We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$110
View deal
Expedia.comUS$110
CheapTicketsUS$110
TravelocityUS$110
Orbitz.comUS$110
TripadvisorUS$110
eDreams
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
64
29
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
29
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house garden retreat lake victoria minutes from the airport comfortable rooms main building perfect location nice garden the hotel staff last night botanical gardens guesthouse shower uganda wifi flight wake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2020

We did a 2 week tour of Uganda for our delayed honeymoon. We had to make some adjustments to our plans because of changing COVID-19 restrictions, and adding a day at the end of the trip to allow for time to process our COVID test was one of those changes. We had our test and then headed to the Papyrus lodge to spend a day and a half in this garden retreat. Our whole trip, we did not encounter many guests at any of the lodges we stayed at, but the attention we received from the people at Papyrus made us feel like we were the most important guests they'd had. They made the last couple days of our honeymoon special in a different, relaxing, way. The hotel is a nice garden retreat just 15 minutes form the airport. Rooms are comfortable, the outdoor spaces are beautiful. Matthew helped us check in, and was on call the entire time we were in the hotel. He served us all our meals, all of which were delicious, and tried to fulfill our requests. For our second dinner, we asked is dessert was an option, and he asked if we liked bananas and said he would talk to the chef about coming up with something. We were surprised by these delicious caramel, cinnamon, banana pancake dessert! They ensured we had transportation ready to go to the airport on the day of our flight, and explained all the security check points and steps along the way. Since we were supposed to be in isolation after our COVID test, we did not take advantage of the proximity to the botanical gardens or lake Victoria, but Matthew talked to us about those options, and we will be sure to check them out when we come back!

Room tip: rooms by the garden have great views of the gardens, the second floor rooms have views of Lake Victoria
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AdventureBudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020

We travelled as a pair in November 2020. Papyrus was ideal to start our tour around Uganda. The guesthouse is quiet, clean, in convenient distance to the airport and offers tasty food.

Also on our return, we were warmly welcomed and could have a hot shower and dinner, before leaving to the airport.

Highly recommend to stay near the airport- also in COVID time.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah_Br1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Like most of the other guest houses in Entebbe - this is most probably a big house converted into a guest house. And they have done it quite well! With rooms in the main building, and two annexes (the last one being the best with an additional floor with great views of Lake Victoria), this is a small guest house with about 14 rooms.

Wake up with the noisy chit chat of the sunbirds, the wails of the Hadada Ibis and the short exclamations of the Plaintain eaters and retire for the night with a carpet of flowers on the paths. As good as it gets - a perfect start for your Holiday in Uganda.

Service is great! Jessica does a thoroughly professional job of managing the place - everything is in its place and does justice to the price paid.

Food is lovely as well (surprisingly!). Note there are no ACs (I suppose the Entebbe weather is good enough to do with a fan)

Had a great time!

Room tip: The last Annex - rooms on the 1st floor - evenings would provide great views of the Sunset on Lake Victoria.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SriniShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

A perfect retreat from the bustle of Entebbe. Felt very relaxed strolling through gardens filled with birds and beautiful plants. Excellent food, very comfortable rooms with everything you need (great showers, comfy). Warm and hospitable staff. Would absolutely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B8127UAclaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed here the night we got into Uganda and the night before we left. Only 15 minutes from the airport so it's very convenient. The food options were good and they even made us a take away breakfast for our 6:30 am flight.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aspri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBGL-OPS, General Manager at Papyrus Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2020

Hello aspri11

Happy New Year and it was a great honour hosting you at Papyrus Guest House.

Papyrus Guest House is the ideal stop-over upon arrival in Uganda or at the end of a safari. Whether it is for a few days stay or just for a few hours, the staff will cater for all your needs so as to help you enjoy a relaxing break or a very active holiday.

Looking forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews