We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 986)
Filter reviews
1 986 results
Traveller rating
765
836
291
67
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
836
291
67
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszambezi sunvictoria fallssister hotelpool barbuffet dinnerfree entranceroyal livingstone next doorunlimited accesshotel groundsmain restaurantfive minute walkafrican queenwild animalslarge poolnational parkpool sidehotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1 986 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Having visited the hotel (then known as the Zambesi Sun) in 2006, we always planned a return visit. Our friends that travelled with us, have not been at the Vic Falls before. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel and found the staff exceptionally friendly and competent. The free unlimited access to the Vic Falls is an absolute bonus. We had our meals poolside and although the menu is limited, the food was very tasty. We will definitely visit the resort again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dorette441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A fantastic Hotel, though a bit pricey. Perfect location to see the Falls. Amazing staff. Lovely room. Good food. Animals wandering around the property makes it extra special. Highey recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Convenient location, short walk to Victoria Falls entrance.Spacious well maintained grounds with zebra roaming freely.Good food in restaurant for dinner at a reasonable price.Wide variety of choice of food at Breakfast buffet.Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank JannFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Extremely expensive for such a poor quality service and small room. Dated decor and musty room. Other than location, which is superb, won’t recommend staying there at all. Environment was nice though with wild animals like zebra in the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Lily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Manager at AVANI Victoria Falls Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Lily T

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at AVANI Victoria Falls.

I see that your experience did not meet expectations at all and would appreciate a few minutes of your time in order to get a better understanding of how we could have done better.

Kindly let me know when would be suitable for me to call and discuss with you

Kind regards
Rob Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

This was the first stop for my wife and I in Africa mainly to see the Victoria falls. The hotel is right next to the falls and admission is free on the Zambia side if you are a hotel guest. The border from Zambia to Zimbabwe is only a short walk and you can cross the border provided you buy the visa on arrival at Livingstone airport. The staff are friendly and the food, service and facilities are very good. It is situated close to a national park and so it is not unusual to see Impala, Zebras, monkeys and even a giraffe in the grounds from time to time. Livingston is a short taxi ride away and is a good place to visit although you only need half a day to see all it has to offer. It does however, have banks, post office, supermarket etc should you need these services.

This hotel was the only location we had not pre-booked a transfer to from the airport and in all the excitement of the trip this did not occur to us until we were sat in Johannesburg airport waiting for our flight to Livingstone. In a panic to get something arranged for our arrival I consulted tripadvisor and found the name of Dennis Munsaka. Mobile +260 96 8362775 he is also on WhatsApp.
Email: dmsstudioent@yahoo.com
What a guy! I called Dennis from the airport and he was at Livingstone bang on time for our arrival. he is a really, really, nice guy and acted as a bit of a guide for us during our stay. We used him for everything we wanted to do during our stay and we found him reliable, reasonably priced and very knowledgeable. We could not recommend him enough and you can be sure if you call and do not get an answer straight away he will return your call as soon as he is able. There were other taxi's available at the airport that were punting for business but when you are in a strange place for the first time Dennis is a very reassuring character to have around.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AandJCosaNostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews