We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this gem of a rustic-natural lodge, with great views over the Zambezi Gorge!”
Review of Taita Falcon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taita Falcon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We happened upon the TAITA FALCON LODGE as we had not researched nor booked anywhere to stay in Livingstone prior to our arrival by hired car. It was the unplanned part of a bigger trip to Zambia -and the part we decided to let fate take a hand in. I was attracted to the sign on the main road to the falls, a slightly old fashioned looking sign which had the look of promising something different and we were not disappointed. After an 11km somewhat bumpy journey down a dirt path when it was getting dark, with no idea of the outcome we were delighted to find a lovely little lodge that had last minute availability with superb views over the Zambezi gorge.

The accommodation was simple but beautifully done with draped bed and a lovely stone and bamboo bathroom, with the shower attached to a growing tree. The rooms had open styled bamboo walls and a light breeze blew all night which was just lovely.

The main Lodge area with sitting and dining room areas were also fairly open and had so many great decorative touches, in a simple but beautiful style - you could see the whole place was a token to the owner's love of the place.

The food was good and the relief managers very hospitable. Great views and we had a great escorted walk down to the river, with a local community guide. It was also a nice escape from the busy town of Livingstone. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet retreat after a day at the Falls.

We had a small car and the track was fine but we had to go slowly.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were similar and dotted throughout trees and rustic paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YvonneCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you so much for your very nice review. We love it that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was really good having you at the Lodge.
Taita Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016

The lodge may be a bit of a slow drive from town, but it enjoys a unique location and fantastic view perched on the edge of the cliff above the rapids. The communal area is very relaxing and it is easy to just lose track of time whilst taking in the scenery. Sadly, the pool area is rather neglected. The loungers are in need of new cushions and some of the tiles around the pool are broken. It put us off using the pool area. I appreciate how difficult maintenance is in remote spots, but it made me feel that the lodge was 'unloved'. It would be wonderful to know that maintenance is in hand and that the lodge is not on the decline. The food was fine, but not excellent. The rooms were very clean and we had lovely hot water for the showers. I can't fault the dedication of the well trained staff who go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hi Laura, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. About the swimming pool being unloved-just thought I should mention that the new pool cushions are already being made and the paving around the pool is on our books for repair in the low season end of the year -will definitely get some love and attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

What a view! Each morning before brekfast reserve few minutes to enjoy views of Zambezi from the lodge. It is truly wonderful place. Very quiet although not far from Livingston and very Eco. Ask for chicken curry from the lodge manager, its best curry I had in Zambia. Enjoy.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wywial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Great place but for those that needs to stay connected...... rather not.
The only have Wi-Fi when the generator is on and that was slow.

Managers will use mobiles and laptop in the main area. You will easily see they are on the net giving you impression Wi-Fi is on but its not.

Had no water two times in a row..... "if you know you will be watering the plants have someone check the water levels.... We where only two in camp."

Location beautiful 5 star

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 955Namibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found our WiFi slow but unfortunately it sometimes happens. We are a bush lodge that tries to give our clients connectivity in difficult circumstances.We will make sure to check our water levels! Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The lodge is a romantic, idyllic, pristine, and unique location. Truly something out of a dream. The staff at Tatia went out of their way to make sure our stay was smooth and relaxing. The location is a bit far but that is part of the charm, you really feel like you are in a unique place. The views are incredible and the decor/furnishings are very natural and well-chosen. The food is excellent too. I really can't recommend this enough, its a great place and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thank you for your very nice review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
8.6 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
8.0 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
28.3 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
280 reviews
28.3 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
197 reviews
12.5 km away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taita Falcon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taita Falcon Lodge

Address: Batoka Gorge | Mukuni, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: R3 011 - R4 985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taita Falcon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taita Falcon Lodge is only 11 km from the Victoria Falls and is stunningly perched 200m above the Zambezi on the edge of the Batoka Gorge and is a luxurious bush experience at the Victoria Falls. Owner managed, the lodge's focus is on providing personalized service to each individual client. With only 7 chalets, the lodge offers an intimate stay or an exclusive venue to smaller groups. Each spacious chalet is en-suite with its own private garden and outdoor shower. The chalets are constructed of reed and stone with 3/4 walls bringing the outside in. All creature comforts are catered for in their elegantly down to earth design. Chalets are individually prepared as double, twin, triple or family rooms. The indigenous gardens are blended with "bush zen" sand gardens at the lodge entrance and chalet exteriors, and a "green theme" around the swimming pool. There is a boma where evening winter meals are hosted around an open fire. The large viewing deck and adjacent lounge play host to meals and pre-dinner drinks in conjunction to providing expansive views downstream and miles beyond! Our meals are hearty "Afrikaans style" cooking with healthy options prepared in conjunction. We offer full board packages as well as fully inclusive tour packages incorporating visits to the Victoria Falls, cultural village tours, guided bush and bird walks, game drives and a sunset cruise. Any of the numerous activities in the region can easily be arranged by the Lodge. A paradise for birders, Taita also offers guided hiking trails in and around the Batoka Gorge.An ideal beginning or ending to your African Safari - spend a few days taking in the natural wonder of the Victoria Falls and the many adventure activities that the region has to offer!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Taita Falcon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing