We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
525
93
13
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
525
93
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool the river game drives elephants walking guide james lunch and dinner resident elephants bull elephant spacious tents dining area after dark close to nature each morning hot water ewaso nyiro river wildlife viewing cool down
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2019

We adore staying in Elephant Bedroom. Where else can you get elephants wandering close by your lunch table or right by your tent!! On top of that, the staff are lovely and attentive, the food is amazing, and the camp is right in the heart of Samburu reserve so it is easy to see a wealth of other animals. This time we saw at least two different leopards several times, lions with two small babies, cheetah with small babies and another with larger babies, a caracal (!wow!), and of course the amazing elephants. Get up early, go out as early as your driver will take you (we always left at 6am) and you stand a good chance of being the only car watching a pride of lions or a strolling leopard. There are several elephants which visit the camp regularly (including Obama who comes several times a day and always seems to interrupt lunch), but this time we also had a group of other elephants who came to drink in the river with a small baby, and they walked right by our tent. Make sure you always zip and lock the tent, even when you are in it, as the monkeys stole my bag of tea bags one afternoon while I was asleep and my husband popped in to use the bathroom! Our only complaint is the rubbish WiFi which meant we had to pay our bill in dollars instead of by credit card as the machine didn't work. Luckily we had enough with us. I hope to be back again one day.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Elephant Bedroom Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review of our camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was as always a pleasure hosting you. A quick note - we are actively working on improving internet connectivity and hope to have it addressed soon. This will make it easier to use your credit card. It is our hope that you will allow us to host you again for the fourth time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019

We arrived at the local airstrip to be met by Samuel the Driver and Peter the trainee Guide in a great spacious 4 WD vehicle. The welcoming hospitality set the bar high for the next few days - they were professional, informative and so enthusiastic. The next few days with Peter and Anthony on all our animal drives were simply exciting, positive and a complete success story with regards to so many animal sightings and education of the area and animal behaviour. All the staff at the Elephant bedroom camp were charming - they were professional, discreet and nothing was too much - the beautiful rooms, the attentive service, the guards minding for Elephants and other animals coming through the camp at night and as well the local monkeys were kept at bay by a local sling shot staff member - all making our family stay just wonderful. The families of elephants walking past on the river bank will always be a precious memory. The food and the drink, the sundowner pre dinner drinks venue, and Jack our table waiter moving furniture regularly to allow for the downpours of rain and then bursts of fine weather but always providing us, his guests with the best possible! Credit to all involved.

Room tip: Pretty sure all villas have same river aspect which is the way to be!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Elephant Bedroom Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thank you for your amazing a detailed review of our camp. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a please for us to host you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

This is a tricky one. The staff at the camp were wonderful and the food was very good, but the whole place would benefit from a complete refurbishment, including the jeeps.

The communal area where you eat had a selection of chairs and sofas all with cushions that looked as if the covers hadn't been washed for weeks. Fortunately the tents were clean, but again needed refurbishment. Our toilet sat at a strange skewed angle and our shower was dark and dribbled water, often cold.

The main annoyance was that the camp is poured by a generator which is switched off at certain times during the day, even when you're in camp between game drives. Why on earth isn't there solar power like the other place we stayed on this trip?

The other annoyance was the need to tip everyone. It's not that I object to tipping but there are just so many - guide, spotter, waiter and then the gratuities box at the end. I'd much rather this was one payment at the end of your stay.

The jeep used on our game drives was the oldest we've seen and our original driver left halfway through our stay to go to Nairobi to pick up a new one. Your relationship with your guide on a safari is quite a close one so to lose a guide we were happy with to be replaced with another was irritating and has never happened to us before on the ten safaris we've done previously.

Again the staff were helpful and friendly but it didn't really compensate for the other issues. I'm giving the different categories 4 stars which should be seen as three for the physical property and five for the staff.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moraig30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Elephant Bedroom Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thank you for your detailed review of our camp, it is unfortunate that your stay at our camp did not meet your expectations. I would however like to inform you that we are in the process of refurbishing all our guest tents as well as the communal area. We are also acquiring a solar system to reduce our reliance of the generator and provide power on a 24 hour basis. On the issue of tipping we do encourage our guests to use the gratuities box and avoid tipping individual staff, it appears this was not communicated to you, our apologies.

We also do apologise for the change in guides mid stream. We take all comments from our guests very seriously, rest assured that all the issues that you have raised are being looked into with a view to addressing them. We would appreciate it if you were to visit us again in future to see the changes that we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

This was the first stop of our 2 centre safari holiday and it was incredible from start to finish. The staff at elephant Bedroom Camp looked after us so well. Our waiter Raephal, guard Lucas and everyone else. The tents were so well equipped, we had everything we needed. It was fantastic to see the animals at the camp, the elephants who had a great sense of timing and just seemed to know when it was meal time! The monkeys kept us on our toes! The tents have padlocks for a reason!! But they were very entertaining. The food was always delicious..... especially loved the pancakes at breakfast!
The game drives were just amazing.....so exciting .....so a special thank you to Julius and Sanika..the fun started when they met us at the airfield and drove to the camp, we saw so many different animals. Each time we went out it was fantastic....we got close to the animals and even got to see the African wild dogs....twice! Julius and Sanika were great at spotting the wildlife and their knowledge was incredible. They were great fun to be with and we enjoyed every minute. We have come home with lovely memories and amazing photographs. So thank you to all at Elephant Bedroom Camp for all you did!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SRH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
judebaraza, Operations Manager at Elephant Bedroom Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thank you for your amazing and detailed review of our camp. We are glad to you chose to stay with us and give us the chance to be your hosts. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we sincerely hope that you will visit us in the near future and enable us host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

We arrived here from Meru National Park & was greeted at the Airstrip by our Guide & Driver Julius & his Trainee assistant Saniki. It was an Hour drive to the Camp & part of it was through the Reserve, saw some game on the drive & was greeted at the Entrance by a Majestic Tusker. meet & greet was short & sweet & we were taken to our Tent to freshen up & Then Lunch. The tent was spacious & had a Plunge Pool on the deck. Again we spent 3 nights here,& the food was amazing had a Choice of at least 3 entrees for each meal with a Soup ,salad & Dessert...Very Tasty Food. The game drives here were Fantastic ,Our Guide Julius was just amazing with his knowledge of the wildlife ,mixed in with his sense of humour ,kept us all excited & amused, we saw the Big Five & the "Cat Trick " twice ( Lion, Leopard & Cheetah )...along with herds of Elephants , & one group with a 24 hr. old Baby ,also some Lion & Cheetah Kills...eating , not the actual Kill . The campsite has a Regular Visitor named Obama, a Mature Male Elephant that visits daily, walks through the camp to feed on his fave Duo Palm Nut's.On one occassion my wife was actually in the Plunge pool when Obama walked by a mere 3 feet away....Amazing Sight. Thanks once again to Julius for his expert Guide services & Knowledge of the Park & Its Inhabitants. We will never forget the experience.

Room tip: All rooms face the River
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amosogole, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Bedroom Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation of our Camp, we value your feedback and we are glad you chose to stay with us on your safari we look forward to host you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews