We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
148
67
13
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
67
13
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain area japanese restaurant japanese alps the hotel staff next morning the river balcony tokyo lounge guests accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

First things first - accommodation as well as food are eye-wateringly expensive BUT you pay for the location as well as the amazing service. Location is stunning - beautiful during daytime and peaceful at night! Food is very good - strangely enough it actually does not feel too weird to eat French cuisine or Austrian food in the Japanese Alps (there is also a Japanese restaurant!) - but be prepared to pay between £100 (2 courses in the Austrian restaurant with drinks) - £300 (5 courses with wine in the French/Japanese restaurant) for an evening meal. During our stay we were the only non Japanese people there which we really enjoyed (after big city tourist masses) and all staff speak perfect English. Can not fault the service - attention to detail has been amazing throughout and we were well looked after! Would definitely come again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1985CMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I stay here almost every year in autumn to enjoy beautiful autumn color with my family.
Every time I enjoy staying and feel sad when I am leaving here.

Someone says “ it is expensive”.
But the price is reasonable, if you know how Imperial hotel spends much efforts for keeping their high quality services in this deep mountain area.
Most of main staffs come from Imperial Hotel Tokyo. They left their family in Tokyo and staying here for several months.
And most of fishes and meats are courier from Tokyo.
If you know it, you know the cost is reasonable.

I will be back here in next year with my wife!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspiration809569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

My aunt is a member of the Imperial hotel, she came to Tokyo every year and stayed at the Imperial Hotel Tokyo for at least 20 years. For the last couple of years she felt out of love with the Imperial Hotel Tokyo because they dropped the level of service and it was so noisy and hectic in the lobby.
But We were thoroughly impressed with the service here in Kamikochi. The staff were super attentive and super efficient.
They were so serious with food allergies. The hotel has three restaurants and staff in every one of them would re-checking the allergies every single time.
On the last day there, the road was closed due to the bad weather. The staff had the do the check out as fast as possible. After that they drove all the guests to the bus terminal. They even left the hotel staff at the terminal to take care the guests there. In the end, they managed to get all the guests out before the time the road was closed at 10 am.
They even called the Palace Hotel Tokyo to inform them that our bags would be delayed due to the closing of the road.
We are looking forward to be back there!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KinDee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. Beautifully appointed classic old hotel with wonderful views of the mountains from our balcony. Excellent staff who were prepared to assist in any way.
It is in an isolated location, so if you need to stock up on some snacks before you arrive it is best to do so - no local shops.
Stunning walks to do around the area and all the information you might need can be acquired from the hotel staff. We had 2 wonderful walks with our tour guide.
As part of our accommodation we had a Japanese banquet dinner and a French banquet dinner - exceptional on both occasions.
We also took the Japanese breakfast option - again, beautiful!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

A beautiful city with hiking available for all levels. You could climb the mountain or just walk the trails along the river. A beautiful place with mountain air. If you want outdoor Japan, this is the place.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ByronFurseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews