We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat!!!”
Review of Taita Falcon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taita Falcon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great retreat!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Descided I needed a quiet relaxing retreat.
Taita is an awesome place. Outside of Livingstone along the gorges. Absoluelty stunning view and scenery.
Chalets are clean and beautifully laid out inside. Staff are friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this Lodge to all as a place to go if a restful retreat is needed. Wont be my last time here, planning on more trips!!

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrantWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2016
Thanks for your review Grant ! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you are welcome to come again. Taita Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
37
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed here for three days of R and R after 8 day safari, The place is fabulous and the pictures do not do the view justice. The owners and the staff are very friendly and helpful, you are made to feel very welcome from the outset. It is almost like being part of the family. A great atmosphere to help you relax. Nothing is to much trouble and organising a trip could not be made more easy, We had a fantastic driver Viktor who was very informative and happy to accompany us to all the activities we had booked to ensure that there were no problems. We took a day and visited the falls, did a zip slide over the gorge and took a helicopter ride.

Our chalet was spacious, clean and comfortable, they are well spaced out ensuring privacy and have their own little garden with an outdoor cold shower for those hot days. They also have an excellent laundry service with clothes back the same day, Hot water bottles which was just bliss for me as it was winter when we were there and I am a lizard.lol, instead of a safe you have a lock box which is big took all three of our day packs, thought this was a fantastic idea and it looked great in the room. Clearly a lot of thought and time has been taken in the design of the chalet and it really shows.

The bar, dinning area has the most amazing view over the gorge, with abundant wild birds to watch, bush squirrels and geckos.
The dinner menu is set with starters and dessert served by waiter, main course is from a buffet, the food was good, hot and wholesome, well cooked and tasty, my only gripe is that some of the salads were not washed properly and had dirt in them, the garnishing on one occasion was a bit of a lettuce leaf with a slice of tomato on it, and the butter one morning looked as if it had been recycled as it had bits of food in it. This was a shame as the rest of the stay was excellent, a little more attention to detail in the food service would make all the difference.

Would I go back? Yes the accommodation is lovely, the food on a whole is very good rooms are fab and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzythescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2016
Dear Lizzy, thank you for your beautiful review! We love it when people enjoy their stay with us. We will definitely give more attention on the food service as suggested! Thank you. Taita Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

You will be hard pressed to spend time in a location with the views of Taita Falcon. I visit Taita 4 times a year and believe me, the pictures of the Gorge really don't do it justice. Anmarie and Faan are such gracious hosts and the staff bend over backwards to make sure your every need is looked after. The indivdual chalets are spectacular and the restaurant and bar overlook the Gorge and you'll be hard pressed to leave once you settle in.
Driving there is half the fun too. You will literally drive right through the middle of a small village and if you're lucky enough to drive through when Church is in, you'll hear some of the most beautiful singing you've ever heard. Is the road bumpy? Yep. It's rural Africa folks - enjoy the views that surround you, but just make sure you go. It's truly a hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonM_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
It so good to hear from you! We appreciate your review of Taita very much and hope to see you again soon!
Taita Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We had the most wonderful 3-night stay at Taita. There were five of us in 4 cabins. First, the view over the gorge is awe-striking. The rooms have straw walls that don't go to the ceilings and trees in the shower, and just this perfect combination of luxury and rustic outdoors, with lovely beds with mosquito netting and in the cold season, a nice hot water bottle under the covers.

The staff were the best possible - everyone was so kind, courteous, warm and helpful. We booked many of our activities through Taita, such as a tour of the falls. I knew this meant transportation, but I didn't understand that it would also mean the we would have our own person, knowledgeable tour guide with us!

The food - no exaggeration - was the best we had in Africa and some of the best I've had period, and that's high praise from a NYC foodie/snob. Everything was fresh-- most of the produce coming from Faun's garden. The food was lovely and inventive and our vegetarian friend did not get sad little veggie scraps, like many places do, but lovely casseroles and other goodies. The fresh baked breads were to die for.

My advice is to appreciate this place for what it is - it's a haul to get to along an awful road - this adds a solid 30 minutes to your trips in and out of the major attractions. Faun is taking measures to try to improve the road conditions, but the road is what it is. I didn't mind the drive back and forth in exchange for arriving at a special sight with lovely food and great views, but it did wear on some of my colleagues. For me, driving there and passing the local villages made me feel like I was more properly in Zambia than at some luxury resort walled off from the real world, but I accept that it's not for everyone or that maybe shorter stays may be to people's liking.

Also, yes, the wireless sucks and while there is hot water all the time, there is no electricity or ability to charge your electronics until they turn on the generator for a few hours at night. For me, this was just fine. I rarely get the opportunity to really be away, relax and check out. If you need to be connected, this is not for you. But if you are ready to unplug, you'll love it.

In short, if you want to stay in a lovely spot, with wonderful people, views and food, comfortable rooms and relaxation, with a camp feel, you are going to adore Taita. If you want the pure luxury experience, with very quick access to attractions, maybe it's not for you. I'd go back in a second and hope that I can some day!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are all separated by a good amount of space and very quiet. They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaStrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you for your review! We love it that you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you also for understanding that certain things are not perfect as we are a bit out of the way of the normal connectivity but are the best place to just get away and relax without being too far to enjoy all the activities on offer in the area. So glad you enjoyed our food!
Taita Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We happened upon the TAITA FALCON LODGE as we had not researched nor booked anywhere to stay in Livingstone prior to our arrival by hired car. It was the unplanned part of a bigger trip to Zambia -and the part we decided to let fate take a hand in. I was attracted to the sign on the main road to the falls, a slightly old fashioned looking sign which had the look of promising something different and we were not disappointed. After an 11km somewhat bumpy journey down a dirt path when it was getting dark, with no idea of the outcome we were delighted to find a lovely little lodge that had last minute availability with superb views over the Zambezi gorge.

The accommodation was simple but beautifully done with draped bed and a lovely stone and bamboo bathroom, with the shower attached to a growing tree. The rooms had open styled bamboo walls and a light breeze blew all night which was just lovely.

The main Lodge area with sitting and dining room areas were also fairly open and had so many great decorative touches, in a simple but beautiful style - you could see the whole place was a token to the owner's love of the place.

The food was good and the relief managers very hospitable. Great views and we had a great escorted walk down to the river, with a local community guide. It was also a nice escape from the busy town of Livingstone. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet retreat after a day at the Falls.

We had a small car and the track was fine but we had to go slowly.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were similar and dotted throughout trees and rustic paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
Thank you so much for your very nice review. We love it that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was really good having you at the Lodge.
Taita Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.0 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
8.6 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
13.9 km away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
382 reviews
15.0 km away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
28.3 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taita Falcon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taita Falcon Lodge

Property: Taita Falcon Lodge
Address: Batoka Gorge | Mukuni, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price range (per night): R2 830 - R4 825
Hotel Class:3 star — Taita Falcon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taita Falcon Lodge is only 11 km from the Victoria Falls and is stunningly perched 200m above the Zambezi on the edge of the Batoka Gorge and is a luxurious bush experience at the Victoria Falls. Owner managed, the lodge's focus is on providing personalized service to each individual client. With only 7 chalets, the lodge offers an intimate stay or an exclusive venue to smaller groups. Each spacious chalet is en-suite with its own private garden and outdoor shower. The chalets are constructed of reed and stone with 3/4 walls bringing the outside in. All creature comforts are catered for in their elegantly down to earth design. Chalets are individually prepared as double, twin, triple or family rooms. The indigenous gardens are blended with "bush zen" sand gardens at the lodge entrance and chalet exteriors, and a "green theme" around the swimming pool. There is a boma where evening winter meals are hosted around an open fire. The large viewing deck and adjacent lounge play host to meals and pre-dinner drinks in conjunction to providing expansive views downstream and miles beyond! Our meals are hearty "Afrikaans style" cooking with healthy options prepared in conjunction. We offer full board packages as well as fully inclusive tour packages incorporating visits to the Victoria Falls, cultural village tours, guided bush and bird walks, game drives and a sunset cruise. Any of the numerous activities in the region can easily be arranged by the Lodge. A paradise for birders, Taita also offers guided hiking trails in and around the Batoka Gorge.An ideal beginning or ending to your African Safari - spend a few days taking in the natural wonder of the Victoria Falls and the many adventure activities that the region has to offer!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taita Falcon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing