We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so disappointing.”

The Grounds cafe&hang out
Ranked #38 of 196 Restaurants in Surat Thani
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We have eaten at Grounds on many occasions(and at the owners'other restaurants) so we almost feel disloyal not writing a positive review but there is no point in not being honest.
For a change we both decided to eat western style food on this visit and that was a big mistake. To start with the service was not up to its usual standard which may have been to the owners not being present. Staff seemed more interested in their mobile phones than attending to customers and we noticed that on more than one occasion, customers had to go to the counter to attract the attention of staff, one of whom was sat with her head on the counter and appeared to be asleep!
It was difficult to say which meal of the two we ordered was the worst. The pork chop was seriously undercooked - pink beef and lamb may be acceptable but very very pink pork? Most of it was left. We suspect it had been cooked from frozen given the fact that parts of the chop were still chilled. The burger wasn't much better - what had happened to the cheese? Soggy lettuce was the main ingredient and it was a question of trying to find the chicken.
What has gone wrong? Maybe all the staff were having an off day - we hope that's the case as we used to look forward to eating here.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Suratrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2018

This is a very popular restuarant with a menu that has something for everyone from traditional Thai dishes, burgers, pasta and yummy cakes. Grounds opens very early for breakfast as well but I think it is now closed in the evening unfortunately as the owners have two other restaurants.
Not only is the food full of flavour but the presentation is very good and imaginative as well. All the cakes on offer are also brilliantly presented - try the lemon tart if it is available - you'll want another!
Grounds is a very relaxing and informal place to eat and prices are very reasonable. There is a full range of hot and cold drinks available - the hot Americano coffee is excellent.
We go frequently and if we have a criticism then it's about the service when the owner isn't there. When on their own, the staff are paying more attention to their mobile phones than the customers and on one occasion two separate couples came and sat for some time waiting for a menu before getting up and leaving. That's a shame because this cafe deserves better from its staff.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Suratrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

After being on Koh Tao for almost a month and getting overcharged by subpar restaurants and cafes it kind of takes away your confidence that South Thailand is a place for a foodie but this place restored my sanity that there are great places to dine here, they take pride in providing awesome service, setting, food, vibe and ambiance.
I had a salad and a mango juice here and honestly I was surprised at how well it was presented and how amazing it tasted and the portion size, I am not an easy person to please but these guys did it.
The price is a little over the average but it's well worth it.
Thank you so much for this great experience and keep up the great work.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Chris_D_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

we have been here several times now, meals are excellent and so is the service. We have had breakfast here as well as dinner, both have been great, food is fresh and they always add fruit to your plate, their deserts & smoothies are pretty tasty too, especially the cheesecake and their mango/passionfruit smoothie. There are various burgers, a great t bone, salads and thai dishes, something for everyone, if you want somewhere to sit and relax while you eat either western or thai food this is the place

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

If you miss dinning at a Western establishment, check out Grounds. The inside is like an adorable cafe, the food presentation (especially the drinks) is a work of art and the food is great. Both Thai and Western options are available, but the Western menu is more extensive. Of course Western food is pricier than Thai cuisine, but at Grounds, it is not overpriced. Also, the service is excellent. The owner always puts her customers first, and the result is the BEST service I've received in Thailand, if not in the world. If you are going to be in Surat for a while, definitely check out Grounds.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paigey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grounds cafe&hang out also viewed

Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
 
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
 
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Grounds cafe&hang out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing