We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food”

The Royal Livingstone Dining Room
Ranked #17 of 36 Restaurants in Livingstone
Price range: US$15 - US$100
Description: This fine à la carte restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the historical ambience of the intimate dining room and outside on the terrace, embraced by the sights and sounds of Africa. Let us tantalise your taste buds with a menu that pays tribute to traditional European classics, authentic Zambian specialties and Indian influences, paired with the perfect beverages.
Restaurant details
Description: This fine à la carte restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the historical ambience of the intimate dining room and outside on the terrace, embraced by the sights and sounds of Africa. Let us tantalise your taste buds with a menu that pays tribute to traditional European classics, authentic Zambian specialties and Indian influences, paired with the perfect beverages.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We enjoyed two breakfasts here and the breakfast food selection is simply outstanding. The wait staff are attentive and helpful. The outdoor seat setting is very nice overlooking the hotel lawn down to the river.

Thank rowanh231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle M, General Manager at The Royal Livingstone Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rowan,
Many thanks for taking the time in reviewing the Royal Livingstone Dinning Room. We are very happy you enjoyed our breakfast food selection and venue!
We hope we get to host you again in the enar future!
Best regards
Emmanuelle Moneger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a lovely location, excellent food and wonderful service the Dinning room at the Royal Livingstone is a perfect location. The dinning room is set as an old colonial room with exposed ceiling beams and a wonderful classical feel. The menu while not extensive had enough range to satisfy most tastes. My wife and I shared the salmon confit which was perfectly prepared, for mains we had the beam and venison which was done as very light curry, not too spicy but with enough spices to give a full bodied curry to match the venison.
The wine list is strictly South African and focused on mainly small vineyards with limited volumes. Unfortunately, after a full day of white water rafting we were not able to handle a bottle and settled for a few glasses - which were very well matched to the meals.
By far the best part of the evening was the service, Matonga our waiter was fantastic! His attention to detail, from very specific requests on how my wife liked her fish, to always being there exactly when we needed him, his knowledge of the wine list and suggestions were perfect. He made the evening a complete memory.

Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle M, General Manager at The Royal Livingstone Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Keith,
Many thanks For writing such a wonderful review of the Royal Livingstone Dining Room. We are delighted you enjoy your experience and service. Many thanks for your compliments on Matonga, he is indeed a great asset!
Have a wonderful day and we hope we get to host you again in the near future!
Best Regards
Emmanuelle Moneger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Had drinks on the decking looking at the sun setting over the Zambezi - magical. Walked up to the hotel for dinner, past grazing Zebra -wonderful. Dinner was nice but the food quality was not exceptional despite the pricing - we had better and far cheaper meals elsewhere in South Africa. The service too was slow almost pedestrian, so for a 5 star establishment the evening was slightly disappointing - nothing wrong with the food, but as I say they weren't the best steaks we ate nor the best deserts although the chocolate fondant was exceptional! Great location and decor but they do need to step up a gear to get a higher score.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clive h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle M, General Manager at The Royal Livingstone Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Good afternoon

Many thanks for taking the time in reviewing The Royal Livingstone Dinning room.
You would be pleased to know that we have a new executive head chef starting next week. We would be delighted to share with you our newly revised menu in your next visit!

Have a good evening
Best regards
Emmanuelle Moneger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

A real treat for an independent traveller when you like to push the boat out! Nothing cheap about this venue, but difficult to fault. Service is faultless and the food divine. Sunset over the Zambesi from the deck can't be beaten. Go on a special occasion, perhaps if, like me, you are usually price-aware.

Thank joeheath1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle M, General Manager at The Royal Livingstone Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Good afternoon,

Many thanks for reviewing our Royal Livingstone Dinning room. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
We do hope we get to host you again in the near future.

Best regards
Emmanuelle Moneger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sergio n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle M, General Manager at The Royal Livingstone Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Livingstone Dining Room also viewed

 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to The Royal Livingstone Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing