We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great falafel and friendly vibe”
Review of Reggae Club

Reggae Club
Ranked #258 of 1 155 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian, Thai, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: The Original Reggae Bar in Penang est 1993.The best meeting point for back packers and reggae lovers.Friendly staff, good food, cool ambience and positive vibration.The BEST bistro for a BUDGET price ! It's a WORLD WITHOUT STRANGERLOVE ALL! FEED ALL!
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Came here for some food and drinks with my partner... where she was greeted with free drinks for ladies til 9pm! Our aim was to get some falafel wraps (great vegan option in Penang), which were delicious! We ended staying a bit longer as the drinks and music were decent! Lots of reggae and some live music after a while.

The staff were very friendly and were keen for people to get together and make friends. My partner and I were looking for a quieter time, so that killed our vibe a bit. But if you’re looking to meet new people this is a good place to go!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018

I stayed in Penang for 10 days and came here 5 nights! The owner is so lovely and goes out of his way to include those sitting alone, or bring groups together. This is a great place to meet people, or just grab some drinks (free for ladies from 5pm-9pm - vodka sprite or rum and coke)

The falafel card outside is TO DIE FOR

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jessicaledrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Great music, great service and 2 cute little dogs. The owner was very attentive and ladies get free unlimited drinks from 6-9pm. Great way to start your night. Also make sure to try the falafel stand right in front it is simply amazing.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Maria Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

From the outside it looked like a really nice place to have a drink. However, once we entered I was greeted with 'what exactly do you want'. And I said sorry I just wanted to look at your menu. The waiter then rolled his eyes and said okay. We ordered and the waiter once again rolled his eyes and walked off. Not sure we even ordered properly at this point but the drinks we mentioned were slapped down. I never leave nasty reviews, ever. But this is the worst hospitality we have came across in south east Asia and we have been travelling for 7 months now in the region. It's not that cheap, and the hospitality is rubbish. If your looking for a good night out and fun this is not the place to go.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank amy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Great place to sit outside and watch world go by. Got a great buzz about it and fun music. The owner Paul is great. The falafel stand outside is also incredible. Music is always chilled!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank chrissym279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reggae Club also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Reggae Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing