We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Trip.com
US$532
View deal
Destinia.com
US$532
US$492
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 307)
Filter reviews
3 307 results
Traveller rating
2 739
393
129
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 739
393
129
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation restaurant yacht club a la carte ocean front ylang ylang colonial style an ocean view room butler service our honeymoon half board iced tea the main dining room seafood buffet beautiful hotel kids club indian ocean water sports
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 3 307 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2020

We spontaneously decided to stay at The Residence in Mauritius and loved every single thing. Check In was fast, welcoming and personal but at the same time quick and efficient. The room we had was on the top floor with a nice view and a beautiful balcony. The room had a luxurious bathroom and a nice bedroom with everything you need. The hotel offered a large range of things you can do, such as tennis, ping pong, football, Beachvolleyball, spa, gym and an awesome restaurant by the beach. Dinner at the main restaurant was great as well. It was a different dinner theme every night - highly recommend to stay here!

Room tip: We had a top floor sea view room was perfect
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky_Shaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierrot b, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for relating your holiday experience and are elated to read of your satisfaction about your stay at our resort.

We are glad that you are still cherishing the good times you have had and are pleased to read that our team members have provided you quality service throughout your stay.

We reiterate our thanks for your appreciation and recommendation.

We sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a very near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2020 via mobile

I stayed this summer at The Residence in Mauritius for a week this summer with my parents and my two sisters. Not only is an incredibly beautiful place to stay but the service made our stay unforgettable. They care about every little detail so the only thing we had to care about was enjoying the activities and of course the beach, one of the most recommended in the island.
We all are grateful with the staff and We hope We will be back some day.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank carlaboehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierrot b, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

It’s very enriching to read that you had an exceptional stay and had experienced privilege moments with us as we endeavour to ensure that all our guests do have an enjoyable experience while staying with us.

No doubt we will share your praiseworthy comments to each member of our team which will certainly be a huge motivator to each and everyone.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you once again for your trust in our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores for another wonderful experience.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2020 via mobile

Where to even begin with this hotel - just absolutely fantastic.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with the upmost professionalism, and quite frankly made to feel like royalty.

We opted for an ocean view room which was well worth it.

The food in all areas was 5* quality, especially at the Plantation restaurant. Only the highest quality of ingredients used for food and drinks.

Nothing was too much hassle for the hotel staff. Amazing butler service which came with our room.

The hotel also arranged surprises for us both small and large as it was our honeymoon - just fantastic.

We did get a bit of a rainy season during our stay, but even that could not dampen our spirits at this phenomenal hotel.

If you are looking for luxury, please book here. You will not regret it.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Adell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierrot b, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

It’s very enriching to read that you had an exceptional stay and had experienced privilege moments with us as we endeavour to ensure that all our guests do have an enjoyable experience while staying with us.

No doubt we will share your praiseworthy comments to each member of our team which will certainly be a huge motivator to each and everyone.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you once again for your trust in our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores for another wonderful experience.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2020

We had a pleasure to stay in this stunning hotel last May. Almost everything, from beginning to the end, had exceeded our expectations.

Above all, I must say that the staff is brilliant and they really do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All of them, from receptionists, waiters, chefs, our butler, Boat House boys, cleaning ladies, ladies in little hotel shop, security staff, management … are very kind, professional, courteous and provide the highest, exquisite level of service. We had nice chats with great and very friendly waitress in main restaurant, Mrs. Shista Ramkhalawon Teemul. Also, I must mention Nitash and Ally from main restaurants (I apologize, but I forgot their last names).

The hotel itself is very elegant, classy and peaceful. There is a bit of an ‘old times’ feeling, which itself is certainly memorable. It is in beautiful setting, along the stunning, picturesque beach, with many lovely birds, which sing all day long, a real tropical dream. We chose The Residence because of its amazing, long, white-sanded beach, with plenty of space for swimming. Actually, there are three parts of the beach, and every part itself is equally impressive. WiFi did not work properly in our favorite, middle part of the beach, among palm trees, so this should be improved. Middle May weather was great and sunny and the sea was hot and pleasant. We had only one windy day with few drops of rain, so I think that beginning/middle May is good solution for this part of Eastern coast. Belle Mare beach is beautiful, certainly one of the best beaches we saw in Mauritius. It is good for long walks and there are several hotels along it, we also liked neighbouring Luxe hotel. Belle Mare village is not far from hotel, you can easily walk there to buy some little things or souvenirs. Also, I recommend you to visit Flacq, the city which is not too far away and there is a big, colorful market two days a week. For us, The Residence was a good base for exploring this amazing island.

Our room was excellent, classic-colonial style, calm colors, cozy, spacious, immaculately clean, with a most beautiful hotel bathroom we had had recently. Big terrace with a table, ideal for a glass of vine before dinner or for a morning joy with lovely singing birds around. The lady who maintained our room was very courteous and made sure we have enough shower gels, shampoos, conditioners…

Food was delicious. Main restaurant had great variety of dishes and everything was very tasteful. There was a different theme each evening. Also, the nearby bar offered evening entertainment with live music (above all, an excellent piano player) and dancing.

This was a perfect stay in a top notch hotel. We would like to thank all the great people who work here for keeping up standards and providing us such a joyful time. We would gladly stay in this hotel again and recommend it to everyone.

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Čedomir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierrot b, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your valuable comments will no doubt assist us in our continuous improvement towards quality service.

We, at The Residence Mauritius, we take pride in serving our customer whilst ensuring to deliver the best services.

Your kind words can only be the best motivation to our team who will always go to the extra mile to exceed our guests' expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020 via mobile

We spent a week at the Residence and it fully lived up to our expectations of luxury Hotel. We Got upgrated to a sea View room upon arrival and enjoyed our stay at This beautiful location.
Great service and we Got With on Extra charge at late check out ( 19.00) - we Will be back !!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank thomasklit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierrot b, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments

We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay. Your valuable motivational comments will no doubt assist us in our objective to consistently strive to get better.

We reiterate our sincere thanks for your trust in The Residence Mauritius and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews