We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taita Falcon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$831
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
US$234
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
US$880
US$704
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
78
33
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
33
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbatoka gorgesolar powered lightshigh clearance vehicleunique locationfollowing daysthe riverwonderful storiesa hot water bottleenjoyed our stayopen airbaked beansno electricityvictoria fallsnext morningbreakfast and dinnermighty zambezipeace and quiet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We happened upon the TAITA FALCON LODGE as we had not researched nor booked anywhere to stay in Livingstone prior to our arrival by hired car. It was the unplanned part of a bigger trip to Zambia -and the part we decided to let fate take a hand in. I was attracted to the sign on the main road to the falls, a slightly old fashioned looking sign which had the look of promising something different and we were not disappointed. After an 11km somewhat bumpy journey down a dirt path when it was getting dark, with no idea of the outcome we were delighted to find a lovely little lodge that had last minute availability with superb views over the Zambezi gorge.

The accommodation was simple but beautifully done with draped bed and a lovely stone and bamboo bathroom, with the shower attached to a growing tree. The rooms had open styled bamboo walls and a light breeze blew all night which was just lovely.

The main Lodge area with sitting and dining room areas were also fairly open and had so many great decorative touches, in a simple but beautiful style - you could see the whole place was a token to the owner's love of the place.

The food was good and the relief managers very hospitable. Great views and we had a great escorted walk down to the river, with a local community guide. It was also a nice escape from the busy town of Livingstone. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet retreat after a day at the Falls.

We had a small car and the track was fine but we had to go slowly.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were similar and dotted throughout trees and rustic paths.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YvonneCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you so much for your very nice review. We love it that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was really good having you at the Lodge.
Taita Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The lodge may be a bit of a slow drive from town, but it enjoys a unique location and fantastic view perched on the edge of the cliff above the rapids. The communal area is very relaxing and it is easy to just lose track of time whilst taking in the scenery. Sadly, the pool area is rather neglected. The loungers are in need of new cushions and some of the tiles around the pool are broken. It put us off using the pool area. I appreciate how difficult maintenance is in remote spots, but it made me feel that the lodge was 'unloved'. It would be wonderful to know that maintenance is in hand and that the lodge is not on the decline. The food was fine, but not excellent. The rooms were very clean and we had lovely hot water for the showers. I can't fault the dedication of the well trained staff who go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hi Laura, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. About the swimming pool being unloved-just thought I should mention that the new pool cushions are already being made and the paving around the pool is on our books for repair in the low season end of the year -will definitely get some love and attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

What a view! Each morning before brekfast reserve few minutes to enjoy views of Zambezi from the lodge. It is truly wonderful place. Very quiet although not far from Livingston and very Eco. Ask for chicken curry from the lodge manager, its best curry I had in Zambia. Enjoy.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wywial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Great place but for those that needs to stay connected...... rather not.
The only have Wi-Fi when the generator is on and that was slow.

Managers will use mobiles and laptop in the main area. You will easily see they are on the net giving you impression Wi-Fi is on but its not.

Had no water two times in a row..... "if you know you will be watering the plants have someone check the water levels.... We where only two in camp."

Location beautiful 5 star

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 955Namibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found our WiFi slow but unfortunately it sometimes happens. We are a bush lodge that tries to give our clients connectivity in difficult circumstances.We will make sure to check our water levels! Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The lodge is a romantic, idyllic, pristine, and unique location. Truly something out of a dream. The staff at Tatia went out of their way to make sure our stay was smooth and relaxing. The location is a bit far but that is part of the charm, you really feel like you are in a unique place. The views are incredible and the decor/furnishings are very natural and well-chosen. The food is excellent too. I really can't recommend this enough, its a great place and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thank you for your very nice review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews