We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$295
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taita Falcon Lodge(Livingstone)
US$302
US$295
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$234
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 678
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The River Club(Livingstone)
US$1 460
US$828
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$805
US$653
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
397
35
13
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
35
13
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog housenut housepersonal valetsindabezi islandbird househoneymoon houseriver cottagecaptain felixsand barthe cottagessunset cruiseprivate islandvictoria fallsbubble bathinclusive activitiesincluded activitiesdevil's pool
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tongabezi just might be paradise. I have never experienced a lodge with the combination of such breathtaking views, wonderful service and complete privacy as this lodge has. I can understand why this is a popular honeymoon spot. This is truly a paradise on the exotic Zambezi River that is not to be missed.

There are only 11 rooms, and each guest room is assigned a butler who handles all your needs, from laundry service to breakfast, lunch or dinner reservations at the lodge (food is very good!) to handling any problems that might arise. And the privacy at this hotel is unmatched by anything I've ever experienced: For example, rather than serving meals in a large dining hall, guests may select a private table overlooking the River, or any of several other covered areas on the premises that are also on the River. You can also order any meals to be served on the private deck off your room. This concept is really genius.

A couple of items to be aware of: First, this not a manicured hotel with grounds, but a more rural style lodge. While service is superb, the rooms and overall style are not for anyone who expects The Royal Livingstone, for example. These are two different animals.

Second -- you've got to be in relatively good shape to stay at Tongabezi -- all the rooms are elevated above the River, and have many many steps to arrive at the front door --approximately 25-40 large steps, depending on where the room is located. I am 68 and in relatively good condition - walk a few miles a day -- and I was winded after climbing the stairs to our first room.

Third: the water. Tongabezi, as most hotels in the area, purifies it's own water, and for the most part, it is probably very safe to drink. Unfortunately, we had a problem with one of the purified water bottles delivered to our mini-fridge --we found a bug floating in the bottle before we opened it. From that point forward we ordered water that had been pre-bottled only -- and had no problem. I am sure that future bottles of the hotel purified water will be monitored very carefully.

Fourth, ask for a room that is newly updated -- we had some MAJOR problems with our first room (The Nut House), which we felt was not in any condition to house any hotel guest - let alone at premium prices. However, that said, the management at the hotel was excellent - extremely apologetic and accommodating, and together with our tour operator, Bushtracks (also superior in every way) we were given another room, The Bird House, which was newly remodeled, clean and beautiful -- it made all the difference for us.

Bottom line is that I would highly recommend Tongabezi. Despite the problems we had, both the hotel Management and Bushtracks were able to make this a bucket-list experience.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Nut House until it is remodeled.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NEWLYRETIRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so appreciative that you have taken the time to write such a comprehensive and honest review of your stay here with us. Tongabezi offers guests a unique experience, with beautiful vistas and views of the tranquil Zambezi, and we are glad that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay. Having a valet also aids in a very personalized service. We offer various secluded dining spots which allow you to feel like the only guests at Tongabezi.

Thank you for your comments regarding the Nut House. We take all feedback very seriously, and we are always looking for ways to improve. We are also delighted to hear that you were satisfied with how management worked on resolving the issues and that you were happy with the final outcome. As always, we have our guests best interest at heart and most certainly always want to create the fondest memories of your time spent with us.

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Tongabezi Lodge. This was the first stop on our honeymoon and we were blown away with the lodge, the staff, the food, the service, and the location. Sitting right on the shores of the Zambezi River, Tongabezi gives you a secluded wilderness setting without giving up any of the comforts of home. When you arrive (25 minute drive from Livingstone airport) you are met by your valet for your stay who helps to organize your accommodation, meals, and basically makes sure your entire stay is taken care of. We had Daisy and she was AMAZING. J.C. and Jacqui were also always around, taking time to check in on us and make sure things were up to par, which they were definitely far far above. We did the sunset cruise (a must), the falls tour (do in the morning), and lunch on Livingstone Island (a MUST... you get to walk up to the edge of the falls and peer over.... unsettling but AWESOME). We did not have enough time here overall, but I must say that anybody considering a trip to Zambia and Victoria Falls would be missing out if they did not include a stay at Tongabezi Lodge.

Room Tip: All great, stay in the Riverside Cottages has a deck onto the Zambezi, and the Nut House has an extraordinary view of the river.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for writing us such a speedy review after only leaving us 2 days ago! We are very happy to hear that the start to your Honeymoon will forever be in your hearts.

Being on the river creates such a tranquil setting, perhaps just what you need after all the work put in to organize a wedding. Thank you very much for being so complimentary about your experience here and we are delighted to see that you made mention of several employees who contributed to your stay.

Although you felt your time spent here was not enough (and we agree that 2 nights is far too short) it is lovely to see you enjoyed a variety of activities. You also have a fantastic excuse to come back again!

Wishing you many years of joy and marital bliss,

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful located along the Zambezi River. Private dining in boat house.
Good service and meals.
Very nice large Bird House with privaţe plunge pool and deck.
Excellent for visiting Victoria Falls as well

Room Tip: Bird House is excellent
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for writing us a review about your experience in the Bird House. As the name indicates, the Bird House is elevated between the trees and the birds and offers a lovely panoramic view of the Zambezi. We offer in-room dining in all of our accommodation which allows you the luxury to simply relax and enjoy the rooms and all its beautiful surroundings. We hope you made use of the pool too!

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Sindabezi and Tongabezi at the tail end of our two week honeymoon in Zambia. Having stayed there for 4 nights (2 on Sindabezi and 2 at Tongabezi) we cannot day enough about the service, staff and location. The Tree House was magnificent, as was all the food and the activities were great.The staff are all exceptional and we were looked after so well by Nasson and Nyambe, our valets. They went to such great lengths to ensure our stay was special, right down to arranging a very romantic and wonderful dinner for my husband’s birthday, which included a very special visit from local singers who sang Happy Birthday to him! We loved having an opportunity to visit Tujutane school and hearing about what a difference the school has made in the lives of local people. Tongabezi is truly a special place and we really hope we will return again one day!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SorchaRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was an absolute pleasure to host you both at Tongabezi and Sindabezi for your most special occasion. It fills our hearts with gladness to know that you had a magical time with us.

Thank you for making mention of those members of staff who you felt went above and beyond to make your stay memorable, and we are so glad that you enjoyed the beautiful voices of Tongabezi.

Visiting the school is the best way to see how we are trying to give back to the community in one of the most impactful way – through education.

Thanks for visiting us and we will be waiting for your return.

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I grew up in Zambia, with a picture of Tongabezi in my mind - Despite many opportunities to go there, my dream was that I was going to save this special place for my honeymoon.
Its now June 2018 and I'm still not married (I'd like to think that its Not because I'm horrible but it just never happened) Age 50 crept up quicker than a wedding, so I decided to use this big event to celebrate with my boyfriend at Tongabezi.
Oh Boy!! It was a dream worth waiting for and even more than I had imagined or expected. Quite simply, it was perfect. We stayed for 5 nights and spent a night at their private island Sindabezi with the amazing, friendly staff. I was sang Happy Birthday to, by a beautiful choir (wouldn't have got that on a honeymoon) and was spoilt rotten with river cruises, sundowners with hippos, delicious fresh healthy meals (a veggie garden on the property), a private visit to the school (also on the property) a gym workout, a massage, a microlight flight, a picnic at Vic Falls, oh and did I mention the staff? Attentive, friendly, warm and caring, we had our own butler called Conceptor who I kept calling Conception, especially after yet another glass of champagne!
Tongabezi was amazing. The decor, the rooms, the whole eperience. I felt like a princess.
Thanks to JC and her team...
And guess what?? The best news, I got engaged!! So, now... where to for my honeymoon???

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelleaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongabezi, Guest Relations Manager at Tongabezi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

This is such a wonderful story - we are so happy to have been a part of your dream and also such a special moment in your life. It was a pleasure to host you on your birthday and we are so glad that you enjoyed both Sindabezi and Tongabezi -- they are very unique, so you got the best of both worlds!

Our talented choir’s voices will forever be in your memories, we are sure. Congratulations on your engagement and we do hope that we will be your stop during your Honeymoon!

Team Tongabezi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews