We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Safari off the beaten path”
other travellers have booked this property
Wide open spaces in the savannah below Mt Kilimanjaro
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wide open spaces in the savannah below Mt Kilimanjaro
The deck offering views over the Amboseli plains Tent 3 - King Bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Wide open spaces in the savannah below Mt Kilimanjaro
The deck offering views over the Amboseli plains
Tent 3 - King Bed
The lounge
Tent 1 - King Bed
Dining on the deck
Tent 2 - Queen Bed
Sundowner deck
The deck with Mt Kilimanjaro in the background.
Fantastic views on to Mt Kilimanjaro from every tent.
Tents 1 and 2 at dusk.
View from the lounge.
Wide open spaces
Road in Amboseli National Park leading to the camp.
Classic wood fired clay oven. Excellent for pizzas.
The camp has its own airstrip. Inquire about fly-in options.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Amboseli Eco-system, Rift Valley Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cielulu
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Safari off the beaten path”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed very much our stay at the private Amboseli camp, it is simple (don't except 5*) but so charming. It is great to just chill out in the open living room or to go for a game drive in the park (the camp is located +/- 15 min away). The staff was kind, especially Jerry who prepared delicious pizza with the ingredients we had brought. We exchanged whatsapps with Phil and he was very kind and helpful. Definitively, we will come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werder286
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Views of Kilimanjaro and Peace”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The camp is situated on the Amboseli road, but you turn at the Satao Eleri sign and continue up a dirt track for about 5km which was manageable in a Mitsubishi Lancer but may be more of a problem after prolonged rain.
We arrived to a slight problem as the previous guests had not left, so the Staff (Benson, Linus and Dixon) sent us to a tent so they could get the Guests on their way and clean the Deck.
There were only two of us at the camp and we took all our food but the staff did not seem sure of their role and when I did try and cook they hovered around the Kitchen, and when I asked them if they should cook and how much should I pay they suggested I pay what they were worth.
Saying that the camp facilities were spotless and fully equipped the bucket shower was filled when we requested and the two longdrops were as comfortable as long drops can be! I stayed in the furthest tent from the Kitchen next to a small airstrip , and my son in the tent nearest the Deck.
The Deck lounge dining area was lovely although it looked away from Kilimanjaro but the tents did. On our first afternoon it was cloudy, then the clouds lifted and there the mountain was in all it's glory.
Going to the toilet at night was not a problem as the camp has solar lights on the pathway. The first morning there was an elephant on the airstrip, lovely. At night I heard Lion, Hyenas and Jackal, so restful. Then the views and one of our nights there we had a supermoon.
The camp is about 23 km from Amboseli Park, although it is part of the conservancy. Birdlife is superb. At night two Masai guarded us and I was fortunate enough to be taken by one of them to the Lemongo cultural Village and the monthly cattle market where the Masai dress up in their finery to attend the market, this is not on the tourist route and to say we were in the minority would be true and photos were not allowed by many of the Masai.
All in all a good trip and something that will always be remembered.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaStev...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best value for money self-catering in Kenya”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
7
people found this review helpful

Absolutely amazing place. Tents and living room beautifully furnished. kitchen well-equipped. Just be aware that this is "glamping" (not a lodge, but so much more than camping) so no running water and long drop toilets. We knew this before we went and so had the best stay ever!
Take your own food, but the caretakers turn it into magical pizzas, wonderful roasts etc in the wood fired oven.
Loved the fact that because it is not in the NP you can Game Drive at night in your own vehicle.
All in all amazing... and for the price, doubly amazing!!! Don't tell anyone else about it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, value for money, lodge without the commercialism
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubaiWand...
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a camp”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Not wishing to stay in one of the luxury hotels that pretend to be camps, we chose this private, self catering option on the edge of Amboseli National Park for a 5 day trip.
It's beautifully tranquil, blends into the space naturally and is thoughtfully laid out with only three guest tents spaced away from each other, with the loo and bush shower further away. The staff are discreet and helpful and include some local Masai who are a fount of knowledge about local animals and plants. They heat water every day for the shower, clear dishes and are at hand whenever needed. The spectacular view of Kilimanjairo greets you in the morning and evening as the clouds clear and animals were omnipresent, which made a visit to the Reserve pointless.
As a family with three teenagers we were never bored and the prospect of choosing meals (there is an excellent wood fired pizza oven) fire building, walking and tracking or simply taking in the views occupied the days wonderfully. The tents are nicely kitted out and the beds very comfortable. Altogether an upmarket and uplifting camping experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and the night sky
Liked least: Should have stayed longer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cam023
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Safari experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Wow, this camp is very unique. If you want to be surrounded by Amboseli nature, this is the place. The animals filer thru this camp and its very safe. We had 3 -4 guides/guards/helpers at all times. We saw more giraffes here than in Amboseli, and you can get out of the car! There was a family of around 10 that filtered back and forth most days. Plus gazelle, zebras. There were many elephant tracks and a giant skeleton, but we didn’t see one.
It's like luxury camping, everything is set up, comfortable beds. We didn’t even think about a/c but this was Aug, so no need at 3500 ft elevation. It's not the Ritz, so if you are expecting that, pay $300-500 a nite for luxury tents. If you want to experience what it was like on safari with Hemmingway, then this is a place you won't soon forget. Its a bit hard to find but there is a sign for a nieghboring Camp Satao. The driveway is rough, an experience in itself, but no prob for a Rav4, which would be best if you plan to get on the less traveled roads of Amboseli

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing