We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great class, fun afternoon”

Herbs And Spices Cooking classes
Ranked #65 of 1 622 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: R 76 - R 476
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic cooking class. Son and Fab are both excellent chefs and very knowledgable about their craft. Loved that they went into detail about technique in this hands on experience. They have a great balance between being involved, guiding the class and leaving the group to have fun. A great experience!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank chandr_b2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1 363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 624 of 1 363 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We did the 10:30 cooking class with Fa (aka Jackie Chan) and Son (head chef).
We met Fa at 9:30 so we could go to the market first. This was great as I probably wouldn't have ventured as far into the fish markets as we did! He showed us the fresh herbs, fish and meat and lastly the spices they use in their cooking. Also tried 2 types of HoiAn cake (wrapped in a banana leaf). Fa had an excellent sense of humour and explained everything well.
Son was an excellent teacher and went slow enough so we could all understand. We used all traditional methods (no machines) to cut herbs, garlic and onion and also mince meat. We did the Hoi An specialities menu. The best bit was sitting down and enjoying the fruits of our labour at the end.
Allow 4 hours to truly enjoy the experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 168cherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We did the classic cooking class. Can't say enough about it. Phap was our teacher. Spelt with a P for potato. :) He was so friendly and experienced. He gave us all his inside secrets on making his special sauces. The fish in banana leaf is to die for. Loved every minute of the class!! Worth every penny and more.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank jessicabruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Such a great experience! We had a 10:30am cooking class with Phap, which was a fun way to have lunch by the time we were done cooking. Phap was friendly, skilled, knowledgeable, and a great teacher! The food was absolutely delicious and there was a lot of it. All local meat, direct from his farm. He also does yummy accommodations for vegetarians. All of the recipes are on the website, so you can easily make them once you get home!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Great ambience and variety on the menu. More than ample size portions. Food is very good and we have a great time with family and friends. Staffs are extremely attentive to every single small requests we have. Good address for food addict.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank TaehPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Herbs And Spices Cooking classes also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
 

Been to Herbs And Spices Cooking classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.