We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taita Falcon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$411
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
US$270
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
US$234
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Munga Eco-Lodge(Livingstone)
US$218
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$431
US$409
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The River Club(Livingstone)
US$920
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$804
US$742
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 668
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
80
33
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
33
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbatoka gorgesolar powered lightshigh clearance vehiclefollowing daysa hot water bottlethe riverstunning locationenjoyed our stayopen airbaked beansno electricitynext morningvictoria fallsbreakfast and dinnerpeace and quietsmall poolsouthern africa
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The lodge may be a bit of a slow drive from town, but it enjoys a unique location and fantastic view perched on the edge of the cliff above the rapids. The communal area is very relaxing and it is easy to just lose track of time whilst taking in the scenery. Sadly, the pool area is rather neglected. The loungers are in need of new cushions and some of the tiles around the pool are broken. It put us off using the pool area. I appreciate how difficult maintenance is in remote spots, but it made me feel that the lodge was 'unloved'. It would be wonderful to know that maintenance is in hand and that the lodge is not on the decline. The food was fine, but not excellent. The rooms were very clean and we had lovely hot water for the showers. I can't fault the dedication of the well trained staff who go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hi Laura, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. About the swimming pool being unloved-just thought I should mention that the new pool cushions are already being made and the paving around the pool is on our books for repair in the low season end of the year -will definitely get some love and attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

What a view! Each morning before brekfast reserve few minutes to enjoy views of Zambezi from the lodge. It is truly wonderful place. Very quiet although not far from Livingston and very Eco. Ask for chicken curry from the lodge manager, its best curry I had in Zambia. Enjoy.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wywial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Great place but for those that needs to stay connected...... rather not.
The only have Wi-Fi when the generator is on and that was slow.

Managers will use mobiles and laptop in the main area. You will easily see they are on the net giving you impression Wi-Fi is on but its not.

Had no water two times in a row..... "if you know you will be watering the plants have someone check the water levels.... We where only two in camp."

Location beautiful 5 star

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 955Namibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found our WiFi slow but unfortunately it sometimes happens. We are a bush lodge that tries to give our clients connectivity in difficult circumstances.We will make sure to check our water levels! Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The lodge is a romantic, idyllic, pristine, and unique location. Truly something out of a dream. The staff at Tatia went out of their way to make sure our stay was smooth and relaxing. The location is a bit far but that is part of the charm, you really feel like you are in a unique place. The views are incredible and the decor/furnishings are very natural and well-chosen. The food is excellent too. I really can't recommend this enough, its a great place and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thank you for your very nice review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Wow! This place is absolutely gorgeous and it was wonderful to be able to stay here, if only for a night. I really loved the gorge, the comfortable and unique rooms, the outdoor shower, the hotel restaurant and the incredible family/staff running the place! I admire the eco-friendly focus of the lodge, and the efforts to create a more natural experience, away from televisions, and more in-tune with nature (but not in a hippyish sort of way). Faun and Ann-Marie, the owners, are lovely people, and it was great to meet them and get to know them, albeit briefly. (Also side note - I think this was the only place I stayed at where I had zero encounters with mosquitoes, they do a great job of making sure you're well protected at night even in the somewhat outdoors setting.)

If you get a chance, ask Faun how he found the gorge and his journey to build the lodge. The entire story is really fascinating, and it's always so inspiring to meet people who follow their dreams. Faun is just a hilarious, thoughtful guy with so many stories, and laughter always at the tip of his tongue!

The only minor con, and this is only because I'm a solo traveler on a budget, is that it did become a bit costly for the transfers to and from the lodge (it costs $50 for each transfer for a solo traveler). There aren't many other transfer options either since the lodge is situated 11 km from the main road, on a very bouncy, difficult dirt road, and it's not a place where you can call up a taxi and have them come pick you up. It's just something to consider if you're on a tight budget and only staying for one night! That being said, the TFL team is very flexible about arranging transfers whenever you need them. I feel especially grateful to Faun for being so flexible and providing an early morning transfer.

The lodge is truly a one of a kind experience. I also had the opportunity to visit the nearby Shonwe village, and meet people there, and learn about life in the village. A humbling and informative learning experience.

Thanks again to Faun and Ann-Marie for following your dreams and creating such a beautiful place for us to come visit! Truly enjoyed it:)

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank wavypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaitaFalconLodge, Owner at Taita Falcon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hi Jo, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews