We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique location, memorable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taita Falcon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taita Falcon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique location, memorable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights last month and enjoyed our stay completely. The Batoka gorge view is unforgettable and just to sit there watching the mighty Zambezi was a very memorable experience. The owner, Faun has wonderful stories to tell about this place so do enquire. The chalets are unique and clean though it felt warm inside and the tiny fan was hardly sufficient. The food was good. My husband enjoyed the swimming pool and I loved reading the coffee table books that are available.
Is this value for money? I would think this is more pricy for the facilities offered.

Room Tip: You will never forget the view of the gorge from here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneite_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2016
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunarely the time of the year is exeptionally hot and dry and due to the fact that we run on solar in the rooms we cannot have big fans. As the rains have started not long after your visit I wish you could see it now -beautifull green bush and it has cooled off a lot. Please come and visit us again some other time of the year when it is not so hot and dry and I can assure you a most pleasant stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
34
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Very quiet location, quite a way from the town but well with the drive. The lovely bar overlooks the gorge and rapid 21. Very friendly, helpful staff. We were shown to our bush campsite, very private, each with individual power and bathroom.

Stayed September 2016
Helpful?
Thank AWildLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2016
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Peregrines Nest Bush Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were helicoptered out of the gorge following 4 days of rafting and camping, so we welcomed the showers, comfortable furniture, and WiFi.

My wife found her Happy Place, working online and drinking gin-and-tonics at the bar.

It's the setting, of course, with amazing views into the Gorge. Rooms were uncomfortably hot for some, but a small fan on the bed head-board helped a lot.

Owners very congenial. Indian-themed dinner dishes were excellent.

Long, bumpy road to/from Livingstone, though.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2016
It is always good to get such a positive review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

I don't even know where to begin in my review of Taita Falcon Lodge. The lodge is gorgeous, secluded and sits on an amazing view of the gorge. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. From the moment I started emailing about my booking to the moment I checked out of the lodge, I felt taken care of.

Now to the actual lodge. The food was delicious for breakfast and dinner. I got help from the front desk with every activity and transportation I need to book. And the room. The room was spectacular! Absolutely beautiful.

Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandieing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2016
Thank you so much for your beautifull review. We love it that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Descided I needed a quiet relaxing retreat.
Taita is an awesome place. Outside of Livingstone along the gorges. Absoluelty stunning view and scenery.
Chalets are clean and beautifully laid out inside. Staff are friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this Lodge to all as a place to go if a restful retreat is needed. Wont be my last time here, planning on more trips!!

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrantWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2016
Thanks for your review Grant ! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you are welcome to come again. Taita Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.0 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
8.6 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
28.3 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
13.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
12.5 km away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taita Falcon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taita Falcon Lodge

Property: Taita Falcon Lodge
Address: Batoka Gorge | Mukuni, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price range (per night): R2 847 - R3 983
Hotel Class:3 star — Taita Falcon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taita Falcon Lodge is only 11 km from the Victoria Falls and is stunningly perched 200m above the Zambezi on the edge of the Batoka Gorge and is a luxurious bush experience at the Victoria Falls. Owner managed, the lodge's focus is on providing personalized service to each individual client. With only 7 chalets, the lodge offers an intimate stay or an exclusive venue to smaller groups. Each spacious chalet is en-suite with its own private garden and outdoor shower. The chalets are constructed of reed and stone with 3/4 walls bringing the outside in. All creature comforts are catered for in their elegantly down to earth design. Chalets are individually prepared as double, twin, triple or family rooms. The indigenous gardens are blended with "bush zen" sand gardens at the lodge entrance and chalet exteriors, and a "green theme" around the swimming pool. There is a boma where evening winter meals are hosted around an open fire. The large viewing deck and adjacent lounge play host to meals and pre-dinner drinks in conjunction to providing expansive views downstream and miles beyond! Our meals are hearty "Afrikaans style" cooking with healthy options prepared in conjunction. We offer full board packages as well as fully inclusive tour packages incorporating visits to the Victoria Falls, cultural village tours, guided bush and bird walks, game drives and a sunset cruise. Any of the numerous activities in the region can easily be arranged by the Lodge. A paradise for birders, Taita also offers guided hiking trails in and around the Batoka Gorge.An ideal beginning or ending to your African Safari - spend a few days taking in the natural wonder of the Victoria Falls and the many adventure activities that the region has to offer!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taita Falcon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing