We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 6 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
185
21
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
185
21
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private plunge pool sunset cruise bar cart victoria falls common areas rhino walk luxurious rooms fully stocked bar surprise lunch boat ride wealth of knowledge mighty zambezi cape buffalo stayed longer national park luxury elephants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2019

Our family stayed a few nights at the Thorntree River Lodge and had a memorable experience. The Thorntree is a huge step up from earlier tented camps in Khwai and Linyanti in terms of comfort and amenities. The dining, lounge, and cottage areas were outstanding as were the pools, library, and gift shop. The Thorntree River Lodge has a very upscale ambiance in its location on the Zambezi River ... about 10 miles upstream from Victoria Falls. While the Thorntree is a luxury oasis; elephants, hippos, and monkeys roam, nearby. The guides and service staff are very friendly and accommodate every wish. We took the rhino tour, micro-flight over Victoria Falls, sunset river cruise, and the iconic swim in Devil’s Pool (not for the faint of heart). All of the activities were professionally managed and executed, flawlessly. Khwai and Linyanti camps are outstanding in terms of authenticism and game viewing while the Thorntree provided us with a beautiful and smooth transition to the unique experience of our final destination, the classic and timeless Victoria Falls Hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BinAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Thank you for this lovely feedback it is great to receive it. I will be sure to share this lovely feedback with our team. It is great that you were able to experience different camps throughout the African Bush Camps portfolio.

I am glad you made the most of all the activities on offer the area is just magnificent.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019

A special anniversary trip to Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana using African Bush Camps throughout . Thorntree, on the banks of the Zambezi, was a wonderful choice for a midway stop. The facilities, including a WiFi in a library lounge, accommodation, beautifully decorated 'tents' , restaurant overlooking the Zambezi were perfect. The friendly, efficient and knowledgeable staff were the icing on the cake ! To be fair we found all the AB Camp Staff well trained, thoughtful and interesting to talk to. They were all pleased to see the guests from 5.30am to close of day. Thorntree has just a touch more luxury and provided the change of pace we needed. The 'game drive', with Twanda was a breathing walk along the Zambian side of Victoria Falls. Our guide also arranged a bush walk to see White Rhinos (up very close), and we chose a sunset cruise, both were different from game drives and interesting. The food was fresh, healthy and very well presented. Nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Thank you Stephanie, I am glad you were able to enjoy some relaxing "glamping" with us, it is the perfect opportunity to pause and reflect, catch up with yourself.

I am thrilled that you were able to see the rhino so close they are such magnificent creatures who need all the protection we can provide.

Thank you again for this lovely review and for travelling with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

Enjoyed a relaxing three nights here. The food was excellent, the staff fantastic, our guide Towanda was great. We enjoyed our sundowner cruises on the Zambezi with Obi Wan. We had a great visit to Victoria Falls with Towanda giving us all the history we could ever want. We visited the Clinic and School in the Maunga community that African Bush Camps Foundation helped build. We met the village blacksmith Mr. Mulanda who does so much with so little. An amazing experience.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank karenmI8457CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Hi Karen, thank you again for this fine review. I feel like I have lived your marvellous trip with you. Brilliant!

Lovely that you were able to see some of the wonderful work being taken on by the African Bush Camps Foundation. Thank you once more for sharing your amazing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019

From the moment you walk through the entrance and see the beautifully framed view of the Zambezi, you know this place is special. The rooms and common areas are gorgeous but the outstanding service and fantastic food make this lodge truly wonderful. Quentino was our guide and he was knowledgeable and easy to be with. He took us to Victoria Falls and to see the local village, where we met local children and other villagers. Seeing the work being done by African Bush Camps at the village also makes you glad to be supporting this top-notch organization. The only possible negative is that wifi is only available in the library and it is fairly slow.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank melp310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

Thank you for these kind words and the special acknowledgement of our team. I am thrilled that you took a trip out to the village it is such an insightful experience and we as a company hope to do even more to help our communities.

Please do return in the near future to enjoy the energy of the mighty Zambezi and all her surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019

We left after our two night stay with special memories. The layout and the ambience of the lodge exceeded our expectations. Understated and yet incredibly comfortable. we had the choice of doing nothing surrounded by the comfort and excellent service from the friendly and professional team or to fill the days with the various activities on offer. We enjoyed both. We opted to do a helicopter trip over the Victoria Falls, the fishing and sunset cruise and was surprised by the team when they arranged a champagne lunch on a boat whilst viewing the abundance and variety of animals and birdlife.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cdvs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

A Gem indeed, thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am thrilled that you were able to relax while still taking advantage of the exciting activities which are on offer.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future until then keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews