We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Protea Hotels
R 3 809
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Expedia.com
R 3 761
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Steeve
Kigali, Rwanda

Very professional staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2021via mobile
We stayed two nights at the Protea Hotel. We especially enjoyed the very professional staff, the pool and the fish pond. It was really nice to feed the fish while having breakfast. Our room was big and comfortable. The hotel was spotless. I am a vegetarian. Sometimes, it can be an issue in Africa. But at this hotel it wasn't. The chef came to my table and asked me what I wanted. And he cooked a very delicious meal only for me! Everyone else in that hotel was adorable. We were treated like royalty.

We were really shocked when, only a few days later, when leaving the country, we were treated like the meanest criminals. We had purchased two one-month tourist visas at the Zambian embassy. We stayed in Zambia for less than two weeks. I asked what was wrong. They said that we had overstayed. I replied that we hadn't, that our visa was valid for four weeks and we had only done two. They didn't let me talk, barking like mad dogs, and they shouted that we had to pay 1,000 American dollars. They also barked that if we refused we would be sent to prison.

It is really sad that we can spend such a wonderful moment at a place and then, some days later, be treated like criminals. I am sorry but as a tourist I can't take so much corruption, so much injustice... I will never ever go back to Zambia. I think something should be done. I think corrupt custom agents should be fired and replaced by good people, working for Zambia, not against it.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review
Responded 20 Apr 2021
Dear Steeve17,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and that the services and facilities met your expectations. Thank you for the positive feedback and especially about the chef, we will congratulate our TEAM for the job well done. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone for your travels and and we hope that you had a safe trip back home.

Kind regards
Tanya S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 1 291
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 291
2.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 3 111
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 111
1.1 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Suite
Tripadvisor
R 1 767
R 1 731
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Expedia.com
    R 912
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 520
  • Priceline
5.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 372
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 105
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 157
  • eDreams
2.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 6 869
  • Priceline
6.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 30 025
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
16.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Livingstone
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
158
189
39
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
189
39
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria falls the hotel staff hotel is great comfortable stay zimbabwe border rooms are clean enjoyed my stay devil's pool sunset cruise mosquitoes spray africa taxis activities kelly plug tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2020

Nice welcome with welcome drink. Swift check-in process.
Nice and well-maintained rooms. Nice outdoor seating. Swimming pool available which is welcome after a eventful day. Good breakfast.
Convenient location.
Good working WIFI, top staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 208erwinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear 208erwinh,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and that the services and facilities met your expectations. Thank you for the positive feedback and taking the time to share with us your experience.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon whenever your travels bring you back to Livingstone.

Kind regards
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

The food was amazing! The service very good and care about the COVID-19, prices reasonable, place lovely!! Starters so good and fulfil anyone with, main course so good too! The restaurant clean and nice decorated! Lovely view ! Recommend

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank uchicarpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Dear uchicarpio,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and that the services and facilities met your expectations. Thank you for the positive feedback and taking the time to share your experience while at our hotel.

Thank you again for choosing Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone for your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2020

Very attentive staff, good facilities nice and clean. Well kept gardens and lovely swimming pool... Even the outdoor bar does a good mojito. Rooms spacious and clean with everything you required. Security. Are on duty 24/7, a very safe and comfortable hotel. Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Protea Hotels Zambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Dear Jon G,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and that the services and facilities met your expectations. Thank you for the positive feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our hotel.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon whenever your travels bring you back to Livingstone.

Kind regards,

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff. A stones throw away from all the main attractions this is a quiet, convenient and comfortable place to stay. The rooms could do with better lighting. Had to switch on every light and lamp just to get some decent lighting in the room. Showers need a remodel. If you are claustrophobic or a large individual you are likely to miss your bath time. Overall, a decent place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank chirandu001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Dear vtsododo,

Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone for your travels to Livingstone. We appreciate the positive feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Great property! Close to Victoria Falls! Value for money! Very helpful staff! Receptionist was cheerful and welcoming at Check-in.
Room Cleaning needs a bit more attention! Though house keeping staff once informed cleaned up the room immediately!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ypeermoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ProteaLVI, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2020

Dear ypeermoh,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone and that the services and facilities met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are delighted to receive your compliments. We have taken note of your comment and please be assured that management will address the issue raised.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Tanya S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews