We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveller rating
421
222
50
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
222
50
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise zambezi river victoria falls infinity pool great view of the river activity center mosquito net turn down service african sunset situated right hippos and crocodiles rooms are comfortable stayed here for nights beautiful setting every evening free shuttle watch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 721 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited many hotels in this area while we were staying there and this is by far the best. The view from the river is phenomenal, you can walk next door to the Waterfront hotel if you want a more relaxed setting to eat or you can eat at this hotel. The gym was pretty good for the area. The rooms are adorable and pretty much all have a view of the river. We got massages and it was one of the best massages I have had in a long time for almost half the price of what it would have been in the states. The President of Zambia came by while we were there, and apparently frequents the hotel. The mosquito netting over the bed was great because (as with all resorts on the river) there are mosquitos. We went to both the more expensive resorts nearby and the cheaper ones and honestly, for what you get there it is not worth the price compared to the David Livingstone. If you have one hotel you're planning on staying in Livingstone, I would recommend this hotel. If you were thinking of the Waterfront, it is worth every penny to splurge a little extra and stay here. The breakfast buffet is also fantastic.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLSL_Mngt, Front Office Manager at The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Danielle C,

Thank you for the wonderful reviews and for choosing to stay at the David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa!

Warm regards and looking forward to seeing you soon.
David Tasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Place right in front of the banks of the Zambezi river. The hotel could not be in a better location, a place to relax, unwind and let the river soak all your travel wearied self and concerns of mundane life away.
From get go your welcome is the key to a a great weekend away for you and family or friends.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The sunset cruise is well worth it.
Apart from all this beautiful scenery the hotel itself fails in some respects, not to say you won’t have a good time or you decisions should be based on our observations of the hotel . We enjoyed ourselves nonetheless.
The failures are the food the breakfast was good and would cover all aspects however dinner was not of standard nor lunch options. Housekeeping failed in many respects the toilet brush was gross was a mild word , the curtains dusty , since we moved there was a toilet paper stuck to the wall and not cleaned until we complained,there was dead spider in a obvious spot we left it to check if it gets swept and cleaned but it remained there for two clean ups.
The other issue is that the hotel rooms need maintenance. The curtain rails were failing apart, holes in the mosquito net the furniture was worn out although the bed was comfortable. No mats in the room we found the all tile room harsh ,no bedroom slippers provided for guest.
On the bathroom side the shower door turned inside instead of out and was very difficult to turn on the taps prior to stepping in . We noticed other guests also complained about this issue on trip advisor and nothing has been done about it , so was the door of the toilet it opened the wrong way and didn’t close properly. The wooden doors to the balcony also had cracks which let bugs and mosquitoes into the room. The remote for the TV was faded and many other maintenance issues. We asked to speak to a manager no one came.
Lack of maintenance , supervision of housekeeping a revamp of nitty gritty thing and absence of management needs to be addressed seriously and this will be a fine establishment. All this said the beauty and esthetics of the location and friendly service the David L is a good choice and value for money

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLSL_Mngt, Front Office Manager at The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shube1,

Thank you for choosing the David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa! as your destination in Zambia. We greatly appreciate your review of our property and this will assist in our world class service delivery improvement in line with our guest's value for money stay.

Once again thank you for the constructive feedback, hope to see you soon so that you can experience the difference.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We transferred from Victoria Falls Hotel to this one as we had a morning flight out of Livingstone airport and were worried about the time it would take to get across the border (although lines short it took our group of 5 over an hour). We arrived about noon so sat in the bar for a light lunch until rooms ready. A beautiful setting over the Zambezi River with several outdoor areas to relax.

My room was on the 2nd floor. Walk into an entry, down 3 steps into the room with large canopy bed, desk, chair - other side of bed 3 steps up to separate toilet, bathtub, walk-in shower and double basins.

Walked out onto the balcony and monkeys tried to enter my room so be careful. We had a great buffet breakfast with egg station. We also had dinner up on the balcony - good food.

The pool we great, cold water and poolside lounges under umbrellas with bar service.

Felt the hotel was a bit tired but the staff were really friendly.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLSL_Mngt, Front Office Manager at The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Granny-Mae,

Thank you for the favourable feedback about your experience at the David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa! and it was our honour hosting you, looking forward to your next long stay.

The property is almost 10 years old and plans are underway to give it a new face lift, thanks for the tip.

Warm regards.
David Tasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight finding the service very polite and our room had a river view. The hotel was close to Falls and the Hotel provided a free shuttle. Breakfast was standard. Being close to the river mosquitoes were a small problem, but nets and repellent were readily available. Good value.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank vince-tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLSL_Mngt, Front Office Manager at The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear vince-tash,

It was our pleasure hosting you at the David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa! and we are delighted that you loved your stay with us. Thank you for taking time and reviewing our property.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
David Tasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice place with friendly staff. The rooms are lovely. The boat trip is full of fun and would recommend you include it in your visit package. Generally very good place and you will be assured of value for money.

Room Tip: Nice room with clear view of Zambezi River
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank muriukijohn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLSL_Mngt, Front Office Manager at The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear muriukijohn1969,

Thank you for choosing the David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa! as your destination lodge and for the lovely review comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,
David Tasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews