We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œSuperb service ontop of a fabulous Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Flying into Livingstone Airport Zambia was great as they have just renovated the airport, a seamless, quick and easy process. You are greeted with huge african smiles and warm gestures, as they love showing off their beautiful country. A short transfer to David Livingstone Safari Lodge in a Hilux bakkie was super, you get to drive through Livingstone town and it feels like a semi private transfer if there are only a family.

At the David Livingstone Safari Lodge you are shown to your cool air-conditioned room with the refreshing welcome drink in hand and freshly cut up fruit on the table. Most of the rooms overlook the river and you have beautiful four poster beds which you can just lose yourself in.

The water is Zambia is not recommended for drinking but you do receive 2 bottles of water a day which does help. Zambia is more expensive than Zimbabwe and you are roughly looking at 3.5$ a soda and 4$ beer. They have a wonderful activity centre where you can arrange everything from your sun downer booze cruise, a casual encounter with Lions or a helicopter trip over the falls. Whatever you want in Vic Falls, they will arrange it! Vic falls has a million thrills in one destination, the activities are numerous offering special packages for all tastes of people.

The Kalai restaurant is in such a beautiful setting with awesome band entertainment most nights, but it is very pricey, so beware. If its not to your taste you can arrange a taxi to town where you will sure find a pizza place or buffet dinner to fill you up, you can even use DLSL complimentary shuttle to get there. A taxi back should be no problem and not too expensive.

The Lady Livingstone booze cruise is great fun, a good way to spend and evening with nice snacks, cold drinks, hippos, crocs and the orange sunset of Africa to keep you company. Sometimes you can see other game drinking at the rivers edge and we were lucky enough to witness a herd of elephant crossing the 500m wide river. You are then returned in time for dinner or bed.

There is a bar next door at the Zambia waterfront where you are sure to meet nationalities from all over the world, we met Canadians, New Zealanders and South Americans all marvelling in the beauty that is Africa. This is also where you meet up for your rafting, November is the best time of year to go if you looking for white water rapids. You are sure to get cooled off often by splashes of the rapids every 1km or so, beware of the half day as they trek up the gorge after is gruesome! The full day offers a cable car ride at the end and sandwiches on the river for lunch, a great way to spend a day especially in November and December..

I managed to have a look at the suites which were absolutely world class, not to sure about the price range but extremely beautiful.

The gym is one of the nicest I have seen as it looks over a fish pool and the river, absolutely stunning setting, you would have a harder time finding an photograph that beats the view from the treadmills. The gym includes a cold dip pool and a sauna which is super.

The Spa is world class. I did do 7 site inspections in the area and this spa was by far the best.

A world class lodge and absolutely suprerb service. A great holiday getaway.

Room Tip: Take some Snacks and maybe a couple of bottles of liquids for the room and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebtoursZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel. The location on the bank of the Zambezi is excellent. The rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent.

We booked several activities through the activity office and they were very helpful. The service was great and very friendly. We asked to be collected from the airport and taken back. On our arrival we were sharing a shuttle with a lot of other people - some of whom were delayed which meant we waited a long time. On the way back it was just us and very easy.

The restaurant was very good. Breakfast was excellent. The evening meal was a la carte except for one night and there was just about sufficient choice for us to have something different each night. On one night they had a buffet and this was great.

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Found this place as we booked a cruise on their river boat the Lady Livingston. Simply walking through the grounds impressed us so much we spent the evening here and the whole of the following day. The staff were fantastic, we spent quite some time chatting with several of them about their own and their countries history. The decor of the place is striking, the food was excellent, the cocktail menu inviting and your very own crocodile, (Charlie) to watch as the sun sets!

Yes, staying,drinking and eating here will be very expensive, but you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Beautiful hotel with African decor on the banks of the Zambezi with lovely grounds & ambience. The infinity pool is right by the river though it looked a little cloudy so i didn't swim, there's a variety of options to enjoy the view, deck chairs, day beds, tables & chairs etc its set up very well. The river view from the restaurant is beautiful & the food was very nice. Our room was great, comfy bed however we did have a mosquito problem after opening the balcony door.

The hotel is located well to visit Victoria Falls. The hotel runs shuttles into town at set times or will arrange a taxi and set a price as they are not metred. We went into town during the day to the small craft market & felt very safe, there's not much to do there.

The hotel tour centre booked our Vic Falls helicopter tour which was an amazing way to view the falls, tip- request to go with only 4 in the chopper 6 was too many & the front & windows have the best views middle not so good.

The sunset cruise is beautiful & you can go from the hotel on the Lady Livingstone, ours was included in our package & for some reason not on the hotels own boat which would be very convenient.

Very enjoyable 2 nights here, which was enough to view the falls by foot & air & have some relaxation time around the pool.

Room Tip: Keep balcony doors closed, monkeys & mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My sister in law was with us for her birthday and we decided to go to the David Livingstone for lunch. Oh my, with only 6 others there, the menu was poor and limited, only 2 Vegetarian options.
This place is super to see, attentive staff, glorious view then came the food. This was such a let down, over priced and over spiced, and hit with a service charge of 8%. NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

Room Tip: Be warned it's not what you may expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19alm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
4.0 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.6 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
16.6 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
276 reviews
4.7 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2Β 420 reviews
4.2 km away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1Β 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: R3Β 591 - R6Β 859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing