We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cross Between Camping and Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taita Falcon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taita Falcon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect Cross Between Camping and Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

We had the most wonderful 3-night stay at Taita. There were five of us in 4 cabins. First, the view over the gorge is awe-striking. The rooms have straw walls that don't go to the ceilings and trees in the shower, and just this perfect combination of luxury and rustic outdoors, with lovely beds with mosquito netting and in the cold season, a nice hot water bottle under the covers.

The staff were the best possible - everyone was so kind, courteous, warm and helpful. We booked many of our activities through Taita, such as a tour of the falls. I knew this meant transportation, but I didn't understand that it would also mean the we would have our own person, knowledgeable tour guide with us!

The food - no exaggeration - was the best we had in Africa and some of the best I've had period, and that's high praise from a NYC foodie/snob. Everything was fresh-- most of the produce coming from Faun's garden. The food was lovely and inventive and our vegetarian friend did not get sad little veggie scraps, like many places do, but lovely casseroles and other goodies. The fresh baked breads were to die for.

My advice is to appreciate this place for what it is - it's a haul to get to along an awful road - this adds a solid 30 minutes to your trips in and out of the major attractions. Faun is taking measures to try to improve the road conditions, but the road is what it is. I didn't mind the drive back and forth in exchange for arriving at a special sight with lovely food and great views, but it did wear on some of my colleagues. For me, driving there and passing the local villages made me feel like I was more properly in Zambia than at some luxury resort walled off from the real world, but I accept that it's not for everyone or that maybe shorter stays may be to people's liking.

Also, yes, the wireless sucks and while there is hot water all the time, there is no electricity or ability to charge your electronics until they turn on the generator for a few hours at night. For me, this was just fine. I rarely get the opportunity to really be away, relax and check out. If you need to be connected, this is not for you. But if you are ready to unplug, you'll love it.

In short, if you want to stay in a lovely spot, with wonderful people, views and food, comfortable rooms and relaxation, with a camp feel, you are going to adore Taita. If you want the pure luxury experience, with very quick access to attractions, maybe it's not for you. I'd go back in a second and hope that I can some day!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are all separated by a good amount of space and very quiet. They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaStrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thank you for your review! We love it that you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you also for understanding that certain things are not perfect as we are a bit out of the way of the normal connectivity but are the best place to just get away and relax without being too far to enjoy all the activities on offer in the area. So glad you enjoyed our food!
Taita Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
34
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2016

We happened upon the TAITA FALCON LODGE as we had not researched nor booked anywhere to stay in Livingstone prior to our arrival by hired car. It was the unplanned part of a bigger trip to Zambia -and the part we decided to let fate take a hand in. I was attracted to the sign on the main road to the falls, a slightly old fashioned looking sign which had the look of promising something different and we were not disappointed. After an 11km somewhat bumpy journey down a dirt path when it was getting dark, with no idea of the outcome we were delighted to find a lovely little lodge that had last minute availability with superb views over the Zambezi gorge.

The accommodation was simple but beautifully done with draped bed and a lovely stone and bamboo bathroom, with the shower attached to a growing tree. The rooms had open styled bamboo walls and a light breeze blew all night which was just lovely.

The main Lodge area with sitting and dining room areas were also fairly open and had so many great decorative touches, in a simple but beautiful style - you could see the whole place was a token to the owner's love of the place.

The food was good and the relief managers very hospitable. Great views and we had a great escorted walk down to the river, with a local community guide. It was also a nice escape from the busy town of Livingstone. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet retreat after a day at the Falls.

We had a small car and the track was fine but we had to go slowly.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were similar and dotted throughout trees and rustic paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2016
Thank you so much for your very nice review. We love it that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was really good having you at the Lodge.
Taita Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016

The lodge may be a bit of a slow drive from town, but it enjoys a unique location and fantastic view perched on the edge of the cliff above the rapids. The communal area is very relaxing and it is easy to just lose track of time whilst taking in the scenery. Sadly, the pool area is rather neglected. The loungers are in need of new cushions and some of the tiles around the pool are broken. It put us off using the pool area. I appreciate how difficult maintenance is in remote spots, but it made me feel that the lodge was 'unloved'. It would be wonderful to know that maintenance is in hand and that the lodge is not on the decline. The food was fine, but not excellent. The rooms were very clean and we had lovely hot water for the showers. I can't fault the dedication of the well trained staff who go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 19 May 2016
Hi Laura, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. About the swimming pool being unloved-just thought I should mention that the new pool cushions are already being made and the paving around the pool is on our books for repair in the low season end of the year -will definitely get some love and attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

What a view! Each morning before brekfast reserve few minutes to enjoy views of Zambezi from the lodge. It is truly wonderful place. Very quiet although not far from Livingston and very Eco. Ask for chicken curry from the lodge manager, its best curry I had in Zambia. Enjoy.

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wywial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Great place but for those that needs to stay connected...... rather not.
The only have Wi-Fi when the generator is on and that was slow.

Managers will use mobiles and laptop in the main area. You will easily see they are on the net giving you impression Wi-Fi is on but its not.

Had no water two times in a row..... "if you know you will be watering the plants have someone check the water levels.... We where only two in camp."

Location beautiful 5 star

Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 955Namibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this review, 12 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found our WiFi slow but unfortunately it sometimes happens. We are a bush lodge that tries to give our clients connectivity in difficult circumstances.We will make sure to check our water levels! Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.0 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
8.6 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
28.3 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
13.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
12.5 km away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taita Falcon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taita Falcon Lodge

Property: Taita Falcon Lodge
Address: Batoka Gorge | Mukuni, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price range (per night): R2 873 - R4 019
Hotel Class:3 star — Taita Falcon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taita Falcon Lodge is only 11 km from the Victoria Falls and is stunningly perched 200m above the Zambezi on the edge of the Batoka Gorge and is a luxurious bush experience at the Victoria Falls. Owner managed, the lodge's focus is on providing personalized service to each individual client. With only 7 chalets, the lodge offers an intimate stay or an exclusive venue to smaller groups. Each spacious chalet is en-suite with its own private garden and outdoor shower. The chalets are constructed of reed and stone with 3/4 walls bringing the outside in. All creature comforts are catered for in their elegantly down to earth design. Chalets are individually prepared as double, twin, triple or family rooms. The indigenous gardens are blended with "bush zen" sand gardens at the lodge entrance and chalet exteriors, and a "green theme" around the swimming pool. There is a boma where evening winter meals are hosted around an open fire. The large viewing deck and adjacent lounge play host to meals and pre-dinner drinks in conjunction to providing expansive views downstream and miles beyond! Our meals are hearty "Afrikaans style" cooking with healthy options prepared in conjunction. We offer full board packages as well as fully inclusive tour packages incorporating visits to the Victoria Falls, cultural village tours, guided bush and bird walks, game drives and a sunset cruise. Any of the numerous activities in the region can easily be arranged by the Lodge. A paradise for birders, Taita also offers guided hiking trails in and around the Batoka Gorge.An ideal beginning or ending to your African Safari - spend a few days taking in the natural wonder of the Victoria Falls and the many adventure activities that the region has to offer!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taita Falcon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing