We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Gem of a Place”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Kisii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem of a Place”
Reviewed 17 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Himaya House - a gem of a place! We spent four relaxing nights here in July. The house and staff more than lived up to the photos and reviews we had read. Definitely 5*! The location is absolutely stunning - beautiful beaches to each side of the property. Also, we didn’t get pestered by beach boys when they saw us come out of the private little wooden door onto the beach.

The staff were very attentive but not at all intrusive. We liked that. They were always on hand but very discreet. We woke one morning to see our rather dusty car (having come all the way from Kisiiland on the other side of Kenya) being washed. We made use of Sammy for shopping and cooking. He made breakfast each morning - with lovely fruit salads. We had read about his prawn curry in the reviews. We were only at Himaya for four nights but we had prawn curry, rice and spicy vegetables twice! Sammy also made us a tasty chicken dinner with roast potatoes and salad. (We also had an evening meal at The Baby Marrow which was excellent. The meal at the Old Man and the Sea wasn’t as good, but it was cheaper.) The weather wasn’t great and the staff were continually moving the sun bed cushions in and out as the showers came and went. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The damp and unsettled weather didn’t dampen our break.

As for the house itself, it was very roomy, comfortable and tastefully furnished. We loved it. The new bathrooms were luxurious - we hope the property photos on the internet sites will be updated. (NB. “C” on the shower taps isn’t “C” for cold. “F” is the cold tap and “C” is the hot tap). The uninterrupted sea view from the dining area on the verandah and the main house bedroom and bathroom was beautiful. The pool area was also really nice - the pool being a good size - and the planting up the steps and around the separate bungalow was really pretty.

Although there seems to be plenty to see and do around the area, we spent most of our short time at the house, relaxing in the lovely surroundings.

We were sorry that Lissa was away when we came. We hope very much to meet her another time. She was so helpful on the telephone and made the whole booking process so easy for us. She has a gem of a home. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Himaya to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janecayma...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! Exceeded all our expectations... a private paradise”
Reviewed 16 August 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in March and could not have had a better time, we have stayed in Kenya before but this was our best experience to date. The house was amazing and set in its own mature private tropical garden on the headland with the most amazing places to sit and take in the beach and bay underneath. Hammocks, sofas, private pool, verandas even the baths had amazing views out to the horizon.. unreal. The staff were friendly and really accommodating, fresh fish to order, local specialities from the market and great insight into the local culture. Lisse was welcoming and helpful and was a joy to meet. We would thoroughly recommend Himaya as a place to stay, dream and enjoy :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing location
Liked least: going home!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari_Fa...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treasure in Malindi”
Reviewed 2 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Over the years we stayed at several resorts and rental homes up and down the Kenyan coast. We can confidently say that Himaya House is one the very nicest places we've stayed. Being budget minded travelers and traveling with friends we were having a difficult time finding a vacation spot along this coast until we came across Himaya House. We took a chance staying someplace new. Are we ever glad we did. Lissa was such a gracious host and just doted on our children. They regaled her with all of their adventures up and down the beach, snorkeling with the fish and surfing in the waves. She even ooh'ed and ahh'ed as they demonstrated their swimming prowess.

The staff were excellent and attentive. Sammy was an amazing cook and made wonderful dishes every meal. Our 4 year old son even "helped" Sammy in the kitchen a time or two. He was so patient and kind with the kids. Kombe, Silas, and Dominic were also very hospitable, welcoming and attentive.

The rooms, grounds, and homes were immaculate and well kept. We spent most of the days lounging by the pool. With the exception of s short walk down the road to the Crocodile and Snake Park, (recommended for families with children.) our kids loved it. The view from the coral cliffs was breath taking. The ocean breeze in the afternoon was refreshing. And the private access to beach below was a blessing with small children. No wandering off to the beach alone. At low tide the cove was a the perfect place for small swimmers to explore. Lots of crabs, little fish and sea critters to be found and examined. Just a short boat ride away is the beautiful Marine Park which all of our kids enjoyed.

Next trip to Malindi we will definitely check for availability at Himaya House first.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jax02
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“A Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in July 2010

What a wonderful time that was had by me and my family in Malindi. We stayed at the Himaya House on the strong recommendations of our friends, and we were definitely thankful for the time spent here. We had previously visited Mailindi on our honeymoon about 8 years ago, but stayed elsewhere, and did not have as great a time. But this time, staying at a new place, with wonderful staff, a beautiful location, it was hard to say good bye.

We never lacked for activities. The immaculately maintained pool was much used; frolics down to the beach to swim or play on the beautiful sandy beach; boat rides and snorkelling around the coral reef; shopping in town; or simply lounging on a hammock while enjoying the scenes of the coast. Whether it was adventure or downtime, you could find much to do to enjoy your stay.

The service was outstanding. We found the rooms and grounds immaculately maintained. The staff was also very discreet, and never in the way and never intruding on our time around the Himaya House. Our own needs were always attended to promptly and most often without us asking. The employees were very friendly, and were all present to great us upon our arrival and departure. Being vegetarians, we found that staying in to eat our meals the way to go. The meals that were prepared by the chef were very inventive, delicious and truly catered to our tastebuds and needs. I don't think we could have had better elsewhere. And the owner, Lissa, was also a great font of information on things to do. Lissa makes sure that her visitors have their needs met, and makes you feel like family.

Himaya House is a place you can stay at whether you are on a romantic getaway, or on a family vacation with children. We travelled with two kids(ages 3 and 5) and they had a fabulous time. They were very sad to leave, especially since they loved swimming in the pool, swimming in the ocean, and playing in the sand--they were never bored. And the views from Himaya House are unparalled in Malindi, especially being up in a cliff, with the beach just steps away. A very romantic location and place(almost wish we had gone here on our honeymoon...).

We will definitely return here next time we visit Kenya. You will not be disappointed with Himaya House!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mopti1991
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heavenly Himaya House”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in July 2010

After our holiday at Himaya House, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Stunning panoramic ocean views, wonderful Kenyan hospitality, being able to choose between swimming in the beautiful pool or the sea (the beach being accessed via the property's private pathway) all combine to make this an exceptional holiday home. The rooms are both large and sea-facing - and have verandas - so wherever you are on the property you are afforded a breathtaking vista. The garden with its palms, ferns, baobabs, desert roses, bougainvillea and hibiscus add to the magic and colour of this very special place. And we were so well looked after; the laundry, cleaning and cooking were all done for us, with Sam producing one absolutely delicious meal after another. Silas and Kombe - along with Sam - made sure everything was taken care of during our stay. They couldn't be nicer or more welcoming. Himaya benefits enormously from having Lissa, the owner, living in her own home on the property. She maintains the house, pool and garden to a very high standard but never intrudes on her guests' privacy. If you seek her help or advice she is more than happy to do whatever possible for you, and it is well worth asking her about where to go in Malindi. The town is a few minutes taxi or tuktuk ride away, and provides a bustling contrast to the tranquility of Himaya with a mix of grocery and fabric shops, cafes, restaurants and hotels side by side with stalls and market streets. The beaches offer watersports ( we only went goggling), glassbottom or old sailing boat trips, and we also really enjoyed a trip further afield to the historic site at Gede. We would unreservedly recommend Himaya House and can't wait to go back for what we are sure will be another perfect holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing