We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved!”

Riley's by the River
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We were here about a year and a half ago and had some abysmal service and I submitted a less than stellar review here. We were up to the Bay again a few times this summer and our friends at the Dark Island Distillery convinced us to give Riley's another try. We were so glad we did! The menu has improved, the service has improved, and although the hostess was still marching around with a scowl the entire time, we very much enjoyed our visit and plan to go back again (hopefully before the season ends and definitely next season!).

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tapper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018

The restaurant is tied in with Captain Thompson's Resort, which is located across the street. Food was good with extremely generous portions. We ate there for dinner and breakfast. The omelette was so large I could not even finish it. Service was very good on both occasions.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmwvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We went back to Riley’s again on a recent visit, and were much less impressed by the food than our last visit. My husband ordered a sandwich and fries. Why do restaurants insist on serving coated fries? The coating is usually too salty or tastes artificial, and frequently leaves the fries soggy which was the case here. I ordered a pasta dish, which was OK, nothing to write home about. The real disappointment though was trying to order a glass of wine. The wine choices are limited and almost all New York wines. And I’m sorry they are not very good, and not to my taste. It’s great to support the local industry, but including a couple of other options, California or Italy would be nice.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank nlsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

My family of 7 adults visited Riley’s for dinner while in Alex Bay. We were seated immediately with no wait. Everything is slightly overpriced. Nothing really sets this restaurant apart from any other restaurant but the food was good. The tater tots were soggy and greasy. The waleye bites weren’t anything special. They didn’t have very many waitresses but were still pretty efficient. The bar is separate from the rest of the restaurant. This was an overall good experience. Not phenomenal food but it is edible and average.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Food was good, Our server Liz was great. Large amount of selections to choose from. Large portions. The only issue was that wife ordered chips and got fries. But other then that all was very good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loouis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riley's by the River also viewed

 

Been to Riley's by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing