We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmm......”
Review of Seafood Market

Seafood Market
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 21 July 2018

I'm aussie and love seafood went to the one at the very end on right hand side on the beach had high hopes. Didnt go buy my own fresh seafood as local friend said you get short changed or totally swapped food. So ordered of menu paid the same or more than i would in australia and very disapointing meal i only ate a bit of it was just awful i couldn't wouldn't finish it.. You would think Thailand land of beautiful spices and taste surrounded by fresh quality seafood they would be amazingly skilled at preparing and cooking it. And to boot the beach stank and was full of rubbish i had to laugh when the waitress cleared the tables just threw the table rubbish over the side onto the beach wtf? Possibly maybe just that restaraunt but i wont be going back there anytime soon to try other ones i'll stick to the cheap restaraunts that you see packed with locals.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Dishon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"prawns"
in 13 reviews
"lobster"
in 8 reviews
"fresh seafood"
in 15 reviews
"across the road"
in 6 reviews
"baht kg"
in 2 reviews
"chinese tour"
in 2 reviews
"garlic pepper"
in 2 reviews
"stalls"
in 9 reviews
"cooking"
in 12 reviews
"bargaining"
in 3 reviews
"tourists"
in 7 reviews
"pier"
in 5 reviews
"wandering"
in 2 reviews
"karon"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We bought about 2 kilos of different fish and seafood and went to one of the restaurants was our most expensive meal in Rawai over 2000 bath. Full of pushy Chinese tourist and way overpriced. Would not return just go to a restaurant near the beach and pay half for the same thing.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Smp98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

This is not our first visit to this area. We do usually bring our family members when they visit us from Scandinavia. Some of them want to indulge in the local seafood, others don’t. The common denominator for the ones who decline to eat there is the quality and price. The prices are by far from local and equals that of real lobster prices in Scandinavia. Thus paying the same amount for a large local crayfish is somewhat difficult to swallow. Another thing is that there are simply too many Chinese tours which is resulting in a very very noisy setting where you can hardly enjoy a relaxed dinner without having to shout across the table. An experience but not good value for money ie usual tourist trap.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

While one can choose your fish or seafood live and take it across the way to be cooked, the squalor and filth just adjacent to the market is a little overwhelming.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

The first time we came in the evening the market was full of Chinese tourists. My partner got all stressed out with the push and loud voice of bargaining. He just grabbed a fish and wanted to get out of the crowd. I continued shopping and got some prawns and small calamari.
A man from a restaurant opposite the street took his fish and offered cooking. Too lazy to check out other restaurant, we just followed him. Prawn with tamarind sauce was superb. Deep fried calamari with garlic was also crispy and good. We went back the second time.
Just take it as a part of fun, jostling with the chinese.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank mh_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing