We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
176
20
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
20
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful courtyard old town roof terrace yogurt turkey plate of fresh fruit fabulous shops b and b a pre dinner drink an absolute joy perfect location friendly hosts great company air conditioning rooms are small short stay central kalkan
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

This was our first time here but not our last,,,,,for us it was everything we could have hoped. Perfect location in the heart of the old town, short walking distance to restaurants, bars, harbour, beach, shops, taxis, barbers etc. We were made to feel "at home" from the moment we arrived even tho it wast 1am. Nothing was too much trouble for Marion and Halil (proprietors) they were the perfect hosts, and this was true of all the staff. To wake every morning in this idyllic location was an absolute joy. Breakfast on the roof terrace was the perfet start to the day.... If you miss a swimming pool there is aways The LaVanta Country Club a short Taxi ride and is one of the most beautiful places to spend the day...

Room tip: Room 3 has an excellent views and a lovely sunny balcony to watchthe sunset
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly041, Guest Relations Manager at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the White House and Kalkam and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

This B and B is in a great location, just steps from the bars and restaurants but far enough away so you are not bothered by the noise. The terrace and garden are absolutely fab and a great place to have a drink after a hard days sunbathing!
The rooms are small and very basic but kept very clean as are the communal areas. Our bathroom was in need of some TLC as the damp had clearly had an impact on the wood over time and probably could do with replacing.
You are greeted each morning with a good breakfast on the terrace which we really enjoyed.
Staff were all very helpful and friendly and service was excellent.
Overall and taking into consideration the price it would probably be a 3.5 for us because of the room size and lack of basic amenities.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kascrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly041, Guest Relations Manager at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are surprised by your "lack of basic amenities" comments and it is upsetting that you didn't say something at the time. Our rooms are simple, but if you needed something else, you only had to ask. Having since written to you directly to find out about the "lack of basic amenities", you have informed us these basic amenities were tea/coffee facilities and toiletries in the rooms. Tea and coffee is available on the terrace 24/7 and we always have supplies of toiletries if needed. All windows, external doors and balconies were replaced two years ago and the bathroom door in question has now been treated. We always ask our guests if there is anything they need etc and if you had told us at the time we would have done our best to rectify these matters. However, we are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast and excellent service, along with our terrace and beautiful garden and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We have visited Kalkan many times and particularly enjoy staying in the old town so thought we'd give the White House a try. We had a room with a balcony which meant we could enjoy the amazing sunsets at this time of the year, these were even better from the roof terrace with a glass of cold rose in my hand. We were made to feel very welcome by Marion and Halil and enjoyed delicious breakfasts served by Hulya (?), Hassan and the other staff. Our room was just as in the photos simple but spotless. Although we didn't spend much time in the beautiful courtyard I imagine it would be a lovely cool spot to relax in on a hot day.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank babsoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly041, Guest Relations Manager at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for staying at the White House and for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you both again in Kalkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

What a perfect spot to really feel part of the old Kalkan. Tucked away amongst the maze of tiny streets & just a couple of moments walk from the beach. Intimate bars and restaurants on the nearby streets were perfect for a nightcap on the way home, but we never heard any noise at all. At the White House itself you can't beat the roof terrace with its amazing views whether it's for breakfast or a sundowner. The hospitality is second to none, Marion was a font of knowledge & great company to while away the time with in the shady courtyard & Hassan and the rest of the staff were always on hand but never intrusive. Traveling with children (7 & 9) they often want a pool, but the sea was so close it was really easy to just nip down for a quick swim & they loved being right in the centre of things. Having spent a lot of time in Kalkan over the last 17 years it was a real treat to stay so centrally & be looked after so well. We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly041, Guest Relations Manager at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

It was a pleasure to spend time with you and your family and we are happy to hear that after 17 years of knowing Kalkan you are still charmed by this magical place. Look forward to seeing you all again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I stayed at The White House on this holiday. It's clean, comfortable and I loved my little balcony!

White House and Courtyard although two separate buildings are totally joined together. Everyone has breakfast on the terrace of the White House, with amazing views over the bay of Kalkan. The garden between White House and Courtyard is a wonderful place for socialising – whether you’re meeting after breakfast before heading to the beach for the day; having some quiet time by yourself reading in the afternoon; catching up on the way back from the beach; grabbing a drink before going out to dinner or just spending the evening with friends, both old and new. Everyone is welcome, the garden is a magical place filled with bougainvillea and the heady smell of jasmine and is open to anyone who wants to pop in. Marion and Halil are consummate hosts who will do anything for you. Something about it makes you keep coming back - it’s a wonderful place to be.

Room tip: I like the rooms with balconies, but they are all clean and comfortable - and have great air-con for those hot nights!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceylittlebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly041, Guest Relations Manager at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your second visit in 2017 and we look forward to seeing you again next year. The garden is a great place for getting to know everyone’s “instantchill” as some of the guests say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews