We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Casa Mia Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Blantyre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casa Mia offers a menu with a variety of pasta dishes, and house specialities inspired from the European continent. Our menu also includes some of the best steaks available in Malawi . The restaurant is well situated in a quiet suburb close to Blantyre city center and has accommodation and conferencing facilities.
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night at Casa Mia and ate in the restaurant for dinner. Both the service from staff and the food was very good. Food was fresh and well cooked. They have a lovely veranda outside where you can also eat.

The place has issues with mosquitos which is quite distracting when you are trying to eat.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 2Loula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018


Thanks very much for your review of our restaurant, we are glad you enjoyed the food and our staff served you well. We do spray for mosquito's every 4 to six weeks. Unfortunately this is an Africa problem and definitely not specific to our premises, we do everything in our power to control, when the weather starts to heat up, as is the case in the past two weeks,mosquito's tend to increase everywhere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018

We had not gone to Casa Mia for while and we were surprised with the renovation. The restaurante lost its charm and now looks more like a fast food restaurant then the elegant restaurant it use to be. The acoustic got worse and makes it difficult to talk in a larger group. The food continues to be good, the selection of wines has deteriorated.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ana Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Must have been quite a while, the renovations were completed in January this year. Unfortunately we just cant please everyone, the restaurant was renovated at great expense and the response from our customers, both old and new, has been overwhelmingly positive.
The wines on our menu continually change in line with what is available in the market and customer trends/preferences, we therefore cant guarantee that what you consumed 2 years ago will still be available today

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

When in Malawi make sure to have some chambo, the local fish. If in Blantyre make sure to have the chambo at Casa Mia.

I had the chambo and prawns and it was amazing!!!! Oh my goodness the veggies were cooked to perfection and the fish and prawns were so good, well seasoned and fresh!

I also had tnx first taste of MGT, Malawi gin and tonic which was very good.

The service was a bit on the slow side despite it being a school night and the restaurant not being full.

Overall though the experience was a good one and the food was amazing!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sunshine0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Wonderful, we are so happy you had a great time and hope you will visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

I recommend the fish, but I also enjoyed the burgers and they had a variety of tasty vegetarian options. Service was friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Rosalind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Your review is much appreciated and we will continue to strive to offer great food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Went here for a business lunch. The food was good. but not as amazing as it used to be in years gone by. The biggest weak point though was the service. Considering how quiet the place was, the fact it took over 30mins to get our food, only for the fries to be cold was a disappointment.
The rest of the food was OK.
And I can say that it is generally good value for money.
My colleague spoke highly of their wine selection, which I feel is also worth a mention.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank chiku265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks so much for your review, I am sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations and we will strive to improve our service levels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Mia Restaurant also viewed

Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 

Been to Casa Mia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing