We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Savannah Southern Safaris tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Savannah Southern Safaris
from US$10,00
More Info
from US$70,00
More Info
from US$80,00
More Info
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
31
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking safari mosi oa tunya national park rhino walk zambezi river vic falls day trip sunset cruise nina birders nursing plants warthogs insects muffins knowledge guard fauna
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

I used the website to provisionally book excursions from Livingstone and I was blown away with the professionalism and enthusiasm of the staff. They kept good communication going before the tours and were able to sort out issues that did not relate to them. They were on time and the level of care was first rate - I look forward to booking with you in the very near future.

Thank LondonAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina B, Manager at Savannah Southern Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks so much LondonAnn! We hope to welcome you soon!
We promise to keep trying our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

After a bit of a miscommunication regarding pickup point (We were coming from the Zimbabwe side and thought our pickup was in Zambia.) our guide found us and we were quickly on our way to the Ranger station in the NP. Upon beginning our walk through fairly flat terrain, we almost immediately encountered a herd of zebra. A variety of other wildlife greeted us before we arrived at the magnificent white rhinoceros, calmly grazing and nursing. We were no more than 20 feet away from them and had plenty of opportunity for photos, and just to appreciate these majestic animals. Along the way, our guide provided ample information on not only the animals, but the ecosystem in which they exist, right on down to everything you ever wanted to know about various varieties of animal dung. Somehow, it all worked and if you are in the Vic Falls / Livingstone area, do not miss this!

Thank UprightAndLocked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina B, Manager at Savannah Southern Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thanks so much for the review and sorry again for the pic up confusion! We will try our best that we clarify exact meeting point next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Apart from rhinos and sable and the rest, Chiinga seems to be able to conjure birds from nowhere. What looks to me like a lifeless section of national park he brings to life with his acute vision and extraordinary knowledge of birds. He can spot a blue waxbill at 100 metres, and seems to know just where to find any particular species. He knows the birds, and their calls, as if he were one of them. Extraordinary!
If you are a birder visiting Zambia and don't call on Chiinga, you have missed the best of Zambian birding!
Thanks Chiinga, and I hope to see you again in a few years time.
Frank Funder

1  Thank ffunder2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina B, Manager at Savannah Southern Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks so much for this beautiful review. It is true, Chiinga lives for and with nature and guiding, especially birding is just what he loves to do. He loves sharing his passion with people loving nature. Hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

An amazing experience. We did the walking tour in the morning and the safari tour in the afternoon. Chiwele our guide was fantastic. Attending to all our questions and explaining all about the behaviour of the animals we were lucky enough to see.

1  Thank JMMThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina B, Manager at Savannah Southern Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you so much for the positive review. Chiwele works with us since 2011 and we Aare glad to have this fantastic guide in our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We had a morning before our flight and wanted to try to see more animals. We contacted Savannah Southern on short notice and they were able to accommodate us. The 3 hours walk was amazing. We were looking for the rhinos (which we found), but it was everything in between that made our morning amazing. Loads of different animals, all shapes and sizes.

Our guide was super friendly and enjoyable. I loved all of his knowledge of all animals, insects and plants.

Thank erinhshiflett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina B, Manager at Savannah Southern Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thanks a lot. It makes us happy that we made you happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews