We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guide”

Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 97 Tours in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Under the umbrella of Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures is Downbelow PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Dive Centre. The Downbelow Travel Centre, an Official Tour & Travel operator for Sabah based in KK Times Square. Our Downbelow Adventure Lodge, an expedition style lodge catering for group & independent adventure travel and the largest scuba diving & adventure shop. Our PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Centre is a slice of paradise, nestled in a quiet bay on Gaya Island in the TAR Park just 8 minutes by boat from Kota Kinabalu city. We are the only operator at this location so you will enjoy your activity without the crowds. Our highly qualified team of friendly professional instructors & instructor trainers are managed by our resident PADI Course Director (CD), the highest rating in recreational diving.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We hired Downbelow to take us for a day of hiking on Mount Kinabalu. Philip was an excellent guide who was very knowledgeable about many things, We were picked up in a comfortable van and the drive took about 2 hours. Once there we were given the lay of the land and chose which trails we wanted to hike. One of us wanted to do more hiking so we divided up, Philip was great at pointing out the various flora. It is a beautiful park and definitely worth a visit. The tour included a nice lunch at a nearby restaurant. They really did a nice job.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Dak94402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gaya island"
in 238 reviews
"dive centre"
in 95 reviews
"myne resort"
in 22 reviews
"instructor development"
in 15 reviews
"open water"
in 66 reviews
"scuba diving"
in 67 reviews
"these guys"
in 49 reviews
"fish"
in 83 reviews
"dive course"
in 16 reviews
"kinabatangan river"
in 37 reviews
"office staff"
in 16 reviews
"fun dives"
in 28 reviews
"great diving"
in 23 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 16 reviews
"went smoothly"
in 15 reviews
"whole team"
in 13 reviews
"via email"
in 21 reviews
Filter

106 - 110 of 1 349 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Had grateful learning experience with dive instructor Akiko from Tokyo. Inspired by her deep dedicated explaination and patience throughout the course . Wish to meet sensei again in very soon

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank UrsaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The reaction I got on an orientating email to Downbelow was so friendly and enthusiastic, that I decided immediately to choose them to book my vacation to Borneo.
The response time to email is short and the personal touch they give is really nice!
Wherever I came, all was well arranged as promised.
Selingan Island was very impressive! I adopted a nest and received an email with pictures, of the hatchlings 2 months later. The Danum Valley Field Centre is also really worth visiting! A lot of wildlife to be seen and hear here! And also the Diving on Gaya Island in front of Kota Kinabulu was great! The proffessional and friendly team gave me an unforgettable diving experience! Thanks to all of you!
Best regards, Chiel from Holland!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Chiel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Totally had an amazing time through out the whole diving course especially the last day. The diving instructors are very patient, helpful, and friendly. The food were really nice too. It is a good experience diving with them, very enjoyable. Would recommend it to friends or family.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Had a great time and experience with the instructors here ( akiko and Victor) for my Open Water Diving License. The instructors here are very patient and nice, not forgetting the beautiful underwater scenery at Gaya Island. Indeed a good place for people who plan to obtain their diving license.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Cheong P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Downbelow Marine & Wildlife Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing