. Gardens are well tended and there is always plenty of staff doing the little things that often get missed elsewhere.
There are a number of things that make CBMP a great resort and the main one is the staff who service the beach, pool areas, restaurants, golf courses and bars. The customer service team leave a little to be desired. More of that later.
We were on holiday with another couple and three of us are keen golfers. The two courses are really great, the practice facilities second to none and the staff at both Legend and Links are superb. Too many to mention but a special thank you to Rakish at Legend.
Both courses are a great test of golf off the back tees. If you want leisurely holiday golf play off the front tees.
There is more than enough choice when it comes to food in the restaurants. La Citronella, the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner has a wide range of choices that would be sufficient for even the fusiest of eaters. A big thank you to Davison who produced three superb fish dishes for me and two for my wife and our friends. On asking him what the fish was etc, he went out of his way to explain what was available, asked what I liked and then said he would do something that was not on the buffet menu and he produced something special. Thanks again Davison.
I had the most fatastic lamb curry on International evening.
La Spiaggia is the a la carte mediterranean restaurant which we ate at twice. In our opinion this is the best a la carte restaurant at the resort. Terrific food and service, nothing more to add.
The Blue Penny restaurant is a beautiful place but there are a couple of things that are not great.
Apart from wine, there is no bar so drinks have to be brought from the B Bar. We waited over ten minutes for our aperitifs....not a great start.
Two of us ordered Wagu tomahawk steaks which were priced on the menu as MUR2020 (approx £47.00)
The allowance in the a la carte restaurants is MUR1090pp and anything over that is charged to the room which was explained and understood.
When we placed our order we were informed that the steaks were one between two meaning that the cost for one steak was pushing £90.00. This was not written up on the menu and we should definately have been informed of this when we were given the menus.
We decided to have the steak and I have to say it was nothing special and not value for money. The staff were rather aloof and we felt that we should somehow feel privaliged to be allowed to eat there.
The Blue Penny is the signature restaurant of the hotel but we only ate there once based on the above and we preferred La Spaggia.
The beach is cleaned every morning, there are plenty of sunbeds available early on but there is supposed to be a policy of not putting towels etc onto beds to reserve them. There are plenty of notices on the sunshades explaining this but it does not stop it happening.
Towels were on beds from 07.00am with no one using them until hours later. Presumably these people played golf first... The policy is not enforced and after four days we felt we had no option than to do what everyone else was doing.....
Service around Lakaze beach restaurant and pool area was superb. It was great to see Chand on duty as he was in 2017. A wonderful ambassador for the resort. Thank you so much Chand, you are a true gentleman.
We ate lunch at Indigo three times. MUR650pp supplement for king prawns definately not worth it.
The curry dishes there however are wonderful, as are the fish and chips.
Evenings were spent at B Bar. One night our friends were there before us and waited over 15 minutes to be served after placing their order.
This was a one off in the bar and there was no obvious reason why this should be. (Later that night we had the same very bad service in the buffet restaurant. Again a one off and when we mentined this the next night things were back to normal i.e. great service)
The evening entertainment at B Bar was a bit hit and miss. Two of the live bands were superb, another two mediocre and the Mauritian night was OK. The magician was very poor.
The staff at B Bar who went above and beyond were, Rishi, Jean and Roy. Rishi in particular is very good at his job and he obviously enjoys what he does, always with a smile on his face.
Roy was a young man who was on his first few weeks at work. Nervous at the beginning of our stay but by the end he had things off to a tee. I wish him a long and happy career at CBMP, stick in Roy, you are a star in the making.
A big thank you to Darmen at the main entrance to the resort. Efficient, friendly and always on hand to arrange taxis, golf buggies to Legend and La Spaggia and even to the room when required.
There are a couple of issues that once again prevent me from giving a five star rating.
For the last four days of our stay there was no machine available at breakfast to make toast.
I was told every day that maintenance would have the issue resolved later that day and it never happened. I reported it to customer services...nothing happened. I find it difficult to understand how a five star hotel can allow this to happen.
Maybe trivial but a valid point IMO.
Finally, and worst of all, we saw someone with a dog in the buffet restaurant. A pug that was being carried around by a lady. Not sure if she sat and ate at the restaurant, hopefully not.
This lady may have been a guest, may have been management or may have been an owner or shareholder in the hotel.
It really doesn't matter to me who she was, she should not have had a dog in the restaurant.
I do not have any allergies but many people do, my wife has a fear of dogs, it is not hygienic and for me it was a massive mistake by the resort to allow this.
We went to customer service team to raise this concern and complain about it. We were assured that senior management would be informed and get back to us with an explanation. This never happened in the remaining five days of our holiday so very, very dissapointing.
All things considered this is a great resort. Would I return?...maybe, maybe not. There are many great hotels and resorts on Mauritius.
We have been lucky enough to stay at some of them and we have flights booked to return in March 2020.
We will certainly return to Shangai La "Le Touessrok", which I rate higher than CBMP and maybe another resort that we have not been to before.
In ending this review I must repeat that the staff at CBMP are wonderful. Keep up the great work.
Richie Palmer.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiepfromthewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2019

Dear Richiepfromthewe,

Greetings from Constance Belle Mare Plage.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which is essential in our efforts to further improve our service standards and guest experiences.

We are extremely sorry to hear about your stay experience. Please accept our sincere apologies on any inconvenience caused concerning the negative points you have shared in your review.

I also would like to thank you for your positive feedback concerning our wonderful team from the Golf Team, the Culinary Team, our food, The Bar.

It is with such comments that we strive to do better each day. Your feedback is essential in helping us improve our services and please be assured that your comments have been shared with our team who continually strive to create seamless and positive experiences for our guests.

We hope that we will have chance to welcome you back again and recover your impression of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews