We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel New Grand
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Escale Yokohama(Yokohama)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
365
384
81
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
384
81
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyamashita parkcruise terminalnew wingpre cruiseoriginal buildinggeneral macarthurchinatown stationmain buildinghigh towerbusiness loungele normandiegrand staircaselovely parkthe red brick warehousemorning walkosanbashi piercorner room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 2 days on this occasion but have stayed here for up to 3 months at a stretch previously.

Rooms are comfortable. Excellent internet connectivity. Staff always trying to please yet not intrusive. The Le Normandie on the 5th floors puts out a good spread for breakfast. Best to include breakfast in your room booking else you get charged 3900 yen per person.

Easy to connect to/from Tokyo Haneda airport by Keikyo Limousine (fare-720 yen). Bus stop is at Yamashita-cho on the seafront side of the hotel.

With regards to food, Chinatown is next door, a Starbucks is around the corner and a convenience store is located on the next street.

There is a laundromat few streets away in Chinatown where you can do a whole load for close to nothing.

Sights- where do I start, Nippon Mary, Hijawa Maru are some historic ships well preserved to this day.

Trains - the nearest subway station is Motomachi. You can connect at Yokohama to another line for Tokyo.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank Manu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Thank you very much for your patronage to Hotel New Grand.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. If you need any other assistance to your plans while you are staying with us, please do not hesitate to let the concierge know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed here pre cruise from Yokohama. Our room was on the 10th floor, quite spacious ,comfortable bed, obscured harbour view with bridge views.Everything was presented well.Staff super courteous. 5 star rating but our room I think rated at 4 star.
Meals at cafe restaurant were affordable and other restaurants a little expensive.Cheap taxi fare to cruise terminal. Buses taxis pass outside. MTR not far away.Parks across the road ,others close by.Restaurants and China town very close.
Tons of history with this hotel.We loved it and would stay again if in town.

Room Tip: Premium rooms would have premium price tag.Quality still great on partial views but cheaper
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased to know that you would stay at our hotel again. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights before a cruise. Perfect location right across from Yamashita park and 700 yen taxi ride to Osanbashi pier. There is a bus called airport limousine that goes from Narita airport to the front door of the hotel for 3600 yen and very easy and convenient if you have luggage and do not want to fight fne hassle of the less expensive trains with your luggage. 3 minute walk from hotel to Chinatown which is mostly restaurants. Also 3 minute walk to Motomachi metro station where you can connect to anywhere in the Yokohama and Tokyo area. We did not eat at the on site restaurant- there is an egg/breakfast place right next door serving breakfast foods all day long and a McDonalds next to it. We had a corner room on a high floor with panoramic views of Yokohama and the harbor- beautiful! We watched our ship sail in to port from our room the morning we boarded. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is also a half block from Yokohama tower. The room had great amenities and comfortable beds- would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Yokohama- especially before or after a cruise.

Room Tip: Book a corner room on high floor for great harbor ans city views
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank LeslieG_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your kind feedbacks. It is certainly encouraging as we aim to offer a great service experience. We hope you will continue to stay with us on future trips to Yokohama and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel New Grand soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

From the moment we arrived tilled the time we left we were treated extremely well. The New Grand Hotel is across from a park and across from the bay. It is about a block from Chinatown and lots of restaurants. If you are taking a cruise from here, the terminal is only about 15 or 20 minutes away if you walk and about 5 minutes by cab. The staff was extremely helpful with all questions. It is a great place to stay in a great location.

Room Tip: Our room was in the tower with a great view of the harbor and the night lights.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank akfishguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

We really appreciate you taking your time to let us know you enjoyed your stay so much.
We try hard to provide the best possible service to our guests and their satisfaction is our reward. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Great Hotel, Great View , Outstanding Staff and Location.
Will be my Hotel of choice when in Yokohama.
Cafe' could use some help with pricing and selection for Western visitors.
Rooms were large and comfortable for Japanese standards.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

We are so glad to read your kind comments about our staff. It is such a rewarding thing for them.
We appreciate your valuable opinion about our coffee shop. We
conveyed your comment to the restaurant department.
We look forward to your next visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews