We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Chulia Court

Chulia Court
Ranked #88 of 1 134 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Chulia Court The Tavern, one of the best adaptations of a heritage shop-house for a restaurant, music bar and boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of Unesco World Heritage City of Georgetown. We serve lunch and dinner with a full bar that opens daily from 12noon. Our 8 guest rooms with ensuite bathrooms are tastefully furnished and affordable. Enjoy a drink and dance to the swaying beats of the ground floor bar with our resident DJ spinning up-to-date and retro hits nightly on weekends, or live-band performances on Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursdays, or savour of a meal at the ground-floor cafe/restaurant in a heritage setting adorned by rare Peranakan embroidery, ancestral portraits, period furniture, and vibrant colours of the Baba Nyonya culture mixed with an eclectic European influence that will leave you spellbound. Our theme is dedicated to the love of Peranakan Heritage, Chinoiserie and an eclectic mix of European influences. We celebrate with whimsical contrasts of colours on our walls and decor, characterized by the use of fanciful imagery of fantastical China mixed in with our simple passion for bits of retro. While we distract you with movement and lively colours like turquoise, pink, magenta, orange and yellow, let it not take you away from our equally welcoming offers of our menu. Hailing from the Netherlands, Chef Mathijs Nanne specialises in European cuisine, using a wide array of local herbs and spices that create a unique blend of flavours. We are 22,000 square feet, one of the very few properties on Lebuh Chulia with a private car park for house guests and diners. You may be in the mood for a coffee, cold beer, cocktail or wine but whatever it is drop by for a visit and get to know us better. You may not know this but Penangites believe music was born on our streets. We offer a Jazz Bar dishing out Jazz, Blues, Broadway and Retro favourites. We also have a resident DJ on weekends who spins dance tunes that will make you tap your feet or dance the night away, let DJ Shan take you away. If you prefer to chillax in the Peranakan Lounge or watch the world go by on the street side al fresco we will let you. Whatever the mood you are in, Chulia Court will make it a unique experience for you, your family or friends.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This place looked good from the outside and inside didn't disappoint! We had been missing a bottle of wine and some Western food so here we indulged ourselves in a lovely bottle of Aussie house wine and dishes of pasta, utter bliss! My only whinge would be for pudding we chose a piece of cheesecake from the cake display. I expected this to arrive on a plate with some cream or ice cream and a pretty drizzle of sauce, but instead it was just plonked on a plate sitting on its paper wrapper, disappointing. Not a great end to an otherwise lovely meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank SuzannahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

In the middle of the chulia street, this is a place to go for a couple of drinks and relax in the retro ambience and decor. This is rather a fine dining than a back packer place so be prepared to shell out more than a road side eatery. Good service and food overall.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank KS1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Penang, known around the globe for foodies, is famous for inventive street food. Georgetown has little India and China town but there are also influences from Thailand and other parts of Southeast Asia. To cater to all tastes, many non-ethnic restaurants serve simple foods like burgers, fish and chips, soups and chowders. Chilies offers a good range of western dishes but also Lhaksa. My waiter suggested the Crab Lhaksa....and I was impressed. At first I thought it was lacking something but with every bite, the flavours became more potent and unique. Perfect spices, noodles were done the right way. I was sold. Of course the quaint ambience added to the meal and having full bar and coffee service were bonuses. I am now a fan!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank GuyoftheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Chulia Court, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you GuyoftheGlobe for your positive review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the Chulia Court experience and loved the Crab Laksa which is our house specialty. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to serving you again. Once again thank you for your custom and for recommending us to other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Chulia Court Tavern - Where East Meets West
Located in the heart of Georgetown, Chulia Court Tavern feels like an oasis, nestled amidst the local hustle and bustle of everyday Georgetown life and provides a refreshingly unique pit-stop for backpackers, locals and expats like me. Exotic ornamental Peranakan décor, tastefully blended with Parisian style murals, perfectly matches the theme, pictured on their façade – Where East meets West.
Chulia Court Tavern is a unique fusion restaurant, club-bar and hotel, expertly run and managed by Mr Taskin Prodhan Shabuj, offering a 5* service.
By day, I love sitting outside the Tavern, listening to sophisticated Jazz music, sipping a hot cappuccino, cool crisp beer or smooth glass of red wine, whilst reading or writing, watching the locals going about their daily lives. As the evening draws to a close, the music steps up a notch and there is a live solo vocalist/ acoustic guitarist, performing various popular song classics – For me, it’s the best time to try one of their tasty bites! Chulia Court lives up to its reputation of being the best Penang Asam Laksa Restaurant and the house specialty, the mouth-wateringly delicious Crab Laksa, is certainly worth trying. They also provide a delicious array of sumptuous bites from a small but succulent selection of “Gastro-Pub” delights to Classic Western dishes for the less culinary adventurous.
At night, it miraculously transforms into a cool, trendy club, DJs spinning the decks till the early hours and it’s extremely popular with young locals, tourists and backpackers.
Chulia Court is my favourite place on earth! It is a truly unique and stylish venue, with quality Cuisine from both Eastern and Western corners of the globe and offers a highly professional and attentive service all-round. 5* experience at a budget to suit everyone – I cannot recommend this place enough.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vlm656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Chulia Court, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you very much vlm656 for your 5 star review. We are most happy to know that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Once again thank you for your custom and for recommending us to other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

The only fundamentally racist place I’ve found in Penang. Apparently it’s equal for everyone and it’s one in one out but 10 locals can leave and then 10 locals behind you in the cue can walk past you and go in, but no white people. Hmmm strange... I’d accept it if we were wasted and acting disrespectful but we did nothing at all, just cued to get in and weren’t allowed for no reason at all. Sure this review will put off white/western people but in all honesty they won’t care cos they don’t let them in anyway

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank DarrenS1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Chulia Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

We are definitely not racist. We are a business that is situated in an area where most potential customers are foreigners from all walks of life and ethnicity. If we were racists we would not have survived. What we are is actually the most popular bar/club in the vicinity hence the increasing calls for boycott and adverse publicity fabricated by jealous competitors who are not capable of better than to create fake bad publicity whenever and wherever they can. We do not choose our customers except those who prefer to buy their drinks from nearby convenience stores and come in only to dance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chulia Court also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Chulia Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing