We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
156
29
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
29
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews internet connection mango juice french fries self catering pool staff hidden gem heaven on earth home away from home three nights valerio naumi beach purity accommodation housekeeping coast diani
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

I'm not sure why there is such a downturn in tourism in Malindi/Mambrui, but the local industry's loss could be your gain if you are looking for peace and quiet, empty beaches and friendly people. This is a very comfortable hotel right on the beach, and all the staff are charming and helpful. When I was there, I was the only guest which was a little strange, but if you are coming from a busy place, this could be just what you are looking for. They say that things get busy in December but when I was there in August it was absolutely empty. Perfect place to write your novel. The room I had was comfortable and had a/c, mosquito net, mini fridge and nice veranda. The food was good, but a little pricy in my opinion compared to the value of the room. I don't think there are any food alternatives close by either. The beaches are wide and empty. They told me that it's not advised to swim in front of the hotel due to rocks/coral on the bottom, but a swimming beach is a 5 minute boda boda drive (or 1 hour walk) up the coast in front of Chez Shale, where you can also take kite surfing lessons. Tourism here was built by the Italians (many of the local people speak Italian), and some say the downturn in the Italian economy has had a huge impact on the area. Maybe more people choose to go to Mombassa/Diani now. I don't know, but without the tourists you see daily local life on the beach: people collecting firewood, digging for crabs to use for bait, and fishing. A very few beach boys who want to sell you safari trips, snorkeling trips at the marine park in Malindi etc., but they are low-pressure and pleasant to talk to.

The pool is nice and the lounge chairs around the pool are comfortable. The staff are very attentive and good natured. I had the best piña colada in my life there. Breakfast was fantastic. Wifi is ok, some locations better than others.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor (216?) that had a huge veranda overlooking the pool and the ocean. A/C, mini fridge, mosquito net and large bed.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fraustok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolabeachResort, Direttore generale at Kola Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback. Looking forward to host you soon again here at Kola Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

The best 5 star hotel to be in malindi.very friendly, helpful staff,good food,awesome breakfast and cocktails tooi will definitely visit again,trust me nothing to complain about for the 4 days i was there.right next to the beach.The only thing is if you can have bottled water for your guest daily.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank victorianjoki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolabeachResort, Direttore generale at Kola Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hello Victoria. Thank you for your amazing feedback. Well noted about the water. Kindly note we serve jugs of mineral water, it's not not tap water of course.
Looking forward to host you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

The management was very friendly, all the facilities were on point and the beach was also very clean . It’s a very nice resort located in a hidden gem which is Mambrui and totally worth it all in all.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank odongosharize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolabeachResort, Direttore generale at Kola Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi Sharize, thank you for your feedback and for having been with us. Looking forward to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Resort located in a quiet neighbourhood...peace of mind
Friendly staff
Rooms are fairly large with soft lighting, air-conditioning & clean bathrooms
Dining area has spectacular view of the ocean & beach

Room Tip: Wi-fi signals are weak and no TV's in the rooms. Carry books to read.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamboafrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolabeachResort, Direttore generale at Kola Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
Looking forward to host you soon again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, peaceful and relaxing.the restaurant is exceptional,the food was absolutely wonderful,from preparation to presentation.the rooms were clean,our beddings and towels were regularly replaced with cleaned ones.⭐⭐⭐⭐you should also try improve alitle bit on the veranda and the sofas.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great stay,good food and very good hospitality for newly married couple,this is the perfect placelastly thanks to all the staff and the team manager for the excellent service and making my stay really good,comfortable and enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Esther F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolabeachResort, Direttore at Kola Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Hosting you Was a great pleasure and we hope to see you soon again.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews