We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rock Ledge Motel(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonnie Castle Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capt.'s Inn & Suites(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otter Creek Inn(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ship Motel(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riveredge Resort(Alexandria Bay)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hills Motor Court(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Swan Bay Resort & Marina(Alexandria Bay)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
181
161
55
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
161
55
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain channelgreat viewboldt castlethe riveralex bayboat tourprivate balconyroom was cleanwithin walking distanceuncle sam's boatperfect locationcorner roomgreat place to staydirect viewfirst floorenjoyable staylawrence seaway
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times and congratulations to Captain Thomson’s Resort on the renovations that have been done since last season. Beautiful! Really enhances the stay on the River. I enjoy the Main Channel rooms which face Boldt Castle and give you the opportunity to see lovely sunsets. Very convenient to everything in town - the two hour, two nation cruise was perfect to learn about the history of the River. Do not hesitate to stay at Captain Thompson’s Resort.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank dianewA8715AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the congratulations! We are very proud of all the work that was done over the winter to enhance our guest's stays. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the boat tour.

We are excited to have you stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is right on the water, you park and see the rest by foot. Next door to the Uncle Sam boat tours and downtown shops. Recently redone rooms, very comfy beds with sofa and big screen tv. Upon pulling up to the hotel my husband was not impressed but once we opened the door he was. We were in a corner room by the main channel with a balcony and overlooking Boldt Castle.

Room Tip: Our room (first floor) was quiet except for the loud children upstairs you could hear running..
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carshowjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am so happy to read that the renovations in the rooms impressed you and your husband! Thank yoiu for taking the time to write us a review!

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed for a couple of days at this great motel. The room was beautifully done, clean and modern. It was located literally right on the water, overlooking Boldt castle and the upper harbor. Sat on the deck having a few cocktails and watching the ships sailing up and down the S.L. Seaway. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to Town and restaraunts. I would recommend this Motel to anyone who is planning a stay in beautiful A Bay!!! It's a treasure!

Room Tip: All rooms located on the water. Every room has a view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lorraine,

Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review! I am so happy you enjoyed the new renovated rooms, the view and your whole stay!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed recently for a couple day getaway at Capt Thompsens in a main channel view room, loved it! Clean modern design and great view. Rate was super affordable before the busy season kicks in and we had great weather too. I had been stationed in the USCG in Alex Bay 23 years prior and it was a nice return trip. Love to take some friends back here for a group trip next year.

Room Tip: stay here, close to everything you need! Stop at supermarket before getting to town to grab essentials for the fridge and snacks.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJMarkbny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful review! We hope you have the opportunity to bring your friends back next year to stay with us, maybe in the off season again to enjoy our off season rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Literally on the water's edge, completely remodeled, beautiful nautical theme - rooms were immaculate - could not think of a single thing to improve. We had a room directly across from Boldt Castle and we watched boats and freighters going by from our balcony. This was our first trip to the Thousand Islands and would love to go back - Captain Thomson's made it perfect.

Room Tip: river view looking at Boldt Casatle
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank basketcollector45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alysha H, General Manager at Capt. Thomson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

THANK YOU for this fantastic review! We strive for perfection and we achieved that for your stay! We cannot wait for you to come back to the Thousand Islands and back to Capt. Thomson's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews