We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5 409)
Filter reviews
5 409 results
Traveller rating
2 389
1 980
629
245
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 389
1 980
629
245
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainforest chalet oriental village beach restaurant shuttle service thai restaurant dayang cafe cable car premier chalet shuttle bus family chalet private beach on stilts sea view sky bridge flying lemurs main lobby our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 5 409 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This hotel is on the west side of Langkawi and pretty much on its own. The hotel is along the coast but not much of a beach and in forest area. You need to be objective that the pathways will have leaves but they are cleared regularly. There are lots of mosquitoes but use the repellant and you'll be fine.

It's a huge resort so to get around they have shuttles which you can book and usually not more than a 5 minute wait (either in the lobby or from your room).

There is a nicely laid out and big lobby to give it that 5 star feel.

We were originally booked in a Rainforest Chalet which was nice and clean but the position of the chalet was such that the heavy thunderstorms made water come in through the front door. However, excellent service from the staff to instantly move and upgrade us to a Premier Chalet, which was lovely.

The Premier Chalet is a very big room with lots of space. Satellite TV but not very clear. Bathroom has two sinks, tub and separate shower room. The room was dated a little but it was clean and well maintained. I noticed that in some reviewes people have made complaints about seeing the odd bugs but be objective that the hotel is in the rainforest so you will get the odd tiny bugs in the sink (you couldn't really see them). We did see a gekko in the room but these are harmless and just stick to the walls. Don't let this be a deterrent. Bed was fine and we slept comfotably with air con. I always have an issue at hotels with shower pressure but no such problems at this hotel.

Breakfast is excellent with a vast buffet selection and fresh omelettes made on request. No complaints here.

Unfortunately due to the bad weather we didn't use the pool so can't comment.

We did watch a World Cup game at th sports bar which had good quality drinks and not expensive. I paid 20 ringgit (about £3.80) for two drinks during a happy hour.

As for location I wanted to be closer to Pentai Cenang where there are some bars and many restaurants but the decent hotels there were much higher in price (about £300 more). Berjaya is about 20 mins by taxi from Pentai Cenang and the taxis in Langkawi are fixed price. It's 35 ringgit (£6.70) one way to Pentai Cenang so even with the cost of the taxi it's worth staying at Berjaya as opposed to paying a higher amount to stay at Meritus or Casa del Mar in Pentai Cenang. However, it was cheap for a Rainforest Chalet, the other rooms are much more expensive.

Berjaya is also located right next to the cable car (5-10 min walk from hotel lobby). The cable car is in a complex called the 'oriental village' whhich has some shops, a duty free shop (this was the cheapest we saw on the isalnd) a few places to eat and a couple of attractions including the cable car. Cable Car & Skybridge are worth it and a must. So handy being right next door to the hotel.

The Seven Wells waterfall is also right near the cable car and a very short taxi ride away. As you will look to take dip at the waterfall it is handy to be close to the hotel.

As for food, we only had dinner once at the hotel at the Pahn Thai restaurant. Leaving a separate review for that but majorly disappointing on food. Had some excellent food in Langkawi but this is disappointing.

Where this hotel really is 5 star is the service. Everybody smiles and engages in conversation with you. It's nice to be asked how your day was and so on. We found the staff to be really attentive to our needs and just above and beyond on service. There are security posts throughout the resort and they will always welcome you and investigate if your shuttle is taking too long. Even with our room issue it was dealt with quickly and at no hassle to ourselves. They told us to go for dinner and it would be sorted by the time we got back, which it was. Every day small snacks are left in your room just as an extra and its these small extra touches that make a difference.

Berjaya is an excellent choice as it's competitively priced and you'r right next to the cable car and waterfall, which are two of the main must sees.

Tips:
Don't prebook a transfer from/to the airport as the taxis at the airport are cheap and it's fixed price. Think it was was about 35 ringgit (£6.70). The hotel will charge you a lot more and there's no need. Taxi rank is clearly visible at the airport exit.

Download the app Grab which i an equivalent to Uber and works in Singapore and Malaysia amongst some of the other Asian countries. Grab is a bit cheaper such as to Pentai Cenang it was less than 30 ringgit. I was using Grab and you don't have to upload you card on the app because you can opt to pay by cash.

Buy Tiger Balm mosquito repellant. Having been to this part of the world many times I can tell you that this stuff works. Was only bitten twice in areas where I had missed spraying. It does smell a bit (only when you put it on) ut it works.

Exchange the bulk of your cash in Langkawi as you'll get a much better rate. Obviously take some from your base country (UK for me) but the bulk do abroad. However, if you get a travel mastercard (Post Office or Halifax) this will have no fees and mastercard will always give you the best exchange rate but always opt to pay in the local currency when paying by card.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Suraj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShuminNair, Public Relations Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Suraj G,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort!

Thank you for taking time to leave such a comprehensive review and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. Wow! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Resort and also all the beautiful things that Langkawi has to offer.

With your review on our Tripadvisor page here this gives a better understanding of our resort for the travelers whom are making plans for a vacation at our resort soon.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

N.Shumindhran Nair
Public Relations Manager
Email: langkawi.rsvn@berjayahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Although this resort is 20 years old and looking a bit rustic and in need of some refurbishment, everything else about this resort is excellent.The systems that are in place to make such a large resort run like clockwork cannot be faulted.The staff are very well trained and extremely polite, the food is very good no matter where you eat although I did take a fancy to the Thai restaurant set over the water.Breakfast was always something to look forward to and the staff at the Beach Brasserie which we attended every morning, were just delightful and made the start of each day something to look forward to.
We had high expectations of this resort as it was a very long awaited and special holiday for my partner and I and it was so important to both of us that this was an experience that we would remember for years to come.Let me say the Berjaya did not disappoint.
Our thanks go to the management and staff for making our first holiday together one that we will never forget. We were so grateful for our upgrade to the Premier Chalet which made our experience even more special and will have no hesitation in returning for another stay.
Thank you from Greg and Cathy Room 1246 stayed June 8th -18th 2018

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShuminNair, Public Relations Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Greg N,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort!

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are so happy that you found yourself comfortable during your visit and that you enjoyed the amenities and what our resort has to offer.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon on your next visit!

Best regards,

N.Shumindhran Nair
Public Relations Manager
Email : langkawi.rsvn@berjayahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stayed at the Berjaya Langkawi Resort Malaysia for 11 nights last May 2018.
We chose the resort from the travel brochure. The resort didn't disappoint, it was a wonderful experience. We decided to stay in a chalet that was out over the Andaman sea , similar to the Maldives concept. Sitting on our balcony sipping afternoon cocktails as the sea gently flowed beneath us on its way to the shore was so relaxing and wonderful.
we were welcomed to the resort by the happy, warm and extremely hospitable admin staff. nothing was a bother as they answered our questions and directed us how to find the many restaurants and bars that the resort has nestled in the tropical jungle, poolside, as well as the beach bar. Our over the water chalet was large and well appointed. We received a bowl of fruit and a chocolate mud cake in the form of a heart with "Happy Honeymoon" written across the cake, which was absolutely delicious to eat. Every late afternoon a staff member would deliver a small box of sweet treats. The Resort and the chalets were spotlessly clean as were the surrounding tropical gardens, paths and bitumen roads. The resort had many daily and nightly manned security posts throughout the resort. A 24 hour shuttle service is provided for guests to move to and from their accommodation villas throughout the resort, and would add that they take only a few minutes to arrive at your door. All staff were courteous and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable for all the right reasons. We were sad to leave the Island and return home. I would also like to write that the island is relaxed, laid back and not overly Westernised which is an idyllic refreshing change..

Room Tip: over the Andaman sea is ideal, or you may like to be in the tropical jungle surrounded by the birds and the monkeys
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diva763844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShuminNair, Public Relations Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Diva763844,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort!

Thank you for selecting our resort for recent stay.

It's a pleasure to read that you found our location ideal to your vacation exploration and the attention provided by the staff excellent! Service and attention to our guest's needs is a must for us that is why we ensure all guests have a great memorable experience with us.

We are delighted to know that we had ensured you left happy. Should your travels return you to Langkawi Island, we would love to welcome you back to our resort again!

All the best,

N.Shumindhran Nair
Public Relations Manager
Email : langkawi.rsvn@berjayahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I was a bit apprehensive having read some of the mixed reviews but I am extremely glad I booked. The backdrop is truly spectacular, with the resort in the middle of a lush green rainforest sandwiched between the mountains and the ocean. You can either stay at a rainforest chalet or the more expensive water chalet. The property is massive and includes a free shuttle to get around. The log cabin we stayed at was more rustic than luxurious but it was clean and comfortable. Wifi was good.

The facilities are great, with a well-designed pool area and a long stretch of private white sandy beach. Breakfast is extensive and of good quality. The hotel appears isolated but is only 15 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of the cable car. It is very easy to get around Langkawi from here. Just download the Grab app - the local equivalent of Uber. There are plenty of Grab taxis waiting around the resort and we never had to wait more than 1 minute for one to appear.

Nearby food options are fairly limited but there is a cheap food court with good local food next to the cable car ticket booth. Keep in mind that this food court closes at 5pm which means that you will have to plan for dinner either at the resort or a 30 minute taxi ride away at Cenang Beach.

I would highly recommend asking for a room close to the lobby. Ours was pretty far away and we were completely reliant on the shuttle to get around the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank W0lfpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShuminNair, Public Relations Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear W0lfpac,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort!

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay overall and enjoyed our hospitality too.

We emphasize on meeting guest needs and requirements by providing an at home feeling and thus enabling us to fulfill such experience for our guests. We are certainly very glad that you are satisfied and we will continue to do our best in ensuring a memorable stay for you and all our other guests as well.

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Langkawi and we look forward in welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

N.Shumindhran Nair
Public Relations Manager
Email : langkawi.rsvn@berjayahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This is our first visit to the lovely island and hotel.
Our stay has been superb.
The chalet was clean and all amenities catered for.
Varied hotel restaurants, had excellent menus.
All superb service.

Stayed: June 2018
3  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShuminNair, Public Relations Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Janet H,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort!

Thank you so much for your recent stay and positive review posted here.

We are happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and looking forward to be able to serve you again in future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with your future bookings.

Thank you!

Regards,

N.Shumindhran Nair
Public Relations Manager
Email: langkawi.rsvn@berjayahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews